We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George Washington University Inn

3.0 of 5 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Special Offer
See DC Tour Package
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
George Washington University Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
George Washington University Inn
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    201
    51
    14
    10
See reviews for
156
123
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (498)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Large rooms, clean and up-to-date (Though not modern). The experience starts on arrival with their friendly and helpful valet/doorman and continues with a cheerful and helpful front desk staff. Within walking distance of Kennedy Center and GWU as well as a number of good restaurants. Excellent internet connection I stayed here for a business trip, but it is a place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Huge room,wonderful staff,we felt at home. GREAT tips from the staff on food, shopping and transportation. Hot chocolate at the lobby after a freezing day out was a real treat! Wi-Fi worked really well.Great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Vera C, Thank you for such a great review. We are overjoyed you had a wonderful stay with us and found the recommendations great as well as enjoyed the hot chocolate we offer in the evenings. Thank you once again, and please think about us the next time you visit Washington DC. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura More 

Nantucket, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for the first time last week. My first pleasant surprise was my room. It was big, clean and well appointed. It was a cold and snowy week - my room was warm and the heating system quiet. The people on the front desk and the doorman were extremely pleasant and made me feel welcome and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Greeting John K, We are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us and found your hotel of choice when visiting our Nation’s Capital. We love being able to surprise our guests with a complimentary upgrade when available. We strive to make our guests feel as welcome and comfortable as possible, and I’m happy we succeeded. We look forward... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We were fortunate to get a good rate the 3rd night after our flight got cancelled. The night before we experienced loud yelling and music from the group next door. We complained to management and believe they did their best to quell the disturbance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello hfmahoney, Thank you for sharing your experience. We would once again like to apologize for the disturbance from your neighbors. We respect and understand our guests’ need for a quiet and peaceful night sleep and put our best effort to ensure this happens. I hope this incident does not deter you from returning to us. At your earliest convenience,... More 

Auburn, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location. Convenient to restaurants, shopping and metro. The rooms are nice, not fancy, but comfortable. I enjoyed a free upgrade to a spacious suite. Staff was very friendly and extremely helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Nancy B, Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We love being able to surprise our guests with a complimentary upgrade, and I’m very happy you enjoyed it. Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Washington DC area. Respectfully, Wil Laura More 

Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

GWU Inn is about a two minute walk from GWU Hospital and the Foggy Bottom Metro station giving it excellent access to all areas of DC and the airports. Our room was very large and comfortable with a kitchenette and spacious bathroom. Staff was very friendly and hot chocolate and snacks were waiting in the lobby when we returned in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Greetings John R from Little Rock, What a wonderful review. We are pleased you found our location perfect, our rooms well equipped, and our wifi fast and reliable, something that can sometimes be as important as a comfortable bed and a clean room. We are thrilled you enjoyed our freshly blended hot chocolate. Having a hot chocolate with marshmallow on... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great price especially considering the location. The valet service is better than all other hotels I've been to, you can actually have a conversation with the guy. Oh and Bryna is like the cutest girl ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Jacob H, Thank you for your kind review. The entire team, especially the valets, had a smile from ear to ear when reading your review. We look forward to welcoming you back! Kindest Regards, Wil Laura More 

singapore
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
68 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

At a hotel like this, you can understand why American reviewers on Tripadvisor complain about the sizes of hotel rooms elsewhere. Just the bathroom alone at this inn is larger than some hotel rooms in London and Paris that you get for the same price. Everything is of a decent standard in the room, and the whole place has a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello AirconditionedNation, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted you found our rooms spacious and were able to enjoy a cup of hot chocolate made in house by our team after returning from a cold day of exploring Washington DC. With regards to the restaurant hours you are correct. Mondays are the only days when we offer only... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my third or fourth stay. As before, we were very pleased with the value. Parking space at the hotel is at a premium, and the valet (only) parking rate reflects that ($45/day with tax). There is free or low-cost street parking available nearby within two blocks or less, though, so it's not an issue. My guess is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Hi V from The Keystone State, From all of us at The George Washington University Inn, thank you so much for continuing to return to us. We are very happy to have you as our guest every time you stay in Washington DC. With regards to parking please note that we offer a “Parking Package” that includes parking at... More 

Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a boutique hotel owned by a smaller company with several properties in DC. Their One Washington Circle and River Inn are a little better. Front Desk, parking valet and everyone connected with the hotel are very customer friendly. Fire alarm rang due to malfunction @ 0700 on Sunday, complimentary breakfast and parking ensued. The decor is dated, small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Greeting Medlife_travel, Our deepest apologies for the fire alarm going off so early. With the extreme cold temperatures, one of our exterior pipes busted that caused the system to go into panic mode. Thank you for accepting our gesture of apology with breakfast and complimentary parking. We hope this does not deter you from returning to us or our other... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to George Washington University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington University Inn

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Washington University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your George Washington University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay