We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

PAUSE Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
1 Pasero Street, Caye Caulker, Belize (Formerly Pause Accommodation)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
PAUSE Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately we didn't really enjoy our stay at PAUSE hostel. It's such a great cause and all the animals around are cute and friendly. I really wanted to like it. The positives were that the hostel is in a good location. But then almost anything in caye caulker is as it is such small island. The free kayak rental is... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrissie222
pawsanctuary, Owner at PAUSE Hostel, responded to this review

We appreciate all reviews as it helps us improve our services for others , however I feel that some travelers pay for a $10 bed at a hostel and expect the stay at the Hilton Hotel, but many are very vindictive & when they cannot get their own way as is the case on here for not following our house... More 

Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a hostel, it's pretty decent. The dorm room is quite big and the kitchen is well equipt (except for the extremely watered down dish soap). The bathroom was a little smelly since a dog liked sleeping in there all day. But as an animal welfare I do not have one good thing to say. Out of 90+ cats, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank sofens
pawsanctuary, Owner at PAUSE Hostel, responded to this review

As anyone could note, this person writes a bad review only because (A) she was mad we did not refund her money back but if she had book with any company eg. hostelworld etc. no one would have given her money back & (B) she came drunk into our premises in the wee hrs. of the morning every day she... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I loved staying at Pause! The location was fantastic, just a little off the main strip so its a bit quieter, as well as being on the beach, which we loved. There are kayaks which you can use, and a dock that you can swim off of, tan and hang out with other visitors during the day,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn P
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great time here. There are many cats, dogs, and a duck wandering around the property, but they don't go in the dorm rooms. The place is on the water, and the biggest perk is that they have several kayaks for you to take out for free. The staff were very nice and the place was clean, even... More 

Helpful?
Thank fisheatsushi
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

i stayed there from April til June 2014 and loves this place. Madi, the owner is such a sweetheart and i loved all the friendly animals. Ifyou dont like animals -you might better stay away. There are cats and dog roaming free and sometimes you can smell that - but it's not smelly.Dont worry. Its directly at the beach and... More 

Helpful?
Thank truedt
Kampot Province, Cambodia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

When we were there, there were so many volunteers, that we felt a bit outnumbered. Most of them weren't really welcoming. There are two fridges in the kitchen. The tiny one is for the paying guests ans the huge one for volunteers only. The kitchen was frequently overcrowded by volunteers. But in the 5 days we were there nobody cleaned... More 

Helpful?
Thank aal b
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

Great location. Animals lovely. Small but nice hut needed a second lamp could barely see at night! Bins in toilets, sink area and showers not clean and we stayed five nights. Watered down soap added to annoyance as did charging a bzd for 1L of water!

Helpful?
1 Thank sportsclare
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

Property is tucked away so you can enjoy the quiet when you would like. There are awesome animals on the property. And Maddy (I think that is how you spell her name) is absolutely amazing and very nice :) Loved my stay there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Padjen16
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015 via mobile

Very clean and very welcoming. I was a little concerned about having so many cats around because I'm allergic but I did not have any issues whatsoever. If you want to help out you can take the dogs for a walk, bathe them or you can take care of the cats. Owners have a 501-c meaning they are a registered... More 

Helpful?
Thank GiorgiaVeganEdge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

With a privat beach in front of the hostel this is a must go! There are sweet cats walking down the property, I'm allergic to cats and didn't have any problems. The owners are very nice and the 10 bed dorm room is spacious. It's a quiet place where you can stay for a rest, no party people around. It's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (160)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay