We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Athens hotels

Country Hearth Inn Athens

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Highway 72 East, Athens, AL 35611
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Country Hearth Inn Athens to your Saves list
Country Hearth Inn Athens
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
6%
Ranked #11 of 11 hotels in Athens
  • Overview
  • Reviews (29)
  • Photos (56)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    1
    24
See reviews for
9
11
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I felt dirty and needed to take a shower at the local truck stop. This place was horrible, with cracked toilet, sink, ripped off wall paper, on and on. This place was dirty, and should never be visited by anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

from country hearth inn suites dear carol we are so sorry that your past experience was not good ,we have been under change of staff change of remodling we have since corrected those problem of your stay we are now drugfree family enviornment hotel we do appolize for what happen ,we offer you when you are down this way ,to... More

Baroda, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

It took the 4th room b4 I could get a room that didn't have a ton of smoke smell and it still stunk. So if u r a smoker maybe it's no big deal. And I noticed that something got taken off of my truck too. I usually don't complain but this one plz believe what others have said. Bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

from countryheath inn suites we are sorry for the past visit stay your room was next door to smoking room we informed u when u check inn to the room that u were next to smoking room at the time of check inn that s only room available down stairs we are sorry for that we already shampooed all carpets... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Unfortunately, this was the last hotel in the area with a room last weekend. It was after 11pm so my wife and I took it. It was only $40, but oh my god, this wasn't worth it if they paid me. Seriously, you could offer me $1000 and I would not take a step in this place again. The smell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

we are apolozive for past visit stay but country hearth athens al locations is under renovations due to delayed renovations we are sorry for past visit stay but we recentely got new counter top sink in hotel room also room are under painting also once finish we are changeing comfey bed in room also we are going to change comfey... More

Shelbyville, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Dirty, outdated, non smoking reeked of cigarette smoke, tattered bed linens I would never stay in one of these again and would warn people to reconsider this choice. The air smelled of stale ole and bathroom water in toilet ran continuously. Carpet had burn marks from a hot iron.

Was this review helpful? Yes
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

we are sorry for the past visit stay with us, we are currently under renovations. please give us another chance to serve u next time to your needs thank you for staying country hearth inn athens More

Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We thought this hotel would be a nice stop while on a trip to a club meeting. When my husband checked in he was charged $45 instead of the advertised rate of $39.95, when asked about the rate, he was told that the rate is raised on weekends, we were tired and shrugged that off and went to our room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
amitpatel72373, General Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

Dear guest first I want to say sorry for the stay at country hearth inn athens thank you for staying with us but our room is freshly get cleaned by house keeper daily our room does get spray freshly air freshner also fib breeze spray in ever each room also fresh clean room provide to guest but if u informed... More

Judice, Louisiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and arrived at location at 8:48 p.m. on Tuesday September 3, 2013. Upon entering the room is smelled like urine. We went to front desk and ask for a refund since we would not be staying there. The cashier promptly stated that no refunds would be given with an attitude.. Upon our insistance she called her manager. and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

iam sorry to say but this guest never checked in our hotel or never stayed with us or she is not in my system of hotel but iam sorry to let u know our room is clean comfortable just got shampooed done all rooms giving clean room to guest thank your for giving us to serve u next time to... More

Pensacola FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was tired after a long day on the road, pulled in and from the parking lot it looked ok and the lobby seemed ok as well. I travel with my little dog so that's always a consideration - finding a decent, clean place that will take pets (there DO seem to be a lot more choices these days.) I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

from country hearth inn suites we are sorry for past visit stay we are here to informed u that we are drug free hotel and all of the guest was here no longer allowed on property we are in process of keeping our hotel safe and drug free hotel also we painted hotel rooms and we got new countertop sink... More

Saint Clair, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We picked this hotel from the "Hotel Saver" coupon book we picked up at the rest stop. Since we had been driving 18 hours we made a poor decision to stay here. I'm pretty sure I witnessed a drug deal near the pool. There were a lot of unsavory characters hanging around this place. When my husband saw me getting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

iam really sorry for the stay but our hotel is clean comfortable affordable hotel to stay we have safe clean enviormental to stay at hotel we accomdate to seniors travelers and corporate guest thank you for staying with us please give another chance to serve u better thank you for staying country hearth inn athens alabama More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This place beyond gross!! We thought because of the name, location and price this would be a good place to stay 4 a night. Boy was I wrong!!! 1st off they don't honor the price shown on the sign outside! It was $20 more than what they are advertising! We got to the room that's suppose to be nonsmoking. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

iam sorry but this guest never stayed in our hotel system also we do not accomadate to drug dealer also we have police drive around in hotel to keep hotel safe in 3 different times a day also they drive around another area as well thank you More

Cary, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Unfortunately, we did not check these reviews before we traveled. We were looking for a cheap hotel, and had we any other option, we would not have stayed. The shower curtain looked like it had blood stains, the bed felt like it was going to crash to the ground, and there was a stink in the air that was undescribable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

we are sorry for the past visit stay but we did renovated this rooms and it is clean comfortable accomadating rooms to guest our housekeeper clean rooms change curtains in rooms same day also clean room just like home for the guest please give another chance to serve u better thank you for staying with country hearth inn athens alabama... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Country Hearth Inn Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Country Hearth Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hearth Inn Athens

Address: 1500 Highway 72 East, Athens, AL 35611
Location: United States > Alabama > Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Country Hearth Inn Athens 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Hearth Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Hotel Athens

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Athens with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
51

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Country Hearth Inn Athens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer