We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 130 Washington DC hotels

The River Inn

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tour of DC Package
Save Saved
You added The River Inn to your Saves list
The River Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
88%
Ranked #14 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Monby Costa Mesa, California
Write a Review

730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    364
    276
    46
    29
    15
See reviews for
211
220
45
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice hotel, great staff! Very accommodating. Close to Georgetown, Trader Joe's, Whole Foods and the metro. There are a few places to eat around the hotel, we tried a few and they were okay. We got some snacks and breakfast items at the stores that helps cut the expense as the restaurants can get pricey. The one thing I do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Hello Monby! Thank you so much for spending time with us at the River Inn! So thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our team here takes great pride in creating memorable stays; it is wonderful to see they were so accommodating! I am happy to see the surrounding neighborhood provided great options for dining and shopping as well.... More

Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I were in DC this past weekend. We decided to stay at this hotel because of its close proximity to the metro. All in all it was a nice hotel, but there are a few things that I'd like to mention. Checking in was fine. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We arrived early in the morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Greetings well-traveled32! Thank you so much for spending time and with us and for the valuable feedback as well. I will make sure to share with our team here and see that the items you mentioned are addressed. I am happy to see that our team here provided a welcoming experience for you. It would mean a great deal to... More

6 webb terrace
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed at the River Inn several times. Quite a bit of remodeling has been completed in the last couple of years. The rooms are very clean , spacious and well decorated.We had a really nice room with a great view of the river and Georgetown. Everyone at the front desk was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The mattresses... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Hello dipsarus! Thank you so much for making the River Inn your hotel of choice when visiting DC! How wonderful to see that our team here was so welcoming and made your stay a pleasant one! I am also excited to see that you enjoyed your accommodations and found them not only to be extremely comfortable but enjoyed the overall... More

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I picked this hotel for its location and having suites with kitchens! At check the staff went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed for a great stay. On the day of departure again they were great with our arrangements. My family enjoyed this hotel and we would come here again. Only down side is the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Greetings Ian D! Thank you so much for spending time with us at The River Inn! I am just thrilled that our team here made your stay with us a memorable one! Our whole team thrives on and is focused on creating amazing stays for our guests. I thank you for the wonderful feedback and I am excited to share... More

Dubbo, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second Washington visit , our first visit was staying at a hotel quite a distance from everything so i used trip advisor to find me something better. Happy we did because this hotel, although a bit older, has so many great attributes. The rooms have a full kitchen and the hotel also has a coin operated laundry-... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Hello Bellsie 17! Thank you so much for spending time with us at The River Inn! I am so pleased that our location made for a great stay. I thank you for the valuable feedback as well. I will certainly share with our team here and ensure we grow stronger from it. I do apologize for the lack of change... More

Lane Cove, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me preface this by saying that, in the end, we had a very nice stay at the River Inn. Had we not switched rooms, this could've been a very different review.. When we first checked in, we were given a room next to a bathroom facility with a partition-type wall (think a sturdier version of the folding panel kind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Hello Heather L! Thank you so much for spending time with us at The River Inn! I am pleased to see that our team rectified your level of accommodations during your visit with us, I will certainly share with the team here and we will grow stringer form this. I am also pleased that our team was able to make... More

Kfar Saba, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the hotel with our 12 years son. The room was big enough. Sleeping Couch where our son slept was very uncomfortable. He complained on back pains after that. Even though I ordered room for 3 person, we have got 3rd set of towels only on the second day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Hello DimaKfarSaba_Israel, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Great feedback regarding the details of your stay and I will most certainly share with the team here. Please keep us in mind when your travels bring you back to the area. It would be wonderful if we had the opportunity to host you once again and create a truly... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel on booking.com and gave our credit card as guarantee. We arrived at 7pm. We were told that since "another group" had decided to stay longer we had been moved to another establishment 1 mile further out of town. We visited the other establishment which was very poor and on top a fast food establishment. The attitude... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Dear TomZunder, Thank you for reaching out in regards to your experience with us. I would like to apologize first and foremost for the clear lapse in communication and even more so for the level of hospitality you experienced. Our team here truly thrives in creating amazing experiences for our guests and I am so sorry that we let you... More

Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel based on experience from reviewers like you for our first family trip to Washington DC for spring break. We needed a nice comfortable place, convenient location for touring, access to public transportation, ample food options, plenty of room for all of us, and something in a nice area that was fairly priced. The River Inn is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Hello Karasdad! All I can say is the pleasure was all ours. I know for a fact that our whole team truly enjoyed having you as our guest and your family truly made an impact on us. It was such a pleasure to chat with you and our whole team is so happy that your stay with us was a... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great hotel for travelling families, some rooms have their own kitchen and the hotel is around the corner from Trader Joe's and other restaurants. Added bonus it has a coin operated laundry.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review

Hello Jed T! Thank you making the River Inn your hotel of choice when visiting DC! We truly are a fan favorite especially with traveling families. With our spacious guest rooms and close proximity to great shopping and dining, our guests have an easy time making the River in their home away from home! Thanks for spending time with us... More

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc
The River Hotel
Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.