We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The River Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The River Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    644
    395
    69
    31
    16
See reviews for
377
356
60
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1155)
  • Mar-May only
    (309)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (343)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (317)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (186)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I don't usually review hotels but The River Inn is very deserving of an excellent review/rating. My daughter and I stayed here while looking at George Washington University which is a 5 minute walk from the Inn. Loved the quiet, funky residential neighborhood surrounding the hotel -- like an oasis in the middle of a busy city. Upon checking in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice to have a spacious room to spread out and the beds were comfortable, too. The bathroom window sil could use some clean up but that's a minor complaint given all the pluses: Great location, friendly front desk staff and wi-fi access. Perfect for GW parents.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Everything is simply wonderful about this small hotel, including the location, size of the rooms, price, and restaurant. In fact, I hesitate to reveal just how wonderful it is because it might be too difficult to get a reservation in the future. Most highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terre Haute, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to The Riven Inn and we were pleasantly surprised by the rooms amenities and décor. The location was great and was only 2 blocks from the Metro station, 3 blocks from a beautiful Whole Foods. The area is in a walk-up district but the streets where nice and felt safe while we were there. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pacific
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place had room with kitchen living room. husband i and 2 teenage boys. Highly recommend bringing your bikes. We rode our bikes everywhere. Saw all war memorials and monuments at sunset to start our visit. Allow u to ride on sidwalks. Safe. Security at all the museums bikes in ther view. Beautiful view from our room. Washington monument out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear Outdoortravelfun, Thank you for the great review and we are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with have a terrific location in historic Foggy Bottom within walking distance of Georgetown and the Metro. We hope that you will come back again soon. Joe Giannino General Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the River Inn last month, having booked the hotel 6 weeks ahead of time. I was happy to find a hotel that could accommodate 5 people and booked a room with 2 beds that also included the sofa bed. When we arrived, we were told that room type would only be available the following day, so we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear TazHuss, Thank you for the feedback and I assure you the issue in the room has been resolved - I am truly sorry it had a negative impact on your stay; I fully understand. Please let me know if there is anything further I can assist with - my email is jgiannino@modushotels.com. Again, thank you and I do hope... More 

Hatboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A happy discovery after six years of visiting my oldest while he was at GWU and continued to live in DC afterwards. Last summer he moved to 25th and K and we found The River Inn. It has quickly become our home away from home and preferred place to stay when we are in Washington. I hate to give up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you and nothing makes us more proud than to be considered a home away from home. Our team works hard to build experiences and we are delighted that you found us....I look forward to sharing this with the team. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Joe Giannino General Manager Modus... More 

Westerville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a wonderful stay at the River Inn. Everything was very clean and everyone was extremely helpful and friendly! I don't travel by myself very often and they went out of their way to make me feel comfortable, both behind the desk and in the restaurant. It was nice that it was walking distance from everything. On my second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ginnysart, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and loved our quaint neighborhood - Foggy Bottom - while still be so close to Georgetown and Metro. We recently started the bike program and glad to hear that you enjoyed - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Joe Giannino General Manager Modus... More 

Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was not disappointed by my return stay at the River Inn. The studio queen on the 8th floor was roomy, light, and welcoming. Comfortable bed, good desk to work at, good Wifi and great staff. So attentive and nothing seems too much trouble for them. The kitchenette is a plus to someone staying more than a night or two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rafiki99, Welcome Back and thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us! I will be certain to share with the team. Glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the services of the property along with DISH restaurant - I agree it is a wonderful restaurant. We do hope that you will stay... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a studio queen room on the third floor. The room was very clean, large and comfortable, with a fully-equiped kitchen and bathroom. The staff at the front-desk was also very attentive and helpful. This hotel is equiped with a restaurant that served us a delicious brunch. It also has a very good location, in the midst of Foggy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear Antony, We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our quaint location in Foggy Bottom. Thank you very much for writing a review and I do hope that we get to welcome you back again soon. Joe Giannino General Manager Modus Hotels More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Trader joe(7)
  • Short walk(6)
  • Very clean(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

382 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (187)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (57)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (181)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Corporate Suites (117)
Viewed
Potomac Suites (20)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#17 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#24 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay