We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Washington DC

6711 Georgia Ave., Washington DC, DC 20012
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 Washington DC
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

This was very unpleasant stay, i ignore all reviews and stayed at this hotel, the room was dirt, have roaches, stinks, the sheets got cigarette burning all over them, the only thing nice is the people at reception, the staff is nice, but the room was horrible, dont ignore the reviews like me, if you can choose stay away go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fabricio A
Negassa R, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill in the guest survey regarding your most recent visit to our property. I appreciate your feedback and I will share it with our team. Our goal is to continually improve our product and services for our valued guests. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit. Have a great... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

I stayed in this motel about a year ago, but the memory is still very vivid. The first impression of the lobby and hallways was that the staff have been sweeping dust in the corners and smearing dirt around for years. That is, there were attempts to clean it, but not very enthusiastic. The price was good, and everything else... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
Negassa R, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill in the guest survey regarding your most recent visit to our property. I appreciate your feedback and I will share it with our team. Our goal is to continually improve our product and services for our valued guests. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit. Have a great... More 

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

This was the only available room in DC the night I stayed. It was very bad. Roaches, people shouting at each other after midnight, had to leave the window due to stale smoky odor, maybe got three hours sleep.

Helpful?
Thank MJArmstrongPierce
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review

MJ, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe. Our staff aims to provide the highest level... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here out of desperation, as all other hotels were booked-out. I understand that Motel 6 is a budget chain, I appreciate that it's meant to be cheap, clean, basic accommodation. With this in mind, the reception staff were rude. When I say that, I don't mean disinterested, I mean they accused me of lying when I said a vending... More 

Helpful?
Thank aaaawaaan
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay due to the inconveniences you experienced. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Having read the handful of positive reviews it is quite obvious that they are bogus. Here's what we got for $109 a night!! The rooms are filthy and run down and a disgrace to Motel 6. Our experience included arriving to our room to find a bag of discarded food and a pile of clothes on the table (including wet... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
Negassa R, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review

Thanks so much for posting a review. I really appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to share your experience with others Sincerely, Negassa Rebu General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Do not stay here especially if you have your children with you, I booked a room for four days here and ended up staying just one night I was so upset at how the maids had treated my six month old son and the fact that when I left my room to go to the cvs across the street a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank MzLady A
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. Please know the circumstances you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Safety... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Went to DC for a weekend and caught the Metro from Union to Takoma. A 10-minute walk later, I was at the Motel 6. The front door is easier accessed through the parking lot but, regardless, I made it! Check in was quick. After hours the door that leads towards the coffee, vending machines, elevator and stairs is locked and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank l337sp34kr
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill in the guest survey regarding your most recent visit to our property. I appreciate your feedback and I will share it with our team. Our goal is to continually improve our product and services for our valued guests. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit. Have a great... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

I see that many others have shared negative reviews, however I'll share mine as well to seal the deal! So, there was a rodent in our room that not only ate our expensive chocolates but nibbled a hole in a very expensive jacket of mine. The worst part was that the staff were very rude about it. When my husband... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Kenton J
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit. I will make sure that your feedback is shared with the rest of the team to ensure we handle things differently in the future. Sincerely, Negassa Rebu General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Bathroom full of Cockroaches. Dirty Rooms, dirty floors, Ugly smell and loud. Bed broken. Most rubbish ans ugliest Motel I ever was. Windows so dirty u cant even look through. If i havent had some beer yet, i would leave immediatly. Dont know how to survive the nicht.

Helpful?
3 Thank k4ckr31z
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review

Dear, Thank you for your feedback and comments about your stay. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay because of various issues. Our Management team considers seriously our customers’ feedback and all the issues you raised have been addressed and all corrective measures have been taken to prevent similar problems. Thank you again for... More 

New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

If the title of my review did not prompt you to start looking for a different hotel and you continue reading, please also note that the bed sheets were not changed before our arrival. They were dirty and there was someone else’s hair on the pillow. And yes, a rodent was running on the floor at night. Thankfully, we only... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank VladVic
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review

VladVic, Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry that you had an unpleasant stay with us as a result of the cleanliness concerns and pest issue you experienced. We would like the opportunity to have a record of your visit with our Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 to further address your concerns and improve our service for future guests. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington DC
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#105 of 138 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#107 of 138 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windsor Park Hotel
#116 of 138 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#112 of 138 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#119 of 138 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay