We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The River Inn

3.5 of 5 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Hotel website
Special Price
DIRECT BOOK 10% OFF
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The River Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The River Inn
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    329
    54
    28
    15
See reviews for
287
303
53
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (945)
  • Mar-May only
    (234)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (254)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (313)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (144)
All months
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I spent five nights here and it was by far the best accommodation I stayed in during my more than three weeks in the US. Everything positive already written on this place is spot on. Big rooms, great kitchen, immaculately clean, excellent wifi, fantastic staff and great location. The icing on the cake was meeting Keith (the manager of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linz, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I want to commend the staff who go out of their way to make you feel very comfortable. Huge, clean rooms with a seperate kitchen were we made our own breakfast. I realy recommend this hotel for short or longer stays.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

While the River Inn is a bit aged and worn, it is a friendly place in a wonderful location. I stay here several times a year and the service has improved greatly since my last review of a few years ago. I want to commend the staff who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear Honestchobe, Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we are so happy to have had you stay with us so many times over the years. I will certainly pass along your comments to the associates as they love to hear how they impact our guests stay. We look forward to your returning again soon! Joe Giannino General... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were recomended by friends to stay at The River Inn and we were't disappointed. The hotel is in a residential area, about 5 minutes from the metro, and close to many restaurants as well as Trader Joe's supermarket and the brilliant Whole Foods market. We had booked a King size suite and it was huge, with a separate lounge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear Brum Annie, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the wonderful review. I agree that our location to Georgetown, the metro and Whole Foods is great - all this while on nestled in historic Foggy Bottom. We do hope that you return and stay with us again in the future. Joe... More 

Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had picked the River Inn by the Tripadvisor ratings, but they did not hint at how great the River Inn really is in person. From our first encounter at the front desk to the last encounter pulling our luggage to our car, the visit was wonderful. The room was very comfortable and the beds were to die for. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear SaxCheif, Thank your for taking the time to write a review and i am very glad that we exceeded our online reputation. We appreciate the positive feedback and will be certain to share with the Team. Thank you! Joe Giannino General Manager Modus Hotels More 

Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love this place! It is so unique and beautifully green and sparkly at night! We stayed 6 nights recently, and loved the location (2 blocks from Metro, Whole Foods, Trader Joe's and walking distance to Georgetown)! Some of the pros of this hotel are: Great lighting (lots of dimmers on lamps and fixtures) Fantastic bed, one of the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear JulieJ8, Thank you so much for the detailed review and the positive feedback on the property - I will be certain to share with the Team. We did finalize the installation of the pump for the hot water and do apologize for the inconvenience - once we knew of the issue we addressed immediately. We all look forward to... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It´s great for long stays with a family. Rooms come with an ok equiped kitchen, and some of them are one bedrooms. Namely, with a separated bedroom. It is walking distance from a Trader Joe´s, and from a Wholefoods.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear Raul, Thank you for the review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will stay with us again should you return to DC. Joe Giannino General Manager Modus Hotels More 

Brisbane
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a nice hotel. This hotel was in a character street close to the Metro, shops and restaurants. We are a family traveling with 2 Adults and three teenagers. Difficult to find accommodation that fits us all. We booked a 1 bedroom 2 double Suite with sofa bed. To our surprise we all fitted in well (the beds were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear Katalin, Thank you for the wonderful review and we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I was happy to hear the positive comments about the associates and DISH restaurant...I will be certain to pass these along. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Joe Giannino General Manager Modus Hotels More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location that is a five minute walk from Foggy Bottom metro and fifteen to twenty minute walk to Georgetown. Nice rooms, plenty of space, With good desk for work and small kitchenette with refrigerator. Staff was wonderful for directions, help, and even a late checkout when needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear Laine, Thank you for the wonderful 5-Star review. I agree the location to the metro and walking distance to Georgetown make us a perfect spot for those looking to explore DC. We look forward to your returning and staying with us again! Joe Giannino General Manager Modus Hotels More 

Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
18 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on the 5th floor and it was nice and quiet our whole stay. This hotel is located within walking distance of the metro, Whole Foods, and Trader Joes! Loved having a large refrigerator and small kitchenette. This is the first hotel I have stayed in that had whole bean coffee with a coffee grinder in the kitchenette -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joe G, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear Barb, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us - we are all happy that you enjoyed the property, our coffee beans and location in Historic Foggy Bottom. We look forward to your stay with us on a future trip to DC. Thank you Joe Giannino General Manager Modus Hotels More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC

343 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (181)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Corporate Suites (117)
Viewed
Potomac Suites (20)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay