We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Avalon hotels

Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
53%
Ranked #20 of 20 hotels in Avalon
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Charlie P Riverside, California
  • Reviews (447)
  • Photos (115)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (92)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    72
    71
    78
    68
See reviews for
121
170
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lehi, Utah
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked this hotel thinking it would be a nice place to stay and something really enjoyable and with great customer service. For the $300.00/ per night rate you would think that they would at least offer free breakfast but they DO NOT Offer free breakfast. When we first arrived we called the hotel to inquire about an early check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked the room through Groupon. Advertisement was: 31% off a $308.00 a night room. So you assume that it is going to be a decent room. When we walked into the room, it smelled moldy. The carpet was FILTHY! Full of spots, everywhere, and sticky. You were afraid to catch Toxic Shock Syndrome through your feet... A piece of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When we arrived we were told that they were having an ant problem. The woman at the desk told us that they could spray with a vinegar and water mixture if it was an issue. When we got to the room we noticed a few, but not too many. However, after a while we realized that they were everywhere ---... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I came to Catalina for 3 days and the first day there, I saw they where re paintinbf the hotel and re doing the lobby IT LOOKED SO NICE the front desk was quick and gave us our key, we had no problems with it at all I don't understand why people on here keep sayinbg they were. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My boyfriend and I were so looking forward to getting away from all the stress of our work lives. We booked this hotel through booking.com. My experience with this "third party" has always been good. This hotel, however, was a total disaster. We arrived at about 11 pm on July 3, this past weekend. The desk clerk was very rude... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Albany, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Please do not stay here. This place in no way is a resort. We did not take our shoes off because the carpets were so dirty. Did not dare have a drink for fear of using the ice machine. Called priceline first thing and they were great in getting our money back. Did not even brush our teeth before getting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear NY ConnieL, We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you felt the carpet in the rooms to be dirty. With the renovations there will be new carpeting in every room, and the ice machine has been looked at by our maintenance manager.... More

Seaside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent overnight in this hotel. Although it's being renovated, the temporary room used as their reception is cramped and dim. As we looked for our room, I was dismayed that the entry was narrow, not in regulations with wheelchair accessibility. The room was old and walls with smears. The toilet was not cleaned because of the tiny evidence. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Marie R, We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us during your visit to Catalina Island. I do want to thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving some feedback because this is one of the ways that lets us know where we need to improve as... More

San Diego
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am currently battling them right now because they are trying to steal $1,100.00 from me. They already took it out of my account. They charged me over $2000 for one night stay. Not to mention it is the worst hotel in Catalina. The rest of the Island is awesome. Once we got out of this sorry excuse for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Silva Jewel, We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. Please contact me directly so we may resolve your billing issues you stated having in your review. You may reach me at 310-510-0325 extension 6914, or email me at grodriguez@pacificahost.com. Thank you for completing the review on our property.... More

Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First, we were told the rooms were all renovated and remodeled. NOT TRUE! We had rented 2 rooms, both carpets were disgusting and dirty! The 5 of us, did not walk on the floors without shoes! The restaurant that was supposed to be open? It was touch and go! We were told there was a free breakfast, NOT TRUE! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Carissa L, We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that you felt the carpeting was in bad condition. I would like to ensure you that after the completion of our renovations all rooms will have brand new carpeting. Thank you for completing the... More

Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family of 5, 2 grandparents and 3 grandchildren bought a Groupon for two nights and away we went. When you arrive at the island look for where the hotel shuttles pickup. As we were walking over to the area we saw our shuttle drive away and almost panicked. I called the hotel, they picked up immediately, were very friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CatalinaCanyonGM, General Manager at Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sharon C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share the details with us and other travelers. We all here at the hotel take pride and are committed excellent service, affordable rates, comfortable accommodations. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and was pleased with our service. Also, Thank you for your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 888 Country Club Drive, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Canyon Hotel Avalon
Best Western Avalon
Catalina Canyon Resort And Spa
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
75

See which rooms travelers prefer