We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catalina Boat House

200 Marilla Avenue, Mailing: PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Catalina Beach House)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalina Boat House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Catalina Boat House
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    26
    15
    18
See reviews for
23
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Alpine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel has been renovated and our corner room was lovely, with 2 windows that had an ocean view. Kitchenette was very nice but there was only one burner for cooking. Unfortunately the bathroom has not been renovated. There is nothing they can do about its smallness, probably, but the tiny sink was ancient and the shower stall was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Kathy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! We know exactly of which bathroom you're talking about in your review and we're still trying to find solutions as to how we can fix the problem of smallness. As we plan on making bigger changes to the room, we plan on replacing the sink, shower, and... More 

Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The room was pleasant, the location is good (there aren't really bad locations in Avalon), but there were problems with a bike tour we purchased as part of the package. The van that was supposed to take us didn't bring a bike rack, so we were delayed a few hours. Then, when we did go, we had some mechanical troubles... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Ian, We sincerely apologize once again for the issues you encountered during your bike tour package. Although it was a series of unfortunate events, we're glad that everything managed to fall back into place during your adventure. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you two again soon! Thank you for taking... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

I had a wonderful time in Avalon and at the Catalina Boathouse!!! As with any of the accommodations I saw, you either have a walk, taxi or trolley ride to get to them. The Boathouse is toward the end of the main street and up a hill one block. Since we weren't entirely sure where it was, we took a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HermosaHotel, Front Office Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hello Paula! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review! It was such a pleasure to work with you and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay! See you next month! -Kayla Marie More 

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Depending on your room, some are really and truly awful, some are not terrible. But all are dirty. So much hair and dust. If that doesn't bother you, the kitchenette is good to have and the location is nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We rarely get complaints about the dirtiness of rooms at the boat house and most of our guests leave happy. We are saddened to hear that you had an uncomfortable stay and we hope that you give us another chance in the future! More 

El Cajon, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

My Wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was small but comfortable. The mini-kitchenette was nice and there was room in the mini-fridge for food and a couple of bottles of wine. What was very impressive about our room was the Jacuzzi-bathtub which was big for a small room. One of the nights there was a full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in room 15. It's one of the updated rooms. It's fairly spacious, clean & quiet. We had a peekaboo view of the ocean from our balcony. The kitchenette was better than expected. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was because of the rude lady at the Hermosa Hotel where guests are asked to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback! We take pride in our customer service and have rarely had any complaints about our front desk staff, so we apologize that you have had a less than satisfactory experience from one of our staff members. Other than that, we're glad we were able to take part in making your vacation... More 

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I stayed in this hotel in January . Nice and clean roomwith very comfortable bed.It has kitchenette,but the pots and some other stuff in the kitchen should be changed.Very nice view from the window and not too far from the ocean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We are in the process of doing an inventory check on all of our kitchenette units to make sure the pots/pans/utensils, etc are fully stocked and in good shape! More 

Mammoth Lakes, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

I stayed there midweek in december so it was very quiet, the weather was perfect and the price very reasonable,especially with coffee and microwave in the room!! It's nice that you can keep your luggage at the Hermosa Hotel that is more centrally located. Staff was very nice at both locations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Burbank, California
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The wife and I stayed here nov 18/19 2014 for my birthday. Upon arrival we noticed that there was a film crew shooting in the rooms down stairs. This immediately annoyed me. I work in film and tv the last thing I wanted to see was a film crew, let alone a crew filming at this SMALL hotel. The first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback. We have a quiet time policy after 10:00 PM, so we are unable to enforce the policy before then. The most we can do is politely ask the guests to quiet down. If someone is being noisy after 10 PM, we make it a point to make sure the policy is... More 

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

A sad, short, and expensive stay. Website says that office is open 9-5 daily, but don't get in any hurry to check in. Use the red phone on front to call and wait. And wait. Call again and wait. We had the "suite" with ocean view, but on hot days, room will never cool off. They put mechanical timer in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay