We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 130 Washington DC hotels

Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1 More
Save Saved
You added Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
78%
Ranked #51 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013
bryan5150 Seattle, Washington
  • Overview
  • Reviews (623)
  • Photos (459)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (188)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    182
    92
    27
    13
See reviews for
79
198
38
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Overall, this hotel is very fru fru -- meaning the staff are very focused on looking cool, often at the sacrifice of basic service elements of a hotel. Examples include: 1) the worst pool bartender known to man. He offered nothing and knew nothing. Between is texting people he'd look up to do his job occasionally. This guy was more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi bryan5150, Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear about your experience at the Rooftop Bar. We're never to cool, to be uncool. I'll speak with the staff up there. Regarding the pool, we don't have a hard policy on when people have to get our of their chairs. It's very popular up there, so I understand if it's hard... More

Newtown, PA
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
149 hotel reviews
408 helpful votes 408 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Spent one night here and got a great rate bidding on Priceline for $92. Always an added bonus when being a Kimpton In-Touch Member gets you free internet and a $10 credit on the mini-bar. Valet was $40 but convenient. Room was small, but comfortable and swank. Good location for walking to many attractions. Staff was friendly and helpful. Did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi relayer, Thanks for your review. Great deal and a great stay. You've got to jump on those specials as they don't come often. Cheers, Abe Abe Liao Assistant General Manager More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Pros of this hotel: the wine hour from 5 to 6 is suitable for a quick reprieve. The samples from the adjacent Zen restaurant were a nice touch, but the child sipping wine and munching on the edamame and the man with his lady friend's feet in his lap confirmed that social etiquette is fading. The other pro - this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi coloradoklm, Thanks for your review of my Hotel. There was some awesome detail in this review. I really appreciate it and am terribly sorry about your stay. Seems like a rough one indeed. We're revisiting our pool policy for next year to ensure our guests are not impacted as little as possible. We certainly want to sell the space,... More

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I generally love Kimpton hotels but this one is a bit long in the tooth. Lobby is dark and kind of dingy and those swing lucite pods are scratched and kind of opaque instead of crisp and clear. Just a nasty look. We are in a king suite but no tub?! What's up with that? Which brings me to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi BrukzE, Thanks for the review. Sorry to hear about your stay. The Hotel hasn't received a major refresh in 5 years, but that's all about to change. Major rooms renovation planned for the end of this year. Stay tuned. Cheers, Abe Abe Liao Assistant General Manager More

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

What a great hotel in an excellent location! For us the perfect location mix between the DC sites any visitor may want to see and the fun night life options once the sun goes down. A nice selection of restaurants on nearby happening 14th Street. Oh, all this and a roof top pool with city views. Thanks Donovan House.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi RVanB, Thanks for your review. 14th Street is hot right now and we're glad to be apart of it. From DNV Rooftop, you can see this new neighborhood has to offer. No, thank you RVanB and see you soon. Cheers, Abe Abe Liao Assistant General Manager More

FORT MYERS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great rooftop pool and pool bar. Very nice contemporary rooms. Great location. Good restaurants near by, Dunkin Donuts and Starbucks in walking distance. Clean rooms, clean hotel. We encountered a small problem with our stay and the management bent over backwards for us. We will definitely return. This hotel values customer service. We heard some negative things about the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi dougbrit2222, Thanks for your TripAdvisor Review. Seems like a great stay highlighted by awesome service. Who told you our In-Room Dining was no good? Child please...it's great! Cheers, Abe Abe Liao Assistant General Manager More

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

So most of us know how swanky and mod this hotel is. The rooms are great, hotel service is good, etc. - but what you might be surprised to learn is that there is a gorgeous rooftop bar that's open to guests and non guests. There's a pool, 2 bars and plenty of places to lounge and overlook the city.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi See_Chris_jetset, Thanks for your review. Sounds like you really enjoyed the experience, but unfortunately the service at the rooftop bar was a let down. Care to share a little bit more with me via email at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com? Hope to hear from you. Cheers, Abe Abe Liao Assistant General Manager More

Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here one Saturday evening with family and friends. The hotel is a Kimpton and they have found their groove with this property. It is not a big hotel. The location is conveniently situated on Thomas Circle in downtown DC (14th & Mass)....within walking distance to a lot of restaurants, sites, and metro stations. The staff was very engaging, welcoming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi CGCx, Thanks so much for your review. L O V E'd the details in your review. Great stuff. After reading your comments, I imagine you will be back soon. Cheers, Abe Abe Liao Assistant General Manager More

Wimille, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great stay, great staff, and great atmosphere! Wine reception in lobby was very nice and staff was able to point out some great restaurants where we ended up eating and having a great dinner. Pool was empty when we checked in and were able to have snacks and drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bob S, Thanks for your TripAdvisor Review. Sounds like a perfect stay. I hope to have you and the family back soon. Cheers, Abe Abe Liao Assistant General Manager More

Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We got this hotel through a good deal on hotwire. It was a great location for us and a great hotel. Kevin at the front desk was so friendly and helpful. A friend of mine and I were doing a spa day and shopping with our daughters for their graduation/off to college trip. there were hair dyers int he room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi YaYa4_VA, Thanks for your review. Seems like Kevin really left an impression. How couldn't he? Tall, friendly, funny, caring......did I mention we're fans of Kevin too? Appreciate the note about parking as well. It can be pricey, space is just so limited in a Downtown Area. Cheers, Abe Abe Liao Assistant General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

459 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (203)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (83)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (48)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (218)
Viewed
Adult Pool (30)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Double Double Executive Room (6)
Viewed
Executive Suite (5)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (4)
Viewed
King Executive Room (79)
Viewed
King Suite (6)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Washington DC with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC #39 Business Hotel in Washington DC #42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC #70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
193

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer