We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel packages
1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005
Special Offer
3rd Suite Night Free!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    492
    316
    124
    36
    17
See reviews for
145
313
53
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (985)
  • Mar-May only
    (234)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (359)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (206)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (186)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got this hotel booked through hotwire.com at an acceptable price. The location (Thomas Circle) is close to a lot of eateries and pubs, 15min walk from the White House and National Mall. The Smithsonian Museums are also only 30min away on foot (or 5-7 min drive). The room given to us (816) was clean and very comfortable. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Snapper1982, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and the wonderful comments about the staff. DC is definitely all about location so great to know you benefited from ours so much. With any luck you will have a chance to join us again. Regards, Peter More 

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have to say I was very impressed with the whole experience at the Donovan. It started with Joon at the front desk who was able to get me set up with an amazing room. Then the central location made it super easy to hit all the fun spots on 14th street in Logan circle. The rooftop bar with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Eyzaidner, Thanks for the review. You've got me craving the Coconut Daiquiri now (the rum & coconut drink). It is brand new to the menu so I actually have not tried it yet. Awesome to see you were helping us taste everything though. Feel free to come review some of the other cocktails as well. Regards, Peter More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came down for my sisters Bachelorette weekend! We picked the hotel bc of the rooftop pool and bar & the hotel's location! We had a blast. The room was perfect, no issues with noise! We enjoyed the pool, there was an issue with the limited amount of lounges. The pool was busy and definitely not enough seating. However, due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Amy A, What a great review! Sounds like you and your friends found all the best spots to visit while in DC and luckily, we are in the center of it all. You never realize how convenient a 24-hour CVS is until you look in your bag and are missing that one key item. I think a second weekend getaway... More 

Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The " extras" are such a welcoming bonus! Coffee in the morning, cold water all day and even "happy hour". Our room was great, fabulous view. We will be back and Najee this our next stay when visiting our daughter and our nation's capital

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Wendy761, I am thrilled you were able to take advantage of all our amenities! Little touches can definitely make a big difference. I am thankful your daughter is in DC so we can expect to enjoy your families company again and again! Thanks for the review. Regards, Peter More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was warmly welcomed by Katherine AND Will who set me up in a lovely room on the 12th floor and took care of ALL my needs for the three nights I was there. The decoration was totally my taste; very modern, minimal and chic. I was set up with a Keurig Coffee Maker and ice was delivered to my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Shikanomon, I couldn't have scripted your stay any better! Nothing is more rewarding than when our employees are able to make personal connections with guests. Hop on the train and come stay with us again soon! Regards, Peter More 

Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check in is at 3:00, it is now 4:15 and our room is not ready. My two year old twins are having a meltdown in the lobby. I am not happy with Kimpton. I expected more from such an otherwise exemplary establishment. My 5:00 dinner for my husband will likely be delayed...all because we can't even check into our room!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

RMazzei, I apologize that the wait for the room took so long. I will look in to the issue and also send you a separate email directly. Regards, Peter More 

Alameda
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was on 14th street on the fifth floor and the traffic noise was very audible until about 11.00pm and started up again at 6.00am. I am told rooms on the back side are quiet. I found the pillows very uncomfortable, one was insufficient and two too much. So our sleep quality was not good. Minor complaints on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Lancereyno, Thanks for joining us this month. I apologize you did not enjoy the room facing 14th St. Typically many guests prefer the view but noise can be a factor depending on how busy DC is during that time. We always try to accommodate all requests as best as we can. I will follow up with our Front Desk and... More 

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a perfect Choice if you choose Washington Downtown instead of Georgetown for your stay. Short Distance from the most of Washington attractions and exceptional interior design. We had a King Premier corner room with amazing decoration and view. Don't miss Zentan the Sushi Restaurant located inside the hotel. People come from all around. Try the Black Cod.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Npasxa, Thanks for the great review! I am absolutely biased about our location of course. Although Georgetown is great, the development of the 14th St corridor has given us the edge. Regarding the restaurant, Zentan definitely brings their A game every night. They are constantly developing new programs and we could not have picked a better restaurant to partner with.... More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the roof top pool and deck are a nice amenity, it doesn't overshadow the very poor management response that I had this weekend in DC. There was a situation that took place when the roof top bar closed which involved guests of another person staying at the hotel. Not only were they not paying guests, but they had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Harrison P, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not feel the situation was not handled appropriately. Unfortunately that is all I can comment Regards, Peter More 

Indianapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second time I have stayed at this property when one of the three elevators was broken. When it is busy it makes getting to and from the room a huge hassle. Also, when it is busy the public spaces became very over crowded. Checking out was very inefficient because I large group was coming in and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Rickkamm, Thank you for your review. I apologize that you stayed with us when only two of the elevators were working. I can assure you the issue was resolved quickly. I am happy to discuss with you further via email or over the phone. Even if you land at another Kimpton property, I would encourage you to reach out to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

583 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (312)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (134)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Other (53)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (218)
Viewed
Adult Pool (30)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Double Double Executive Room (6)
Viewed
Executive Suite (5)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (4)
Viewed
King Executive Room (79)
Viewed
King Suite (6)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / Chinatown
Loews Madison Hotel
Loews Madison Hotel
#59 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,574 reviews
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#32 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,684 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
#54 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay