We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akwaaba DC

1708 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Akwaaba DC
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Akwaaba DC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    48
    5
    8
    1
See reviews for
30
151
31
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (303)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
There are newer reviews for Akwaaba DC
See the most recent reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

When we travel, we prefer staying at the family-like atmosphere of B&B’s and Akwaaba B&B in DC was perfect for us. The location is 10 minutes’ walk to Dupont Circle metro which is close to many interesting restaurants, and 20 minutes’ walk to the White House. Perfect for us since we didn’t have a car. We booked the charming and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

During a visit to Washington DC this July we were fortunate enough to book a two night stay at the Akwaaba Inn. As fellow innkeepers we were not disappointed. At our small B&B in Charleston, SC, we make every effort to treat our guests as family with true Southern hospitality. Akwaaba Inn afforded us the same experience. It is well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have stayed at over a dozen B&B's around the country in the last few years. Many of them are historic homes. Two days before our stay here we had stayed at an antebellum home in Baltimore that was beautiful (see Scarborough Fair). The reason that I mention this is that our complaints about this B&B were explained/rationalized because it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
bnbaccomDC, Owner at Akwaaba DC, responded to this review

As overwhelmingly evidenced by our reviews, we pride ourselves on exceeding the expectations of our guests. We are terribly saddened this guest felt we fell short. When the guest checked out a day early, she did so saying she was going to spend time with a friend. Had we had any inkling it was because she was unhappy with our... More

greenville, sc
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed at Akwaaba for three nights last week. Joanna, the inkeeper, was spectacular. She was always smiling, welcoming, and totally attendant without being intrusive. Need directions? She prints them out without you asking. Dinner recommendations? She has a plethora. Any special requests re: breakfast? Just ask. What an asset to have someone like her running an inn. We stayed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Independence, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Pros: Joanna, the host, was very welcoming, sweet as could be, and extremely helpful in recommending restaurants. We loved the location: a very safe neighborhood to walk in, good selection of restaurants just around the corner and within walking distance of the White House. Cons: We paid $400 per night for 6 adults. We knew ahead of time that this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bnbaccomDC, General Manager at Akwaaba DC, responded to this review

It is always difficult to hear a guest at Akwaaba has had an experience that was less than their expectation. We all work hard to make every guest’s stay relaxed, comfortable, and as stress- free as possible. The Writers suite is a self-contained, private-entrance apartment, however, the Innkeeper operating the B&B part of Akwaaba in DC is always available to... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My bride and I spent the night here after our wedding. It was beautiful and the staff and other guests were wonderful. My wife couldn't stop talking about the decor and the tasty food. We've already recommended it to others. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Akwaaba was a fantastic B and B to stay in Washington. excellent accommodation and great service from Johanna. She made us feel very welcome, answered all our questions, guided us to great restaurants in the local area. The breakfasts were huge and delicious and we enjoyed talking to other tourists at breakfast and getting good tips from them. We would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011 via mobile

My best friend and I booked this luxurious bed and breakfast and we were a bit hesitant prior to arrival. Since this is our first B&B experience we didn't know what to expect. You'll be asking yourself what a hotel is after you've stayed here. The Innkeeper, Joanna, is an absolute gem! She is just as kind as helpful as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We spent 4 nights in the romantic Inspiration room at Akwaaba. What a charming inn! Well located in Dupont Circle, around the corner from 17th St restaurants, 20 minute walk down to the White House. The other rooms we peeked in at were lovely, some were quite large. The Inspiration Room was located on the top floor, so may not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a week, and it was amazing! The home-cooked breakfasts were excellent, our inn-keeper was charming, helpful, and accommodating, and the rooms were beautifully decorated and well-furnished. On top of it all, they offer complimentary wine and snacks between 5-7pm daily for "happy hour." All just a 7-minute walk away from the Dupont Circle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Akwaaba DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba DC

Address: 1708 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Akwaaba DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Dc Hotel Washington Dc

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Other (28)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay