We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    101
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
107
71
26
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (284)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Golden Key
See the most recent reviews
pacifica, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the room was clean and everything was in great condition. Staffs were very friendly. Breakfast hot waffle was very good. it is a must try! Just make sure, if you gonna use refrigerator, to set little low otherwise everything is going to be frozen in the morning.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review

Dear Sachiko M - We here at the Best Western Golden Key are so pleased to hear that you were happy with our wonderful staff, clean rooms and very good breakfast. We do look forward to seeing you again when you come to Auburn, CA. More 

Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow, my family and are in town for a nearby gymnastics tournament and decided to stay in beautiful Auburn. We have never stayed here before, but this place met and exceeded my expectations! The rooms and large, very clean and comfortable and quiet. It is located near the freeway and numerous stores/restaurants. The staff at the front desk were efficient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review

Dear Chris 10 1264- We here at the Best Western Golden Key thank you for your amazing review of our humble hotel. We do look forward to seeing you again in the near future. More 

livermore, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have not stayed in a Best Western for many years and my experience was terrible so when booking a hotel I have avoided them. My Stay at the Best Western Golden Key in Auburn has completely changed my view of the best western hotel chain! My room was very clean and comfortable. The front desk was extremely friendly and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review

Dear Alexander C: We are so proud that we are the hotel who changed your views on staying at the Best Western Chain. We strive to be Ultra Clean for all our guests. I hope that you can come back soon. We look forward to the opportunity of providing you with our excellence in customer service. More 

Keno, OR
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At first glance, it's a moderately priced motel. Then it reveals it's treasures. In this day and age, great customer service is nonexistent. Not at this establishment! Wonderful staff, remarkably clean rooms, a great bed, super breakfast. I wouldn't change a thing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review

Dear Shaun 883: Thank you for your kind compliments on our hotel. I am so happy that you found our breakfast to be SUPER. Our staff is Top of the Line. This is what we love to do,make all guests at this hotel feel extra special. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

El Sobrante, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was not our first stay here. We chose 'BWGK' because of past experience and the proximity to where we were going, plus the location, easy access to and from I-80, and the quietness, despite almost being on the freeway. Our only disappointment was the fact Lou LaBontes' has closed. We have 33 to 46 year old children who always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review

Dear ELSID-ELSOB - I am so happy to hear that you have been staying with us through out the years.We do apologize that you could not eat at one of your favorite restaurants. Hopefully the next time you visit, Awful Annie's will be having their Grand Opening. We do look forward to seeing you again. More 

Brentwood, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We loved the hotel! It was very clean and the beds were very very comfortable. The breakfast was great. The waffles themselves were amazing.. Staff was friendly..no complaints except hot tub was very very dirty..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review

Dear Perlee93- I am so happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and found our rooms to be clean & comfortable. I do apologize that the hot tub was not up to your standards. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we can resolve this issue. We do look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

San Jacinto, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

After traveling for 10 hours, being greeted by this pleasant staff was the best we could have hoped for. Our trip was to attend a memorial service and the stay overnight was brief but pleasant. Thank you for making our check in hassle free.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review

Dear Shelia M M - Thank you for your kind compliments about our awesome staff. I am so happy that you were pleased with your stay here at the Best Western Golden Key. We do look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Needed a place to stay last minute. Checked in an hour after booking it. The lady at the front desk was very sweet and was concerned about what room to give me since she thought I was a woman traveling alone. I really appreciated her concern even though I was traveling with my husband. The room was clean and recently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review

Dear Kim D- Thank you for your kind comments regarding our cleanliness and how you enjoyed the extra features we offer in our bathrooms. I do apologize that you found the mattress in your room not to be comfortable. It is a pillow top mattress, but we will check on this issue. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.... More 

Pleasanton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Staff was very helpful suggesting areas to visit. Special mention to desk clerk Chuck. Made our stay very enjoyable and informative. - Beds & Pillows very comfortable. - Like how the thermostat works with the room key. - Clean TV remote control. - Number & locations of vending machines. - Best breakfast ever. It's ready when you wake! Looking forward... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review

Dear Nelson R - Thank you for rating us' Best Breakfast Ever' and appreciating our early breakfast hours. We are happy that Chuck was so accommodating during your stay and he is a Superior Team Member here at the Golden Key. We do look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

danville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We had a very pleasant stay for only one night, but wish we had more time to spend. Comfortable and very clean. We have stayed in many places, paid more $$ and not nearly as enjoyable. The breakfast was a great start for our trip home. Look forward to a return stay in the future.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review

Dear Joyce & Edward M - We are so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at the Best Western Golden Key. We do strive on being Comfortable and Clean. Our breakfast does have some great choices, and I am glad that you were pleased. We do look forward to seeing you again and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question