We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 130 Washington DC hotels

George Washington University Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
George Washington University Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added George Washington University Inn to your Saves list
84%
Ranked #40 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
GM20142014 New York City, New York
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    168
    47
    13
    10
See reviews for
132
100
38
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (416)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very convenient to GWU,and Foggy Bottom , a block and a half from the Metro station, this is a quiet hotel, with a convenient driveway that keeps it off the street . It has a slower pace than other hotels in the area, and while the building is a bit dated, the rooms are impeccably clean, and ,judging by mine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello GM20142014, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about The George Washington University Inn. We are very happy to see you found our location ideal for your trip to our Nation’s Capital and were able to take advantage of it. The team is thrilled you mentioned how impeccably clean our rooms were and that you found... More

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just perfect. Great hotel in a quiet part of town. Spotlessly clean. Courteous staff. Tea and coffee plus fridge in the room. Perfect. Just a short walk to Georgetown and a mile or so from the White House. Paid a great rate too. Could not have been better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Greetings Deanandthat from The UK! I am thrilled you had a great time with us and found the hotel “spotlessly clean” as well as enjoyed the short walk to Georgetown and the White House. Please visit us again the next time you visit Washington DC, hopefully soon! Respectfully, Wil Laura More

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first time staying here and it immediately became my new favorite hotel in DC! I started with a free room upgrade and it just kept getting better. Comfortable bed, quiet neighborhood and an accommodating, stellar staff, including housekeeping that washed my kitchenette dishes when I left in a rush every morning. Unexpected but appreciated! They really showed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wil L, Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Amy S, Thank you so much for the kind review. I appreciate your comments regarding our team, our rooms, and the service we were able to provide. I am thrilled the team was able to take care of you when you fell ill. I hope everything worked out at the end. Please visit us again the next time you... More

Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Working long, busy, exciting days - starting early, staying late, with few quiet moments in between - coming back to the GW Inn was a great way to re-energize for tomorrow. The staff is friendly and helpful, the wifi is solid (and included), the location is outstanding, and the rooms are spacious, good-looking, and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Alex H, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We truly appreciate it. I am glad we were able to re-energize you after a long day at work; that’s what we’re here for! I’m delighted you found our recently upgraded complimentary Wi-Fi solid. We understand how important having a good connection is especially after a long... More

Adams, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have to tell you we had such a great stay!!!! We checked in on an Sunday afternoon and checked out on a Thursday morning. We had a one bedroom suite. I was BEAUTIFUL!!! We were on the front of the building. Our room was spotless everyday when we came "home". I encountered a lot of the staff.....I was up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Laurablanchard2014, We are overjoyed you found your overall hotel stay great! It means a lot to us to know we are doing a great job at what we love to do. I am happy most of the team managed to meet and interact with you. We are people persons so the more people we are lucky enough to interact... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend and I from England stayed here for a week. The room was a little dated but spacey and including all the amenities. The only negative was the noisy fridge. The hotel is within walking distance of the national mall and monuments. The staff were all very friendly and accommodated for our late check out. Would definitely stay here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Greetings JellyJader, Thank you for choosing us during your week long trip to Washington DC. I am very sorry your refrigerator was noisy throughout your stay with us. I can imagine how annoying that must have been. We are in the process of inspecting all our rooms and appliances that need to be serviced or replaced. Thank you for looking... More

Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel a good value and in a good location, but avoid room 103. We were down for 2 double beds, but I asked if they had a king with a sofa bed or something of that nature. They said only in the suite and upgraded us for no charge (we had booked on hotwire). But about midnight I noticed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello AttorneyChrisCarr, I apologize you did not enjoy your stay in room 103. You are correct, room 103 is the only room that is above our garage door which we typically only use on rare occasions due to the noise. One of our main goals is to ensure our guests have a good night sleep. I am truly sorry we... More

Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I liked that the hotel was smaller, personal and very quite. The location is perfect - beautiful and safe neighborhood, walking distance to many attractions, and a two minute walk to the metro (and the silver line directly to and from Dulles Airport), to places to eat/drink and to the GW campus. My room would benefit from a remodel but... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Hadas E, Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent visit to The George Washington University Inn; the team loves the size of the hotel. It’s the perfect size where we are able to offer a personalize stay to all our guests and truly get to know them. I am happy you had a pleasant stay... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel as the staff was very friendly and helpful, my room was spacious and clean, and well worth the room rate. The location of this hotel is also very good as it is very close to the subway station (Foggy Bottom), in a nice environment, not far from Georgetown and at about 20-25... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Greetings Gastro76, Thank you for your review. The team is very happy you found not only our rooms clean and worth the rate but also found them friendly and helpful, an areas they strive to accomplish. Thank you for staying with us and please visit us again the next time you are in Washington DC. Thank you, Wil Laura More

allansford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location near the University, close to most city sites and near the metro for easy movement around the city. Older hotel, but very clean and we were up-graded to larger room. Front desk helpful and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Ms. Josephine L, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. While we are not the newest hotel in town, we put all our efforts making sure our rooms are both comfortable and clean. I am very happy you found the front desk team friendly and helpful, it means a lot... More

Do you own or manage George Washington University Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to George Washington University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington University Inn

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Washington University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your George Washington University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near George Washington University Inn