We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Residence Inn Washington, DC\/Foggy Bottom
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

561 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband stayed here for a month for work. I visited with our kids for two weeks in August. I've been meaning to write a review, we had a wonderful stay. As mentioned, the hotel is older but very clean and the staff is awesome! My kids loved the buffet breakfast. It is a quick walk to the Foggy Bottom... More 

Helpful?
Thank goodsarah03
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Selected this hotel because of it's proximity to the University and great deal which we got by using the Hotels Tonight App. Great Location with free overnight street parking easy to find. Clean and bright lobby. Older hallways and rooms but very clean. Nice large room with separate bedroom, living room and kitchen. Would definately reccomend if visiting GWU.

Helpful?
Thank SusanKNewYork
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had tickets to see Mel Brooks at the Kennedy Center. The Residence Inn is less than a 10 minute walk, so the location was perfect. Our room had a large living room, a mid-size kitchen, and a large bedroom. There was plenty of lighting and seating, along with two HD TV's. The furniture looked pretty new. The bathroom had... More 

Helpful?
Thank jerrys01
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while on a quick weekend visit to DC in January. We had a few museums that we still needed to go to and took the weekend after the blizzard to visit the city. This hotel was a complete surprise. We found a great deal on a room on the hotel tonight... More 

Helpful?
Thank arapower
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

Hello Arapower! Thank you so much for you amazing and thorough review. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel! We hope to see you in the near future when you decided to come back to Washington, DC. Best, More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for one night, and overall it was a good experience. The staff was friendly, and the hotel was quiet and clean. Look for room rates that include the parking fee. It will save you a few dollars. The valet attendant was quick in getting our car. Just give them about 10 minutes. There a several restaurants... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom R
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

Hi Tom! I must admit, Soi 38 is one of my favorite Thai restaurants in the city. I am glad you enjoyed it. I will be sure to pass on you kind comments to the staff. We are glad you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you soon. Best, More 

Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Good: Overall, I was happy with this hotel. The staff was extremely nice and honored my request for late checkout. I liked hanging out in the lobby at night. It had a long breakfast bar with nicely upholstered chairs, which made me feel like I was in a private home. The neighborhood is also very much residential. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay P
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

Hello Jay P, Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback helps us for areas of improvement. We wish to see you soon. Best, More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While the staff was extremely accomodating, the hotel struck me as very average. We were there during an abnormally warm period of time in December. The heating system was turned on, and the rooms were terribly uncomfortable since the system is one of those central systems where you cannot control it from your room. We tried opening windows, but, they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bigger32
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

Hello Bigger32, Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and for the problems encountered. We try very hard to make each guest's visit stellar and are disappointed you were not impressed in that way. Hopefully you will give us another opportunity on a return visit to the city. Warm regards, More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

Great location you are in walking distance of a wholefoods and train station. Just avoid any room next to the elevator. Very friendly staff and breakfast was great. Parking is too expensive $40.00 a night plus tax.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jetro N
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

Hi Jetro N, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, More 

Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in November to look at colleges for our daughter, because the hotel has a good location. Rooms are very clean and spacious, breakfast was good and included. At check in we were already wondering about their "no party policy" on display on the desk. We figured that out in our 2nd night, as there was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MH_Princeton
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

Hi MH_Princeton, Thank you for your comments. We do apologize that other guests disturbed your rest on the 2nd night of your stay. I am happy that you were satisfied with our resolution. Warm regards, More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Rooms are larger than typical DC hotel rooms. Furnished about a typical Residence Inn. Decent free breakfast. Sometimes have manager's receptions with free drinks and snacks. Decent view from the rooftop pool during the summer. Close to the Foggy Bottom Metro stop. I've been here several times for work, and never had a problem.

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam D
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to having you again. Warm regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#18 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#52 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#44 of 137 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay