We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avila Hot Springs Resort

250 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93405
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avila Beach
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Avila Hot Springs Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Avila Hot Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE!! False advertising: Horribly over priced, extremely RUDE people who apparently live here in the cabins year round, and dirt parking lot camp ground advertised as having palm trees and green grass! Very disappointed upon arrival - our mistake for not having read prior Trip Advisor reviews.

Helpful?
6 Thank freedom212121
Pismo Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place needs a overhaul to say the least. Extremely unclean and stateboard violations everywhere. Lifeguards do not take job seriously and not paying attention often reading or lounging in hot water while working, toddlers in diapers in 8 and above hot pool,womens bathroom dirty and drains full of hair. Nasty

Helpful?
6 Thank lanakai

Travelers are raving about these Avila Beach hotels

Morro Bay, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My friend and I are locals who arrived at10:30 pm and rented unit. 22 (mobile home on wheels with wood siding). As it was my first day off in weeks, I wanted something special. Fromthe outside, the unit looked cute and "woodsy.". Unfortunately, 1. NO HOT WATER -much to my dismay when trying to bathe quite late in the evening.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CaliChristie
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The whole camp ground is a dump!!!!!! the people that work there are very sloppy and unprofessional . This includes the general manager, the front desk people, the food place, and especially the lifeguard staff. The lifeguards are always goofing off and not paying proper attention. They towel dress, the is very unprofessional, I even saw one of the lifguards... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Ruby E
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This resort is located along the Bob Jones Trail. It's a lovely walk to Avila Beach. The rooms are spacious and the setting is lovely. The market on the site makes great sandwiches to pack for a hike to the beach.

Helpful?
2 Thank psychjudy
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

LIFEGUARDS AND SAFETY: We spent 2 hours at the pool at Avila Hot Springs Resort, and while we were there a child almost drowned. The grandfather started shouting to a boy to help his brother. Finally another customer realized what was going on and helped the boy to the side. There were 5 lifeguards on duty, all standing in a... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Eleanor38
Matt C, General Manager at Avila Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Hi Eleanor, I am deeply sorry about your recent experience at Avila Hot Springs. I have gotten some time to investigate the incident, and this conduct is definitely not acceptable. My self and the Head Lifeguard are currently reviewing our staffing, we would love to have you return once these issues are sorted out. If you have any follow-ups please... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in our RV in this Park Right next to the hot springs. There are only few RV sites and they are very basic, the park is definetly not designed for a long stay. The Hot Springs next door can get a bit noisy and cost $5 per day if you are staying in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 007forest
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in our RV. The full hookup sites aren't really geared towards a longer stay because there's nowhere to eat or relax outside beside the tightly-packed RV sites. The kids enjoyed the large heated swimming pool and the waterslide, which are also open to the public. It costs $5 each for day use of the pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank Forest4
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went this evening. We got there at $5 so we only paid $5 each. The mineral pool was refreshing (but stinky). My kids loved the swimming pool, I had to drag them out of there! Wish the slides had been open. My only complaint is the changing room/showers are also the restrooms. I saw a separate men's room but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MaryroseSweet
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The website is misleading. Do not go, this place place is a dump, the cabins STINK, the pillows stink, the towels are like handtowels that you would not even dry your car with. The bunks are flimsy, the blanket are like cheese cloth. When we walked in there is a large can of air freshener and all fans were on.... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank barronbjjs
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1.2 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
1.8 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#14 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities