We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Mac Rae

Hotel website
409 Crescent Ave., PO Box 246, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hotel Mac Rae
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    50
    49
    18
    6
    12
See reviews for
25
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed there for two nights last week, and I have to say it was a bit disappointing. The location is great in the middle of Avalon beach but if you book an ocean front view room be ready for a noisy ride - and I have quite a high tolerance for noise! The view from our room was amazing,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a very bad experience when I had to cut short my birthday visit to Catalina Island due to sudden illness, and MacRae would not refund anything for the unused nights even though they have a stream of would-be renters in their lobby continually. MacRae count on the fact that it is impossible to file a case in small claims... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Melody, I am sorry to read this review and I do not have any recollection of this event. If a guest has to leave early and has rented the room for additional days, we would certainly try to re-sell the rooms. We would not turn other guests away from a clean unused room to keep your money. We are... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Zero in everything. They charged me, and didn't get my rooms. I talked to the owner herself. She was very rude, and told me to check in another hotel. Never stay there, it's over rated. Always go to Hotel Portofino. They will treat u like a friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Mariam, My reservationist made the reservation for you that she understood that you wanted. She understood you to request 3 rooms with a queen bed. That is what you paid for and that is what was clearly printed on your email confirmation. You said that your got your email confirmation, but that you did not read it. Upon arrival... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is right in front of Avalon's main beach. Room are basic but comfortable. We forgot our phone charger upon checking out and the staff reached out by phone almost immediately and were willing to mail the charger to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Rene, Thank you for taking the time to recognize the efforts of my team. I agree that they are a "great staff". We hope that you enjoyed your visit to Catalina and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manager More 

Riverside, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in the perfect location, right across from the pier and in the midst of a variety of restaurants. The staff are incredible - friendly, helpful and super accommodating. The hotel is a landmark on the island. It could use updating, especially carpet and linens, but it is very clean and comfortable. We were in a room right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Guest, You need to try one of our Ocean View Rooms on your next visit. I am so pleased that my staff made such a great impression on you. They are great! We are diver friendly and I am pleased that our services were helpful. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your kind words. Karen... More 

Studio City, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with my husband for two nights in July of 2015. We arrived a few hours before check-in and were pleased to learn we only had to wait about 20 minutes for our room to be ready. The members of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely. We booked an ocean view and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your favorite hotel so far - thank you! I am so glad that you were able to enjoy your Ocean View room to it's full extent. We continually strive to improve our property and make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The sound of the ocean will be waiting for you on your return to our hotel. Make... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed there one night but could easily have stayed two nights. The hotel was great. The location was great. Rooms very clean and comfortable. The owner was so friendly and helpful. Our room was close to the front desk and j thought it may be noisy but never heard any noise. We would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Beth, Thank you so much for your kind comments. My team will be happy the hear that you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to your return. Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manager More 

Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my favorite hotel on Catalina Island! I love the quaint and simple rooms. The best room to have is the one that overlooks the main walk and ocean. Yes, it's loud at night, yes you hear the ocean in the morning, and yes - it adds to the fun and romance that Catalina has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Terra, I am so glad that our Ocean View room added to the fun and romance of Catalina on your recent visit and that we are your favorite hotel on Catalina Island. We will do our best to continue to earn that distinction! Hope to see you again soon. Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manager More 

San Bruno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel Mac Rae was great! After reading some of the more negative reviews, I was truly worried about what it would be like. The only negative thing was that while the whole bathroom seemed to have been updated, the tile floor could use some new grout. Big deal....I also saved about $200 by staying there. It was also very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, Thank you for sharing your experience and feelings in this review. We make every effort to keep our quaint historic hotel comfortable and affordable for our guests. I am very proud of my staff and I am so glad to hear that you found them to be helpful, friendly and professional. We look forward to welcoming back for... More 

Camarillo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was spotless and the staff was friendly and helpful. It is great to be able to store your luggage before check-in and after check-out. Although this is a small hotel, and the rooms are not large, it was well worth the money. The location is perfect, right in the middle of town and right on the main street.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Lynne, Thank you for complimenting my office and housekeeping staff and I will share your comments with them. We are very pleased to hear that you plan on staying with us, right here on the beach, on your next visit to Catalina. Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#17 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#14 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#15 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay