We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Avalon hotels

Catalina Beach House

200 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Catalina Beach House to your Saves list
Catalina Beach House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
60%
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
58709Linda Ridgefield, Washington
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    22
    14
    15
See reviews for
22
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They're changing their name to the Catalina Boat House, and that's not all that's changed! The hotel is being remodeled, and our room was brand-new, with a convenience kitchen, lots of space, and a balcony for drying towels. The price is still very affordable. Outside stairs could be hard for some, but very helpful staff will go-cart you to and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Beach House, responded to this review

We're glad you like our changes! The hotel used to be a house boat, so we're having fun with the renovations! Come again and see how much more we'll have done! More

Indio, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family of three (husband, wife and 2 year old) recently stayed at the Catalina Beach house (August 2014). It was okay, but I probably wouldn't stay again. Our room was down a large flight of wobbly, unsafe for a 2 year old, outdoor staircase. They tile stairs were cracked and crooked which was nerve-wracking going up and down numerous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Beach House, responded to this review

Your feedback was much appreciated, thank you. More

Loma Linda, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here one night during the weekend and it was a great value for what we paid. This was easily 50 - 100 less per night than anywhere else in Avalon. The room is small but we don't need a huge room for just the 2 of us. Very clean and quaint. We both are also the type to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope you'll come stay with us again! More

Cypress
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Compared with the other hotels on the island, this place was pretty affordable. The room was very nice, I felt like it was a suite. Room 14 has a nice comfy bed, a kitchenette complete with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, stove top, pots, pans and dishes. Flat screen cable TV. The bathroom had a nice shower and plenty of counter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you - we are so glad you like our renovations. If you liked room 14, you'll LOVE room 15. It's just next door and has a small balcony with an ocean view ;o) More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Bought a 3 night deal on lLiving Social, it included round trip transportation on the Catalina Flyer, bike rental, casino museum passes, and Wrigley garden passes for $299.00. We were able to pay an extra $100.00 to include our daughter and she got the same benefits. When I called in advance to confirm our reservation Scotty couldn't find it, luckily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! More

Chino Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I bought a Living Social deal for my boyfriends birthday in June and we were booked for rooms at the Catalina Beach House. It is up a moderately steep hill, but I really didn't mind that at all and I really liked that it was off of the main streets since it tends to get pretty loud with all of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Beach House, responded to this review

You're right - you stayed during the peak of our remodeling! Sorry for that inconvenience, but so happy you loved your room!!! We hope to see you again soon! More

Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My friend and I went here for my birthday earlier in the month. We absolutely loved it! We were lucky enough to have one of the updated rooms, it was super cute. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the shower was large with a awesome shower head. The room had a mini kitchen, which I wasn't expecting. The view from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We agree - our hotel is a fun and cute place to hang out and enjoy yourself! I'm so glad you took full advantage of that! More

Ramona, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great time. Great place. Great price. What more should one say ? Staff at both hotels were great. We stayed at the Beach House. Room was big, recently remodeled. Big enough for a table and chairs, but were lacking those items. I asked for chairs and was given 2 folding chairs that worked for us. Read several reviews that complained... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Beach House, responded to this review

At the time you stayed we were in the midst of remodeling several of our rooms and didn't yet have all of the new items in the rooms (ie the table and chairs you mentioned). If you like what you saw in June, we hope you'll come back again soon and see the changes since then! Thank you for your... More

West Richland, Wa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the Hermosa hotel back in 2012 while running the Catalina Island Marathon - that place was fun, so I decided to go with the Beach House this time around. It was off-season, so there were not a lot of folks around - nice and quiet. The room included extras for cooking and that turned out to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting. We love hosting active guests, as the island is certainly a playground for you! It's great that you gave our other hotel a try, and we're thrilled that you were pleased. See you soon! More

Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place was the BEST!!! It was just a short walk from everything.....the staff was fabulous!!! Specifically, Ciara, she was my very own "Avalon Angel". I had an emergency situation & she went above & beyond to assist me to resolve my issue. I have been traveling w/my son at least once a yr for the last 8yrs & this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Catalina Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you again soon! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Catalina Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Catalina Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Beach House

Address: 200 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Beach House Hotel Avalon
Catalina Beach Hotel
Catalina Beach Avalon
Catalina Beach House Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Avalon with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon #11 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Number of rooms
19

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Catalina Beach House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer