We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 130 Washington DC hotels

George Washington University Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added George Washington University Inn to your Saves list
George Washington University Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
84%
Ranked #42 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
AttorneyChrisCarr Las Vegas
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    164
    47
    13
    10
See reviews for
130
99
37
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel a good value and in a good location, but avoid room 103. We were down for 2 double beds, but I asked if they had a king with a sofa bed or something of that nature. They said only in the suite and upgraded us for no charge (we had booked on hotwire). But about midnight I noticed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I liked that the hotel was smaller, personal and very quite. The location is perfect - beautiful and safe neighborhood, walking distance to many attractions, and a two minute walk to the metro (and the silver line directly to and from Dulles Airport), to places to eat/drink and to the GW campus. My room would benefit from a remodel but... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel as the staff was very friendly and helpful, my room was spacious and clean, and well worth the room rate. The location of this hotel is also very good as it is very close to the subway station (Foggy Bottom), in a nice environment, not far from Georgetown and at about 20-25... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Greetings Gastro76, Thank you for your review. The team is very happy you found not only our rooms clean and worth the rate but also found them friendly and helpful, an areas they strive to accomplish. Thank you for staying with us and please visit us again the next time you are in Washington DC. Thank you, Wil Laura More

allansford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location near the University, close to most city sites and near the metro for easy movement around the city. Older hotel, but very clean and we were up-graded to larger room. Front desk helpful and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We're staying here for a second night (of four) and our experience so far is terrible. My girlfriend and I are bitten all over our body, most probably bed bugs (room 810). Personnel did not give the impression to be surprised and sent us off telling us the room would be inspected. After a short 'check', another room further down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Roeland M, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant first two days with us. We are relieved that with the help of our pest control company we were able to determine that no pests were present in your... More

High point
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay. We loved the location the hotel is in ... It's walking distance to the train that takes you to see all Washington D.C offers . The restaurants are also walking distance. The neighborhood has some history to it which makes it even more interesting. I really didn't want to leave :( If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello DoWrigthsqueen! Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to complete your review. The team and I are very happy you enjoyed your stay, and we were equally as sad to see you leave. Great recommendation on Founding Farmers; It’s one of those restaurants within walking distance where everyone comes back with a smile. Hope to see... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived late and our only snafu was the parking situation - but we were quickly accommodated. The room was very nice and we even received a complimentary upgrade due to our trip being a celebratory one. The staff was very friendly and helpful! The kitchenette was perfect for our stay - every thing was tidy, the guides for what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Ms. RuthM, Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure being able to offer you a complimentary upgrade for the special occasion that brought you to us. Thank you for choosing us and for the room tips for our future guests. We agree the rooms facing Georgetown have a great view. Respectfully, Wil Laura More

CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent several days at the GWU Inn and found it delightful. The staff is friendly and responded immediately with any requests we made. It has a pre-modern charm (no garish paint jobs, attractive and comfortable furniture), quiet and effective air conditioning (critical in DC in the summer), and enough of a kitchen (in a suite) to handle breakfasts and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello ORW CT, We are very happy you found our hotel delightful and described us as charming! We like to think of ourselves as a decidedly distinctive and charming hotel in the Foggy Bottom area, and are thrilled you thought the same. We are equally as happy that you found the hotel a place you could relax and calm down... More

Buffalo, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Moved daughter out of summer apt. Valet parking was great and with an AAA membership it was half price!!! Convenient location and relatively short walk to the Kennedy Center and Lincoln Memorial. Our room was very large and roomy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello Ms Linda from Buffalo NY! Thank you for staying with us while moving your daughter out of her summer apartment. I hope she had a wonderful time living in our Nation’s Capital and hope you both return to stay with us again. Kindest, Wil Laura More

Vinhedo, SP
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I didn't like very much, but I have to say this was a very comfortable hotel. If you are able to walk, you can reach public transportation in 10 minutes. There are many restaurants ans markets nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wil L, Hotel Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review

Hello MRental, Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry you did not like the hotel very much but happy you found the hotel comfortable, and our location great due to the many public transportation alternatives as well as the many restaurants and markets. I hope you will give us another chance to wow you in the future. Respectfully,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage George Washington University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to George Washington University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington University Inn

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Washington University Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your George Washington University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Washington DC with
any amenities