We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catalina Boat House

200 Marilla Avenue, Mailing: PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Catalina Beach House)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalina Boat House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Catalina Boat House
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    25
    16
    18
See reviews for
23
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a wonderful time in Avalon and at the Catalina Boathouse!!! As with any of the accommodations I saw, you either have a walk, taxi or trolley ride to get to them. The Boathouse is toward the end of the main street and up a hill one block. Since we weren't entirely sure where it was, we took a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermosaHotel, Front Office Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hello Paula! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review! It was such a pleasure to work with you and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay! See you next month! -Kayla Marie More 

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Depending on your room, some are really and truly awful, some are not terrible. But all are dirty. So much hair and dust. If that doesn't bother you, the kitchenette is good to have and the location is nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We rarely get complaints about the dirtiness of rooms at the boat house and most of our guests leave happy. We are saddened to hear that you had an uncomfortable stay and we hope that you give us another chance in the future! More 

El Cajon, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

My Wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was small but comfortable. The mini-kitchenette was nice and there was room in the mini-fridge for food and a couple of bottles of wine. What was very impressive about our room was the Jacuzzi-bathtub which was big for a small room. One of the nights there was a full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in room 15. It's one of the updated rooms. It's fairly spacious, clean & quiet. We had a peekaboo view of the ocean from our balcony. The kitchenette was better than expected. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was because of the rude lady at the Hermosa Hotel where guests are asked to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback! We take pride in our customer service and have rarely had any complaints about our front desk staff, so we apologize that you have had a less than satisfactory experience from one of our staff members. Other than that, we're glad we were able to take part in making your vacation... More 

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I stayed in this hotel in January . Nice and clean roomwith very comfortable bed.It has kitchenette,but the pots and some other stuff in the kitchen should be changed.Very nice view from the window and not too far from the ocean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We are in the process of doing an inventory check on all of our kitchenette units to make sure the pots/pans/utensils, etc are fully stocked and in good shape! More 

Formia, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

My wife and I have stayed in many hotels around the world. Our one criteria is cleanliness. We redeemed a Living Social voucher for a two night stay and then left a day early because the room was dirty. The floor was dirty, the walls were dirty, the bed was dirty, and the straw that broke the camel's back was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Mammoth Lakes, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

I stayed there midweek in december so it was very quiet, the weather was perfect and the price very reasonable,especially with coffee and microwave in the room!! It's nice that you can keep your luggage at the Hermosa Hotel that is more centrally located. Staff was very nice at both locations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Burbank, California
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The wife and I stayed here nov 18/19 2014 for my birthday. Upon arrival we noticed that there was a film crew shooting in the rooms down stairs. This immediately annoyed me. I work in film and tv the last thing I wanted to see was a film crew, let alone a crew filming at this SMALL hotel. The first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback. We have a quiet time policy after 10:00 PM, so we are unable to enforce the policy before then. The most we can do is politely ask the guests to quiet down. If someone is being noisy after 10 PM, we make it a point to make sure the policy is... More 

Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

A sad, short, and expensive stay. Website says that office is open 9-5 daily, but don't get in any hurry to check in. Use the red phone on front to call and wait. And wait. Call again and wait. We had the "suite" with ocean view, but on hot days, room will never cool off. They put mechanical timer in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Palm Springs, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The room was nicely decorated, had microwave, fridge, TV all the basics you would expect. We had a small balcony which my smoker-friend was pleased with. Shuttle service upon check in and out was appreciated. We accidentally picked a horribly busy weekend to getaway, so the hotel was crowded and all we were able to get for $235 was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HermosaHotel, Owner at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Ahh, weekend revelers... sorry you were next to some loud visitors. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to others, and for informing us about the coffee!!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question