We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown

3.0 of 5 1199 Vermont Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    141
    39
    14
    12
See reviews for
106
73
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (338)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed at Residences Inn's often enough to say this is the lowest spectrum. Its in walking distance to the White house and to the convention center even in November cold weather but the room is very minimal. If cost is important and you do not want to travel to Arlington to save money, its not a bad option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyla C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that our rooms were not as you had hoped. Our hotel recently went through a full renovation in all of our public areas-breakfast room, meeting rooms, business center and fitness center-as well as upgraded all of the appliances in every guest room to stainless steel and installed new bathrooms in the... More

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took over 50 people to a conference in DC and Residence Inn accommodated all of us with ease. Our group arrived in two large waves and the front desk checked us in efficiently & quickly. The breakfast room was a a large, comfortable space that was available at all times. It was extremely useful for us to meet in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyla C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that your large group got taken care of efficiently and that they all enjoyed their stay with us! We try our best to plan ahead for large groups in hopes to cut down on issues and wait times. We're also glad your group utilized our newly renovated guest spaces... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was my first trip as a tourist to Washington DC. The location is a very short walk from the White House which leads onto all other attractions. If this hotel isn't your cup of tea and you are going to DC as a tourist I recommend looking for something around e,f,g,h street but no higher than L street where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyla C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments! I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your spacious room and the large refrigerator too! Our hotel being located very close to the metro is convenient for our guests and a great way to get around the city, without the hassle of having to deal with traffic. We hope to have... More

San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for 1 night while in DC in business. This is a very good hotel for its price point. The suites are large, clean, and well-maintained with a desk, fridge, microwave, etc. The bathroom was slightly dated, but clean and functional. The breakfast was included, and was standard fare (eggs, breakfast meats, waffles, etc.). Internet speeds were excellent!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kyla C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your room, our breakfast and the complimentary high speed wireless internet. It's very important for our business travelers to have reliable internet service so I'm glad to hear you had no issues with it and that it worked seamlessly! We hope to have you as our guest... More

redondo beach
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We loved this place! Close to everything and right next to a CVS . Everyone traveling with kids knows how important a 24 hour CVS can be. Rooms were big and clean. Also kitchen was perfect ! Free breakfast rocked ! You must try the fresh waffles .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyla C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I agree with you that the waffles are delicious! We hope to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Management More

Union Grove, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Great breakfast. Buffet that changes daily. Ranges from fruit to gravy and everything in between. Staff was pleasant. Good suggestions for dinner. Housekeeping was GREAT, room was clean and coffee, shampoo etc was replaced daily. Loved having the fridge to store drinks. Did not use fitness room or parking The first day we walked to and from the Lincoln Memorial... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kyla C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast buffet - the selection is varied so that all of our guests are taken care of. Our Housekeeping staff is often overlooked for their services so thank you for recognizing them! I will be sure that they are given your praise. We look forward... More

Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding, 2 nights. The complaints are all with the room - everything else was great, especially for the price. The room smelled extremely musty, perhaps even as if it was a smoking room, though I doubt that's the case. It was dark - the only window was about 10-15 ft from another building, so needed more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyla C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! I apologize that your guest room wasn't more to your liking. Unfortunately, all of our rooms have queen sized beds; there are no king beds in the entire hotel so I apologize if that's what your confirmation noted. I am glad to hear however, that our staff was helpful and friendly and that the location... More

Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

This place was friendly as could be. The guest services checked me in quickly and provided me with area info. Negatives....valet parking only and it's $33 plus parking tax per night, so $38 a day to park. Glad I was on business. It is walking distance to so many places to eat its hard to choose. Someone recommended Churchkey down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyla C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! You are correct that there are many options for dining within walking distance to the hotel, and we are very lucky in that respect. I'm glad the Front Desk suggested one that you enjoyed, in the very popular "14th Street Corridor", which is the emerging area for restaurants in downtown DC. We hope you choose... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and were very happy. The room was HUGE and very clean. Also, the location is a big plus. We were able to walk to all the important sights like the White House and the National Mall. There is a 24 hour CVS right next door, which is great because there was an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyla C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are lucky that our hotel is situated so close to everything a leisure traveler would want to see in DC. I apologize about the price of our Valet parking but it is very comparable with other downtown DC hotels. Parking in the city is at a premium and that is why our pricing is... More

Paradise Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We needed a hotel room large enough for our family of 6 that was close to the White House for our early morning tour. This hotel proved perfect! It is a doable walk, meaning you will get a bit of exercise on your way to the White House, which is a good thing. We walked the few blocks to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyla C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Our large guest rooms are great for families such as yours and I'm glad you enjoyed them. Having a large fridge in the in-room kitchen also helps with keeping drinks and snacks handy for the entire family. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our full breakfast too. We hope to have you as our... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown

Address: 1199 Vermont Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington Dc / Vermont Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Residence Inn Vermont Ave
Washington Dc Residence Inn

293 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (172)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (19)
Viewed
Studio (81)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay