We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Xaman Ek Resort & Spa

5.5 miles North of San Pedro | PO Box 227, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Playa Blanca Beach Club)
Xaman Ek Resort & Spa
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    36
    7
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Bagram, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

From the moment you board the water taxi heading north, you are in utter amazement. From the azure blue waters below you, to the magnificent reef to your right, your eyes will be dancing a wonderful samba. The anticipation is killing you, then suddenly the taxi vears sharply to the left, headed for an unknown dock. On the dock you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

When I arrived on ambergris caye, I started my trip with nightly anticipation, by the tail end I discovered a cute little spa, with incredible food, just north of the San Pedro. Take a water taxi and enjoy the sweet music and comfortablly well placed hammocks. Ideal for the solitary vacationer or the romantic get away..and a quick water taxi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hopkins, Stann Creek, Belize
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The resort is relaxing, the service is excellent you can't ask or more , the newly renovated Jambels Jerk Pit now located at the resort offers you a twist of Jamaica ,Belize. Prices are affordable Quality is the best. Staff are so friendly and at your call I had the best massage ever you will not regret booking here it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Ramshackle: Likely to fall to pieces; so poorly kept up that disintegration is likely; rickety We decided to re-name this resort the "Ramshackle Inn", and with good reason. I was looking forward to the seclusion and quiet of Xamen Ek for my husband and I's diving trip, but we were sorely disappointed. First of all, the website (both pictures and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vash83, Manager at Xaman Ek Resort & Spa, responded to this review

I must say that xamanek now has a new management and a new restaurant and spa going now open here at our location is Jambel Jerk Pit with affordable prices and the quality is on the high end. More 

Tyler TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

This was actually my second stay. I stayed here last year, and came back again this year because of the great service and location. The owner, Mike, is very friendly... it feels more like staying with an old friend than at a hotel. The resort is relaxing, scenery is breathtaking. You can easily stroll along miles of beach, almost empty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Our stay at Xaman Ek provided the perfect start to a week of adventure, exploration, and relaxation. From scuba diving to island cuisine and Belikin beer, we experienced all that Belize has to offer in the comfort of a cozy, user-friendly resort. My partner and I stayed in one of the beautifully thatched-roof cabanas by the pool. We were greeted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

For the 4th time, I visited Xaman Ek and am planning my return trip in October. I love this place. Seclusion, caring staff, beautiful views, close to great dive spots, complete services offered at one location and great personal attention from the owner! I'll keep going back to this island secret!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Mike greeted us on the docks in San Pedro with a big smile. We were staying at the Xaman Ek for three nights, and attended a wedding at a nearby resort which was booked. We felt fortunate to have stayed at the Xaman Ek. Mike was a very pleasant and thoughtful guy, who provided us with some great conversation. Anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Statesboro, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

If you are looking for a place where you will be waited on hand and foot then stay away! My fiance and I were looking for a honeymoon location to just relax for a few days and not be bothered by anyone...which was exactly what we found. When you want a beer you go in the fridge grab a beer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We recently finished a five-night stay at Xaman Ek, and it was pretty disappointing. As some previews reviews have noted, the owner, Mike, is just a very strange person. But Mike's biggest problem is that he just doesn't know what good is. This is a very small operation, with two full-time women who act as cooks, housekeepers, servers and gardeners.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

We are very sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay. The reason was they wanted to be closer to town and made the wrong choice of hotel and have chosen to lie about their stay because i did not refund their money. I picked them up in town and they checked in in the early afternoon. The electricity... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.3 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
3.4 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities