We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Hearth Inn Athens

1500 Highway 72 East, Athens, AL 35611
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Hearth Inn Athens
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Country Hearth Inn Athens
Country Hearth Inn Athens
Country Hearth Inn Athens
Add Photo

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    3
    2
    1
    28
See reviews for
10
11
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
California, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We made a reservation blind with hotels.com... I'll never do that again. Should have looked at trip advisor first. Walked in... Walked out even the lady at front desk did not blame us. Very dirty and there was no AC in lobby. Got our money back and got out of there

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was courteous and approachable. The sheets and towels were clean and the air conditioner worked great. The room smelled a little like stale cigarette smoke (non-smoking room). Other than that, it was a good hotel for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I got a bad feeling when I saw the sloppy handwritten message about having to reject the room within 10 minutes or forfeit the price. Then I noticed the broken cupboard in the office. Being too tired to drive on, I took the room. It stinks of smoke. Shabby, wornout, spill paint on the carpet. The stink is the worst.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

I read all 30 reviews and management responded they had renovated since each comment for over a year, trust me he lied 30 plus times. Those rooms haven't seen renovation in 30 years, not sure they have been cleaned in that long either. So dirty it should be condemed. No lights, no toilet tissue, no tv and nasty dirty old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

If I could rate this with negative numbers I would except they probably still wouldn't go low enough. This place was so nasty we couldn't stay. We ask for a non smoking room and went thru 3 rooms. All 3 were so bad we left. They would not refund our money because it was their "policy" As we were walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I felt dirty and needed to take a shower at the local truck stop. This place was horrible, with cracked toilet, sink, ripped off wall paper, on and on. This place was dirty, and should never be visited by anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

from country hearth inn suites dear carol we are so sorry that your past experience was not good ,we have been under change of staff change of remodling we have since corrected those problem of your stay we are now drugfree family enviornment hotel we do appolize for what happen ,we offer you when you are down this way ,to... More 

Baroda, Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

It took the 4th room b4 I could get a room that didn't have a ton of smoke smell and it still stunk. So if u r a smoker maybe it's no big deal. And I noticed that something got taken off of my truck too. I usually don't complain but this one plz believe what others have said. Bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

from countryheath inn suites we are sorry for the past visit stay your room was next door to smoking room we informed u when u check inn to the room that u were next to smoking room at the time of check inn that s only room available down stairs we are sorry for that we already shampooed all carpets... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Unfortunately, this was the last hotel in the area with a room last weekend. It was after 11pm so my wife and I took it. It was only $40, but oh my god, this wasn't worth it if they paid me. Seriously, you could offer me $1000 and I would not take a step in this place again. The smell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

we are apolozive for past visit stay but country hearth athens al locations is under renovations due to delayed renovations we are sorry for past visit stay but we recentely got new counter top sink in hotel room also room are under painting also once finish we are changeing comfey bed in room also we are going to change comfey... More 

Shelbyville, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Dirty, outdated, non smoking reeked of cigarette smoke, tattered bed linens I would never stay in one of these again and would warn people to reconsider this choice. The air smelled of stale ole and bathroom water in toilet ran continuously. Carpet had burn marks from a hot iron.

Was this review helpful? Yes
amitpatel72373, Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

we are sorry for the past visit stay with us, we are currently under renovations. please give us another chance to serve u next time to your needs thank you for staying country hearth inn athens More 

Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We thought this hotel would be a nice stop while on a trip to a club meeting. When my husband checked in he was charged $45 instead of the advertised rate of $39.95, when asked about the rate, he was told that the rate is raised on weekends, we were tired and shrugged that off and went to our room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
amitpatel72373, General Manager at Country Hearth Inn Athens, responded to this review

Dear guest first I want to say sorry for the stay at country hearth inn athens thank you for staying with us but our room is freshly get cleaned by house keeper daily our room does get spray freshly air freshner also fib breeze spray in ever each room also fresh clean room provide to guest but if u informed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay