We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Avila Beach accommodations

Avila Hot Springs Resort

250 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93405
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (66)
  • Photos (21)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Avila Hot Springs Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avila Beach
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    8
    3
    28
See reviews for
27
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Do NOT attempt to stay here. After a 4 hour drive we arrived at this "resort" at 3pm to be told that the door did not have a lock and they could not replace it. They asked if we would stay without a locking door. Seriously? I would've appreciated a phone call to alert me to this so I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

DO NOT STAY HERE!! False advertising: Horribly over priced, extremely RUDE people who apparently live here in the cabins year round, and dirt parking lot camp ground advertised as having palm trees and green grass! Very disappointed upon arrival - our mistake for not having read prior Trip Advisor reviews.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Avila Beach hotels

Pismo Beach, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This place needs a overhaul to say the least. Extremely unclean and stateboard violations everywhere. Lifeguards do not take job seriously and not paying attention often reading or lounging in hot water while working, toddlers in diapers in 8 and above hot pool,womens bathroom dirty and drains full of hair. Nasty

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Morro Bay, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My friend and I are locals who arrived at10:30 pm and rented unit. 22 (mobile home on wheels with wood siding). As it was my first day off in weeks, I wanted something special. Fromthe outside, the unit looked cute and "woodsy.". Unfortunately, 1. NO HOT WATER -much to my dismay when trying to bathe quite late in the evening.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The whole camp ground is a dump!!!!!! the people that work there are very sloppy and unprofessional . This includes the general manager, the front desk people, the food place, and especially the lifeguard staff. The lifeguards are always goofing off and not paying proper attention. They towel dress, the is very unprofessional, I even saw one of the lifguards... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This resort is located along the Bob Jones Trail. It's a lovely walk to Avila Beach. The rooms are spacious and the setting is lovely. The market on the site makes great sandwiches to pack for a hike to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

LIFEGUARDS AND SAFETY: We spent 2 hours at the pool at Avila Hot Springs Resort, and while we were there a child almost drowned. The grandfather started shouting to a boy to help his brother. Finally another customer realized what was going on and helped the boy to the side. There were 5 lifeguards on duty, all standing in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Matt C, General Manager at Avila Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Hi Eleanor, I am deeply sorry about your recent experience at Avila Hot Springs. I have gotten some time to investigate the incident, and this conduct is definitely not acceptable. My self and the Head Lifeguard are currently reviewing our staffing, we would love to have you return once these issues are sorted out. If you have any follow-ups please... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in our RV in this Park Right next to the hot springs. There are only few RV sites and they are very basic, the park is definetly not designed for a long stay. The Hot Springs next door can get a bit noisy and cost $5 per day if you are staying in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in our RV. The full hookup sites aren't really geared towards a longer stay because there's nowhere to eat or relax outside beside the tightly-packed RV sites. The kids enjoyed the large heated swimming pool and the waterslide, which are also open to the public. It costs $5 each for day use of the pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went this evening. We got there at $5 so we only paid $5 each. The mineral pool was refreshing (but stinky). My kids loved the swimming pool, I had to drag them out of there! Wish the slides had been open. My only complaint is the changing room/showers are also the restrooms. I saw a separate men's room but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Avila Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Avila Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Hot Springs Resort

Address: 250 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Also Known As:
Avila Hot Springs Hotel Avila Beach

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
31

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Avila Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list