We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catalina Boat House

200 Marilla Avenue, Mailing: PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Catalina Beach House)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Catalina Boat House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    46
    28
    16
    19
See reviews for
28
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Disappointing!, I planned a month in advance to take my son on a father son trip. get to the Long beach boat shuttle go to get or tickets an the Confirmation number I was sent from hotel is wrong and they cant find tickest?get to the island I can handle the swap out from Hermosa hotel to this place ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hello Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and share your experience with others! As stated in the email between our management and yourself, we offered you a discounted stay the next time you stay with us. We do not give in to threats, such as this (a quote taken directly in the email you sent... More 

Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is very very affordable... but it does come with at a few costs, comfort, size, location and cleanliness. Comfort: Spring mattress, 2 small bath towels (very cheap, wall mart style) and 1 very small hand towel. There was no bath mat, so we used the hand towel as the bath mat. We had to ask for toilet paper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

My family and I arrived on July second before the big holiday and were able to find this little gem on the island. The place is spotless clean very quaint small but a very affordable place to stay. When everybody else was taking full advantage of the holiday weekend price wise these people were still very affordable very helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. We hope to see you again soon! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

ROOM AND CHECK-IN: We traveled as a couple and it was our first time to Catalina. We got their special with the room and the boat tickets for $485. We stayed in their STANDARD ROOM and the room was enough for 2. Mark was really friendly and helped us smoothly with our checkin and a ride up hill from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellflower, California, USA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I decided to take two of my employees to Catalina Island for a weekend vacation as a reward for their great performance at work. I was lucky enough to be able to find two rooms at the Catalina Boat House Hotel. The hotel sits up on a hill that overlooks Avalon Bay and is not near the water. However the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hello! It pleases us to hear about your stay with us! We're so glad that you like the remodeling we've done and that you were able to enjoy our accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015 via mobile

My girls and I took this much needed vacation to regain our closeness. Being that they're teens and are always on the go, this was a much needed get away from the hustle and bustle of LA living. Being a single parent with a sub par job I didn't think I'd be able to afford the trip but once I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Monique, Your trip sounds like it was so amazing! We're so glad to be the ones who were able to make it happen for you guys! Thank you for taking the time to leave us kind words and tell future guests about your vacation- it is truly appreciated! We hope to see you guys again next summer. Until then,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Great place, love the people. The view is breathtaking from the patio. Nice pricing for the room, wonderful weekend stay. The hill it rests on was tough for my grandmother though. The staff suggested a couple tours, and a place to get great coffee. The staff was very helpful and my husband and i cannot wait to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind works, April! We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Santa Rosa, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The room we stayed in was very nice and the people who worked there were very friendly. The only problem we encountered were the people who stayed next to us, and we know full well that that problem was out of your control. If given the chance we would love to stay there again. We really enjoyed the ability to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hello, We're glad you enjoyed your stay! The views from our property are beautiful and we're glad we were able to share that with you! We always have a staff member available to give noisy neighbors a courtesy reminder to be mindful of those around them. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Glendale, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

The room we had was odd. It was set up for someone who is planning a long stay. The kitchenette had everything except a coffee maker (or remote control). The entire east side of the unit was on a very noticeable slant and it could be easily felt. The only view was that of the neighboring residents and their rooftops.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Caryle, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback! We are always looking for ways to improve and you've given us some stuff to work on! We hope that you come visit us again soon. More 

Alpine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

The hotel has been renovated and our corner room was lovely, with 2 windows that had an ocean view. Kitchenette was very nice but there was only one burner for cooking. Unfortunately the bathroom has not been renovated. There is nothing they can do about its smallness, probably, but the tiny sink was ancient and the shower stall was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Kathy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! We know exactly of which bathroom you're talking about in your review and we're still trying to find solutions as to how we can fix the problem of smallness. As we plan on making bigger changes to the room, we plan on replacing the sink, shower, and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#14 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#7 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay