We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

3.0 of 5 888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    78
    76
    87
    79
See reviews for
134
186
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (484)
  • Mar-May only
    (116)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (153)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
There are newer reviews for Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The recently renovated rooms are nice. Bright and airy. Location not super close to beach, but shuttle service exists. Our concern was we had checked in and went to town for the day. When we returned at night there was a flood in our entry way in our room. (not sure if the water was from the refrigerator). No one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Daniel Y, We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us during your visit to Catalina Island. I do want to thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving some feedback because this is one of the ways that lets us know where we need to improve as... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I recently spent a week at the Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa. The management, and entire staff could not have been more accommodating. The property is located apart from the downtown area but certainly close enough to walk. The shuttle service was exceptional and the outdoor pool was a plus. I plan on returning with my family for a vacation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jwiser2, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Catalina Island. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to complete the review on our property and share your excellent experience with other travelers. We are so happy to hear that you were treated very well by our staff member's and we are thrilled that you... More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you enjoy ants in your bathroom and BED, a baby cockroach in your BED, dirty carpets, a connecting door that has been busted open by a previous guest with only a security chain to now "secure" it but not CLOSE it and poor, poor customer service... then THIS is the place for you! The front desk management will kindly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear PurpleMode, We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectation during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you felt our property was dirty and you encountered ants during your stay. We are located in the canyon of the island, and occasionally during this time of year we experience ant visitors. We... More 

Dana Point, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Because this was our 5th trip to this hotel, they upgraded us to an ocean view room. Great room. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the pool to come home to every night before getting ready for dinner was perfect. Up in the hills a bit. We walked it a few times, but the shuttle runs continuously every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Phillip K, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Catalina Island. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to complete the review on our property and share your wonderful experience with other travelers. I am glad you took the time to talk about how you enjoyed the location and shuttle service to and from... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We arrived early for check in and decided to wait since they were already checking new folks in. However it did not matter, even though they knew we were waiting they gave the rooms to people not on site. We did not get checked in till 4:30pm. And the room given to us was not the room we reserved. Honestly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Apple Valley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband, grandchildren and I stayed at this hotel on July 10, 2014. When we stepped into the lobby we could see the hotel was under renovation. We asked to check our luggage as our room was not ready. We were told we would get a call when our room was available (the call never occurred) and our luggage was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
San Bernardino, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had ANTS so bad in the room that they were in the bathroom, BEDS, AND MY SUIT-CASE! The staff acted like, "WHAT'S THE BIG DEAL YOU'RE ON AND ISLAND?" The only STAFF that seemed SEMI CONCERNED was THE HOUSEKEEPING STAFF. They tried to treat the ANTS with VINEGAR AND WATER. The ants just got WORST. My husband had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I booked this hotel because it's one of the few that accept a one night reservation. Then I read the reviews? I was horrified with all the bad reviews I read afterward. But? I took a huge risk, and I have to say it was one of the nicest places I've stayed anywhere!! Just ask for the remodeled rooms. It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Erik A, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share the details with us and other travelers. We all here at the hotel take pride in being one of the only hotels with a complimentary shuttle service, affordable rates, and comfortable accommodations. Thank you for suggesting that although we are in the canyon it is... More 

Lehi, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked this hotel thinking it would be a nice place to stay and something really enjoyable and with great customer service. For the $300.00/ per night rate you would think that they would at least offer free breakfast but they DO NOT Offer free breakfast. When we first arrived we called the hotel to inquire about an early check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Irene W, We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us during your visit to Catalina Island. I do want to thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving some feedback because this is one of the ways that lets us know where we need to improve as... More 

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We booked the room through Groupon. Advertisement was: 31% off a $308.00 a night room. So you assume that it is going to be a decent room. When we walked into the room, it smelled moldy. The carpet was FILTHY! Full of spots, everywhere, and sticky. You were afraid to catch Toxic Shock Syndrome through your feet... A piece of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tiger A5B, First, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay with us. I apologize that you experienced a lack of cleanliness. I can assure you once renovations complete all rooms will have new carpeting, new plastered walls, and new furniture. I thank you for completing the review on our property. Your feedback... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Canyon Hotel Avalon
Best Western Avalon
Catalina Canyon Resort And Spa
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa Catalina Island/Avalon, CA
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay