We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Atwater

Hotel website
125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Special Offer
Catalina Unlimited Fun!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Atwater
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Honestly, we knew nothing about Catalina as this was out first visit. (Did the birthday thing) We don't spend much time in rooms on trips anyway so price was the driver. Atwater had the best deal, so we chose them. It was off-season and we got there EARLY just to drop our bags off, and they let us check in!... More 

Helpful?
Thank paincorp
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have a place in Newport Beach but wanted an easy trip over to Catalina Is. We took the Catalina Flyer over in the morning. We went to the hotel and they checked our baggage for us. We shopped and had lunch and then checked into the hotel. The workers were very nice and helpful. The room was clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank danimommy
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Danimommy, Thanks for choosing the Hotel Atwater. I'm glad to hear that the hotel was perfect for your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager More 

Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

I and my family are not ones to sit in a room, so a clean and friendly hotel in the heart of Avalon and just a block from the beach was perfect for us. Rooms are not large, but most houses and rooms in tiny Avalon are small. For a view, just walk out the front door and turn left... More 

Helpful?
Thank Felisbogartus
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Felisbogartus, Thanks for staying with us at the Hotel Atwater. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful scenery around Catalina Island. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager More 

Laguna Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

a wonderful stay at a reasonable rate. room was clean, bedding excellent and service superb. location on the island is close to all amenities. I go every year to catalina and have stayed at many of the hotels and I was more than pleased with the hotel Atwater. a older hotel but well maintained and wonderful experience

Helpful?
Thank JERRY B
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Jerry, Thanks for choosing the Hotel Atwater. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

We walked in around 10p. Very, very, very reasonable rate. It was very clean but our room was small with a small shower. It was perfect for us. Outside the hotel is everything you need as far as Catalina Island is concerned. Very short walk to: beach, tours, restaurants, shops, etc. Oh, if you can't sleep and want to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thanks for choosing the Hotel Atwater. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on Catalina Island. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager More 

Washington DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

The Hotel Atwater was conveniently located in the heart of Avalon and across the street from the tour plaza. Staff members were lovely and helpful, and photographs lining the halls harkened back to an earlier era. The facilities were clean and comfortable, if sparse, and the bathroom was a bit cramped. The stairs were also a little hard to navigate... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CandySandwich
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear CandySandwich, Thanks for choosing the Hotel Atwater. Sorry to hear about your foot injury. Hopefully that didn't impact your enjoyment of Catalina Island. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

My birthday surprise! An old hotel that has received some upgrades, but not a lot, so it was reasonably priced. Got into the room and tried to relax, but could really hear the noise from the street outside. Finally figured out that the old windows had not been closed completely. After some maneuvering, we got them closed and secured. Wanted... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JanisTravels
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear JanisTravels, Thanks for choosing the Hotel Atwater. I'm sorry to hear about some of the disappointing points of your stay. I appreciate your feedback and we will work to remedy those situations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager More 

Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

Nice and helpful service at the front desk. Bathroom too , too small. Very clean. The bed was quite confortable. There was not elevator and you need to carry your own lugagge. Our room was very quiet .

Helpful?
1 Thank kingofmars2015
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Kingofmars, Thanks for choosing the Hotel Atwater. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

I booked this hotel because of the nice profile picture it has. The lobby was like that, very modern and nice. But there were no elevators, so you have to carry all your luggages to second or third floor. The inner was not as beautiful as the lobby and the room was pretty small, and without a fridge. But it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor L
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Eleanor, Thanks for staying with us at the Hotel Atwater. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

First, I totally understand this is an older hotel so there are small bathrooms, old windows (with drafts coming through and we were there in winter), no elevator. In saying that I feel they really skimped on all in room amenities which they can control and in my opinion make a huge difference. There was no hairdryer, tea/coffee maker or... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jpants2003
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Jpants, I'm sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with your expectations. We truly appreciate your feedback. Our hotel was built in the 1920s. The reason why we do not offer small electrical appliances in the rooms like hairdryers, coffee makers, refrigerators is that our aged electrical system can not support them. We will address this issue... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#7 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#15 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#17 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay