We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Avalon accommodations

Hamilton Cove Villas

Save Saved
You added Hamilton Cove Villas to your Saves list
119 Sumner Avenue, Suite B, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Hamilton Cove Villas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    9
    11
    2
See reviews for
46
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porterville, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love visiting Catalina and we love staying at Hamilton Cove. However, we had some issues when we arrived at unit 2/48. When we first arrived, we noticed hair on the bathroom floor and shower. I then went and pulled a bowl out of the cupboard and noticed it still had food on it. I then pulled out some more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, You are correct in that, had you called CIVR, we would have sent housekeeping to take care of the dish ware. Unfortunately, the hard water in Avalon can cause some dishwasher issues. Our housekeepers are generally good at catching these things, but apparently missed it this time. It sounds as though the previous renters used the dish washer... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We reserved # 245. It was filthy, stained furniture , broken window treatments, TV on floor, and no cell service. The rental company was worse! Hamilton Cove Real Estate is awful!! I would NEVER deal with them again. Bart is rude, arrogant and hard to deal with. Thankfully we were able to get all of our money back. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear your experiences at Hamilton Cove did not exceed your expectations. Catalina Island Vacation Rentals represents several dozen properties in Hamilton Cove, although we do not manage the property you stayed in. We hope that you will give the Villas at Hamilton Cove another chance and give us a call the next time you come to Catalina... More

Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The unit was beautiful and previous reviews complained of stairs but I didn't think there were that many. Right in the heart of the complex it was a perfect location. The amount you pay for a vacation rental, I expect some necessities in the kitchen. Pots and pans were stainless and the average renter is not likely an expert in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CIVR, General Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay. We're sorry that you found the cooking set up difficult. I don't believe we've run into this issue in the past. It sounds like you did have fun, regardless. Please do come and stay with us again, CIVR Management More

St. Helena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The reason for a very good rating and not a excellent rating all due to dirty silverware and wine glasses with lipstick remaining in the cupboards and in the drawer. The rules are very specific that when you leave the condo you are to leave it clean with all the silverware etc put away. Obviously the cleaning service was there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Dear Julia, I read your review and am not sure if you stayed in one of our properties, or not. Catalina Island Vacation Rentals (CIVR) manages a large number of Vacation Home Villas in Hamilton Cove. CIVR is open 7 days a week and we do have a 24 hour emergency line. You are correct, in that we do ask... More

kmod75
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed 4 nights/5 days at Hamilton Cove in late June. The property itself is very nice and very well maintained. Every day the maintenance people were out painting, cutting the lawn, raking, etc….very clean place. Onsite there is a pool, beach access, tennis courts, workout room and put-put golf course. Security guards were very perceptive, which made us feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Kmod75, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Hamilton Cove. Catalina Island Vacation Rentals works hard to match our guests with the right property and we are happy to hear that you loved Villa 1256. We look forward to welcoming you back to Catalina Island when you book your next trip. Catalina Island Vacation Rentals Management More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!!! Of course Catalina, but 2-27 was AMAZING!!! (I've stayed in Hamilton Cove many times before and let's just say, some units REALLY need to updated !!! and some should even be fumigated) >>>THIS PLACE has been beautifully remodeled....the kitchen & bathrooms were like something in a magazine! I think the private bedroom downstairs w/ the balcony was my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hamilton Cove and that Villa 2-27 fit your needs so well. At Catalina Island Vacation Rentals we work hard to make sure that we find the right property for our guests and we are thrilled that worked out so well for you. We will be sure to let... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

After spending last week in Hamilton Cove, I can see why there are so many mixed reviews on this site. Your experience will depend entirely on your unit. Building number 18 is brand new and gorgeous from top to bottom. If you do your research, look at the photos, and pay a reasonable price, you will not be disappointed. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Hi Connie, We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in Hamilton Cove 18-75 and appreciate you giving Catalina Island Vacation Rentals the opportunity to help make your Catalina vacation wonderful. We will definitely pass along your compliments to the homeowners and let them know you enjoyed the property and your vacation thoroughly! We look forward to seeing you again real... More

San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Delayed review, but better late than never. We stayed at Hamilton Cove September 2013. The trip was perfect. Our stay was right when all the big crowds have left for the summer. The unit was beyond beautiful. Newly renovated and beautifully decorated. Traveling with 5 adults and a 1 1/2 year old. Once we set up some chairs to keep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Hi Heather, We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in Hamilton Cove 4-12 and appreciate you giving Catalina Island Vacation Rentals the opportunity to help make your Catalina vacation wonderful. We look forward to seeing you again real soon! Catalina Island Vacation Rentals Management More

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had heard this was the place to stay, but after spending a long weekend on Catalina, I have to say that Hamilton Cove is the LAST place you want to stay. We were two families in 2-33, which was a trip back into the late 70s/early 80s. Decor was very dingy and outdated. I've actually never seen a micro... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were concerned after reading your comments, so we paid a visit to Villa 233 at Hamilton cove. I have to admit that the microwave is an older model, but works fine. You did fail to mention that these owners have recently purchased a new dining set, the L-shaped sofa/sofa sleeper is fairly new, the extra living room... More

San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This property was nicely decorated and spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 children under 12. The condo was not as clean as one would expect (in this price range). -Dishes were dirty -Hairs in kitchen and bedroom linens -Bay windows were not cleaned (this is your ocean view) The kitchen was not stocked with ANY basics, except for pots/pans/dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hamilton Cove Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hamilton Cove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Cove Villas

Address: 119 Sumner Avenue, Suite B, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Hamilton Cove Avalon
Hamilton Cove Hotel Avalon
Hamilton Cove Villas Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Avalon with
any amenities