We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
10 I Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Capitol Skyline Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

982 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked through a third party site for my mother's birthday celebration. Justin at the Front desk was courteous and pleasant. Parking is free and private. Beds were very comfortable. We choose an upper level floor. Ask for a Capitol side view. We took the 7:30 am courtesy shuttle which was very nice and comfortable. It was a short 10... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarylandBeachBabe
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So the highly is the rooms are pretty nice and the front desk girl was super nice but that's all I can say positive about this place. The other people staying here look like they might be renting by the month and the floor I stay on (7), lookalike the ceiling just collapsed and the mess was cleaned up this... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla A

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Vista, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Could not cool off the room at all. Was not notified major remodeling was going on and my room, although refurbished, smelled like paint. The work crew started at 7 AM which is totally unacceptable. The restaurant was only open for breakfast and the internet was too slow to use. No coffee pot in room. For the price of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
CapskyGM, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay had the challenges that it had. Our hotel has a two-pipe system which means, because of the variations of temperature this time of the year in our area from day to night, we keep the chiller off. We are working toward improving an already quality product. After our current renovations are complete we will... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The management try hard and it's going to be a nice area when all the building work nearby has been completed. My only issue is that it didn't have that vibe of other guests being on vacation or staying for business. It appeared staying there for social reasons. Don't get me wrong they caused no bother it just simply didn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TheBlackmores
CapskyGM, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments. We here at the Capitol Skyline cater to guests from all walks of life who are here for numerous reasons. We have guests who are here on vacation, business, city tours, and much more. We are glad that you foresee the area being much improved once the neighboring development is further along. We plan... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

To start, as soon as we walked into the room the heat was on full blast and was about 90+ degrees. We tried turning the a/c on and it wouldn't go cold. So we called downstairs and were informed it could only be turned off. We thought that would be ok. We turned it off and left for the day.... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Christy C
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a good hotel, good big bedroom, I loved the bed. However I didn't expect less than this, because this hotel is not so cheap. I had same problems with my neighbors. They were noisy and I they were smoking, although the hotel is tobacco free. And the wifi is really really bad, you need to pay an upgrade... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luisa R
CapskyGM, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed the size of our rooms as well as the comfort of our beds. We apologize for any issues you had with any other guests. I understand avoiding confrontation but our staff is here to assist and ensure you have a safe, comfortable, and enjoyable stay. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Capital Skyline. The hotel was very close to the main sites (less than a mile from capital building) and we had underground parking with easy access to our room from the basement. The staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with a great view if you choose the city view rooms. Almost... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MIKE N
CapskyGM, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are fortunate to be in a great location relative to the National Mall. We hope that you truly do consider staying with us again the next time you are in our nation's capitol. Our renovation of our guest rooms and public space will be completed by this Spring.... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Location is very inconvenient; you can't walk 🚶 to Capitol because its a busy highway. To get to Navy park underground station, you have to negotiate a very tricky traffic lights. Neighbourhood is full of construction sites, empty and uninviting. Shuttle partially compensates for these inconveniences. Rooms are very tired, no soundproof, breakfast very basic. Bottom line: avoid by all... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Marina S
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thought regarding the Capitol Skyline Hotel and your most recent stay. Although we very much respect how you felt, we would like to share our views on location and your other comments. To go to the Capitol, it is approximately 5 blocks away. Although there is a highway, there are two ways to go, both... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was clean, beds was comfortable. Parking was ok, since it was December they had a special, we didn't have to pay for parking during our stay. So if you book this hotel please ask about parking and the price. It was close to downtown D.C. and the view of the capitol building was amazing from our room. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennia H
CapskyGM, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the holiday season. We are glad you had an enjoyable experience with us. Our location and the comfort of our guest rooms are definite positives regarding staying with us. Our recent upgrade of all new guest room windows enhance the views of the surrounding city. Enjoy the rest of 2015 and... More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful, check in and out was easy, the room was comfortable (nothing special, but for a tourist just hoping for a good nights sleep and then spending the days being touristy it was more then good enough), located fairly near a metro station so it was easy to get to/ from the airport,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BenEdgell
CapskyGM, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review

Our staff is our greatest asset. We are pleased that you found them helpful. Our location is convenient to most of our guests due to the proximity of public transportation, the National Mall, and access to the interstate. The work that you witnessed is our going through the process of a renovation. By spring time we will have a new,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

423 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Capitol Double Full Room (32)
Viewed
Capitol View King Room (39)
Viewed
Capitol View King Room with Futon (38)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#106 of 137 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#80 of 137 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,908 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#110 of 137 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#22 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#112 of 137 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hil...
#54 of 137 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay