We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catalina Boat House

200 Marilla Avenue, Mailing: PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Catalina Beach House)
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Catalina Boat House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Worth going two blocks uphill to have the place almost to ourselves, plus a lovely view of the harbor. Not only did we get upgraded to the nicest room, but also we were welcomed with complimentary tickets to the botanic gardens and glass bottom boat ride. The young men who helped us were as sweet and friendly as could be,... More 

Helpful?
Thank KymberlyWE
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Kymberly, It pleases us to hear about your satisfactory stay with us! We're glad we were able to go above and beyond your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience with others! More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

I selected this hotel for our party of four for the New Year's Eve holiday 2014/2015, and was amazed to find how unkempt it was, considering that it (and the Hermosa) were offered as a package by the Chamber of Commerce for the New Year's Eve gala at The Casino ballroom. The bed was comfortable and the linens seemed clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda P
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hello Edward, It saddens us to hear about your unsatisfying stay with us. The Catalina Boat House Hotel went through a large remodel in 2014 and took advantage of the slower time during the winter to get some more remodeling out of the way before our peak season came around again. We apologize at how this effected your stay with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Wow I've stayed in hotels fitting adjectives ranging from Bad to Awesome. Well, sad to report our room at the boathouse was Awful. My poor hubby had to stay there for 10 days while I arrived at the tail end of his stay. We had to walk downstairs a couple flights then turn left at the junkyard. The only maintained... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rho K
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hello Rho, We apologize that your husband's stay (covered by business) was so unsatisfactory that you have decided to repost this review months later. As explained in a previous response, there were some things that made you uncomfortable that could have been brought to the front desk staff's attention. We would have solved your issues as best to our ability... More 

Escondido, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Friendly staff! But not truthful. They wouldn’t even pick us up from Catalina Express however their shuttle was sitting in-front of the Hermosa hotel, at time of booking they said they would pick us up. They did take us back to the ship today, I have to give them that! Disappointed with amenities and room. NOT enough staff to run... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank frances h
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Frances, As explained to you upon booking and at time of arrival, the shuttle is based upon availability and is never guaranteed. We did not have the available staff to run our shuttle on your arrival date, so we apologize for the inconveniences your party encountered. We are still in the process of remodeling and the room you stayed... More 

Temecula, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Disappointing!, I planned a month in advance to take my son on a father son trip. get to the Long beach boat shuttle go to get or tickets an the Confirmation number I was sent from hotel is wrong and they cant find tickest?get to the island I can handle the swap out from Hermosa hotel to this place ,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mhphotoman
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hello Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and share your experience with others! As stated in the email between our management and yourself, we offered you a discounted stay the next time you stay with us. We do not give in to threats, such as this (a quote taken directly in the email you sent... More 

Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

This place is very very affordable... but it does come with at a few costs, comfort, size, location and cleanliness. Comfort: Spring mattress, 2 small bath towels (very cheap, wall mart style) and 1 very small hand towel. There was no bath mat, so we used the hand towel as the bath mat. We had to ask for toilet paper... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy K
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 via mobile

My family and I arrived on July second before the big holiday and were able to find this little gem on the island. The place is spotless clean very quaint small but a very affordable place to stay. When everybody else was taking full advantage of the holiday weekend price wise these people were still very affordable very helpful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. We hope to see you again soon! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

ROOM AND CHECK-IN: We traveled as a couple and it was our first time to Catalina. We got their special with the room and the boat tickets for $485. We stayed in their STANDARD ROOM and the room was enough for 2. Mark was really friendly and helped us smoothly with our checkin and a ride up hill from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Bellflower, California, USA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

I decided to take two of my employees to Catalina Island for a weekend vacation as a reward for their great performance at work. I was lucky enough to be able to find two rooms at the Catalina Boat House Hotel. The hotel sits up on a hill that overlooks Avalon Bay and is not near the water. However the... More 

Helpful?
Thank rodvilencia
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hello! It pleases us to hear about your stay with us! We're so glad that you like the remodeling we've done and that you were able to enjoy our accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015 via mobile

My girls and I took this much needed vacation to regain our closeness. Being that they're teens and are always on the go, this was a much needed get away from the hustle and bustle of LA living. Being a single parent with a sub par job I didn't think I'd be able to afford the trip but once I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Monique R
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Monique, Your trip sounds like it was so amazing! We're so glad to be the ones who were able to make it happen for you guys! Thank you for taking the time to leave us kind words and tell future guests about your vacation- it is truly appreciated! We hope to see you guys again next summer. Until then,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hermosa Hotel
Hermosa Hotel
#21 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#12 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#17 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay