We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel packages
1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

912 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    463
    286
    115
    33
    15
See reviews for
121
296
48
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (912)
  • Mar-May only
    (234)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (286)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (206)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (186)
All months
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I requested the email offer to upgrade my room to overlook the square & really was pleased I received it. The bed was terrific, the room clean, comfortable & quiet. I was a little disappointed because I think I got off on the wrong foot on my initial contact. I inquired at check in if I received the upgraded room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pennsylvania Furnace, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Kudos to Bellman David, FD manager Pete, and especially Blair and Kathryn at the front desk! Excellent service, spotless, well laid-out room, dreamy bed. Only complaint was the water pressure in the bathroom sink, and the funky but impractical design of the shower. Will stay again if they let me!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fredrikstad, Norway
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is fashionable, modern, and has a service minded staff. The bathrooms are really nice, and the shower is like nothing I have ever seen before! There are free drinks in the lobby from 17:00-18:00, and at the room there are several USB outlets for charging phones and tablets. However, when our family decides to book somewhere to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel, a little crowded because of a wedding, the only time we really felt it was at the elevators and the lobby. Everyone, from the front desk and the room service was very nice and helpful! My only concern was how much the coffee was if you wanted it delivered. It was $10 plus $8 service charge...way too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Southportswans, Thanks for the review. I am thrilled all of the staff interactions you had were exactly what we strive for! I apologize you found the room service pricey but please know we have alternate options.We offer coffee in the lobby complimentary as well as have coffee makers available to deliver to the rooms upon request. I look forward to... More 

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We arrived at the hotel for our 12th anniversary and from the moment we were greeted by Amanda to the time we checked out it was nothing but top notch service. She started our stay by giving us a choice of rooms and continued to advise events of the evening as well as several dinner recommendations for local establishments. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Nikki W, Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us! I am glad we were able to do our part so you can enjoy your time away from home, especially Amanda. It is always extremely rewarding to see the teams efforts come to fruition. You're not far, come back soon! Regards, Peter More 

Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location, on the south end of 14th St. which has tons of bars and restaurants. The hotel rooms are nice and modern (love the shower!). Staff was nice and helpful. Only complaint was that the elevators were painfully slow and had no airflow. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Sarah W, Thanks for the review. Sounds like you were able to explore the area a little bit. Unfortunately we don't have as many local breweries as you do in Denver but 14th St is really making a name for itself these days! Looking forward to your return. Regards, Peter More 

Lanham, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was picked as a romantic spot for my husbands and I. I love Kimpton properties and had not yet visited this one. The trip started with a long wait at valet parking. Checking in was okay, but upon arriving to our room we discovered that our key did not work. The manager came up to assist us; however,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Mom2KNA, Thank you for your review. I apologize for the wait at valet. We will certainly review our Valentine's Day scheduling for next year to make sure it does not happen again. I am also sorry that the team was unable to resolve the door issue quickly. Sounds like we misread the situation which is regrettable. Feel free to email... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at The Donovan for one evening. I found the location convenient and ideal for my trip. The hotel staff was friendly, and they responded quickly to my requests. The room was clean, chic and comfortable. I would stay again, and recommend it to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

KPatterson_13, Feel free to recommend us to as many family and friends as you can! We definitely appreciate it. Thanks for the review and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Peter More 

Gladstone, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We enjoyed staying at the Donovan, especially after coming from not so great accommodation in NYC (not a Kimpton may I add). Staff were friendly, room was clean and comfortable and had everything you could need to make your stay comfortable. Happy hour was great which my husband and I enjoyed. The only complaint, which is a common one....the pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Christine H, Thanks for the feedback! I am glad we were able to provide better accommodations than your previous hotel and am especially happy to hear it was NOT a Kimpton. We certainly understand the desire to have the pool open longer and are evaluating the hours. Unfortunately there are several factors we have to consider. Great tip by the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our initial impression of the Donovan wasn't brilliant... We'd booked via lastminute.com and paid in advance, but when we arrived were told that there was a (compulsory) "hotel fee" of $15 per night to cover internet, free coffee and a shuttle in the morning to anywhere within a 1 mile radius. There had been no mention of this when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Mazy1245, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad the staff was able to assist in resolving any issues during your stay. We definitely make mistakes from time to time but will do everything in our power to make it right! I look forward to welcoming you back to The Donovan. Regards, Peter More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

559 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (288)
Viewed
Room/suite (131)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Other (36)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (218)
Viewed
Adult Pool (30)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Double Double Executive Room (6)
Viewed
Executive Suite (5)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (4)
Viewed
King Executive Room (79)
Viewed
King Suite (6)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay