We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 133 Washington DC hotels

State Plaza Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Up & Go Package
State Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #57 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011
JLRAdventures Scotland
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
There are newer reviews for State Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here with a friend for one night in July 2011 as part of a whistle-stop tour of various US cities. We came from the Amtrak station and used the circulator bus ($1 per journey) which was cheap, clean and efficient. We arrived about an hour before the check-in time but we got to our room straight away. Staff on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel is average at best. First thing, the night we checked in they said it was their policy to charge our credit card the entire price up front. Never in all my travels have I had a hotel charge us up front on the first day. The bathroom was dirty and not cleaned well. Kitchen facilities were okay. Gas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is our goal to hear from our Guests so that we can continue to improve our services. Our policy at check in for credit card payments is to only get a pre-approval for the estimated amount of the entire stay. We do not charge credit cards the entire bill at check in for it... More 

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Every hotel has its problems, this one too. Stayed one night..emailed several times to ask a question about luggage storage, never received an answer. We were in the area the day before check in so I stopped by and asked. The staff (doormen) does seem to be lazy, a handicapped guest asked for assistance to room and he seemed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

The State Plaza Hotel is an unique property. Two large buildings joined by an underground garage between E & F Streets at 21st. I stayed one week while attending a conference and found the hotel to be a great value. Our large room had two very comfortable beds, a kitchenette, small dressing area, small closet and a full bathroom. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremont, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I do not recommend the State Plaza Hotel for business travelers or anyone who likes to have internet access in their hotel room. Despite the management's assertion of internet in the rooms, there is none. Do not believe the manager if he tells you "the engineers are working on it in the basement." Whatever they are doing in the basement,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for this inconvenience of not having internet connection while staying with us. The problem with our server provider for our internet has been fixed and our free internet connection is back in order. I understand this was not available while you were with us but we do take your reviews/comments very seriously... More 

15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

It's nice to have a kitchen as there are not a lot of casual dining places within walking distance. (We didn't rent a car.) There were no pots and pans, and microwave. But you can request these items and they would send them to your room. The dressing area was convenient too for a traveling family. I'd have given 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We regret this inconvenience you've experienced while staying with us. We did have technical difficulties with our internet provider during the week of your stay but have since fixed this issue and our fast and free internet connections have been restored. More 

new york
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night, excellent stay, friendly hotel staff, CVS pharmacy near by, if you walk six blocks to pennsylvania ave, good places to eat, thai restaurant, TGIF etc. One negatvie thing to mention, if you are travelling with a 15 passenger van, it won't fit in there garage, but they have a place where you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I liked the hotel very much: it creates the sense of luxuriance: large, nicely decorated bedroom, separate kitchen room, everything is clean but well-maintained, though not brand-new. Centrally located in Washington. Street bicycles rental next street if anybody is interested )) I was charged twice. I've got 2 alert messages immediately and told the same to the lady at front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Great visit to the Washington DC area. Stayed 3 nights. Large room that had a kitchen area - didn't have lots of pots/pans etc., but enough for a cooked breakfast or simple meal. Grocery store not far. Room was clean and comfortable. King size bed was comfy. Nice and friendly staff. About 4 blocks from White House - nice walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lapeer, Michigan
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The room was very nice, clean, large, with good service. Second room for eating and cooking. Full sized refrigerator, four burner cook stove, NO oven; microwave upon request. Valet parking $30 daily plus tax; parking garage next door. CVS next door, with limited food selection. Unfortunately, Internet connection with wifi and wired was very problematic. Many times NOT working, almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC

219 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (210)
Room/suite (107)
Bathroom (19)
Hotel & grounds (12)
Dining (12)
View from room (5)
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (10)
Room/suite (7)
Hotel & grounds (1)
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay