We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Washington DC accommodations

Hostelling International - Washington, DC

1009 11th Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$3 off room rate
Save Saved
You added Hostelling International - Washington, DC to your Saves list
Hostelling International - Washington, DC
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
73%
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    119
    56
    16
    14
See reviews for
9
27
121
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We felt this place was a great value. We have a private room with bathroom. The room was huge with a kitchenette and nice bathroom. It's older to expect quarks. The beds were not comfortable, but good enough. The elevator is the slowest you will ever come across, just take the stairs if you can. We did have trouble with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review

Krissycz: All of us at HI-DC are thrilled that you valued your experience with us so highly! Thank you for passing that along. Yes, our elevator is very slow, but we just received approval to modernize it, which will happen in January / February 2015. Woo-hoo! Key cards are a challenge in DC with all of the surveillance and scanning... More

Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hostel in great location but there was NO HEAT OR HOT WATER!!! I stayed here for over a week and every day except one there was NO hot water to shower and NO heat in the rooms, so we had to sleep in VERY cold room! Temperatures in D.C. at night are in 30s or 40s! It was VERY... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review

Vee B: I am truly sorry about your experience. A comfortable environment is essential to a good stay and healthy night's rest. There is no excuse for the cold room. We should have fixed that immediately. The water, though, has been a challenge for us. The water heater has been having trouble for several days. We have had experts come... More

Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel had a friendly staff, nice beds, and good showers. While there we used the kitchen, which was well equipped and the dining area was large. They had a good breakfast, pool table and TV room. The hostel is 7 blocks from the mall and a short walk from Chinatown and metro.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review

Miliarda: All true! :-) Thank you for sharing your experience with us. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager More

Jundiai, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is very well located and clean. The bunk beds are confortable, the bathroom is clean and organized and there is a good TV room and lounge. The kitchen is well equiped and breakfast is simple but you can have as much as you want.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review

Fyassko: Thanks for the note and kind comments. We aim to please! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager More

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I went there at october, but there still has many guests. Their room was clean, the people stayed there was nice. Stuff was nice too, one stuff gave me a free ticket for soccer game and taught me how to get there. I'd love to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review

mimimasami: Thanks for the great note! I'm so glad the HI-DC team was able to do that nice thing for you! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager More

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hostel is very well equipped with a great kitchen, decent breakfast, comfy beds and good showers. Plug sockets and I individual lights on each bed. The tours are pretty interesting and free, pub crawl to Dupont Circle was great, George town tour was also good. The only negative for this hostel is the slightly frosty reception staff who treated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review

Dandrews101: Thank you for your lovely review. All of us at HI-DC are happy that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. I agree: Our Volunteers are do an amazing job hosting events at our hostel and tours around the city. I am so sorry to hear that you were not greeted warmly by every member of the team. Usually,... More

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

First, the positives: The staff were very friendly and helpful to questions about finding places in DC. The location is great, a short walk from the metro and Chinatown - quick to get to any of the popular DC tourist spots. The bathrooms, when I used them, always seemed to be quite clean and well looked after. Organised activities available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review

PerthBoy2014: Thank you for discussing your time with us at HI-DC. I am glad to read that the HI-DC team made you feel welcome and that you enjoyed our activities. Yes, the vibrations you felt are an issue in one of our guestrooms. I am so sorry that you had to experience that. We have a motor on our roof... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I'm a college student from L.A. and I was in DC for a medical conference. I must say this place was completely terrible. From the first moment I walked in, the staff was rude and they had a very bad attitude. Then, I go upstairs to the bathroom and there is throw up everywhere and guy who is passed out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review

Chris870: I am truly sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay at HI-DC, but I want to thank you for your very insightful feedback, and for providing some context for what was good about your experience. We did have a sick guest who was getting medical treatment, and that was probably the man whom you saw. I spoke... More

Hasselt, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We really liked this hostel. We stayed here for a week during the winter holidays. The employees are kind, helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was pretty great too: bagels, bread, jam, apples, cornflakes, juice, coffee,... We stayed in a 10-bed mixed dorm. The beds were clean, the rooms were decent (although it was a little cold at night, but we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review

Bibsel: You really covered a lot of ground in your thorough -- and wonderful! -- review. Thanks for sharing your experiences and providing such good travel tips to Trip Advisor's readers! I have good news about the Wi-Fi. Since your visit, we finished our upgrade, and free Wi-Fi is now available throughout the hostel, and with vastly faster speeds. The... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Older building, and shows its age in the rooms and bathrooms. Despite this its in a great location for exploring Washington, and most places are a walkable distance with some comfortable shoes. I was in a 10bed dorm, which was well structured to make you feel like it was less; but I was initially placed in a odd bunk bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review

little_chunkyJ: True, our building is old, but it's chock full o' love! :-) Thanks for the notes and tips to our readers. Our location is truly a benefit, keeping almost all of the major DC sites within walking distance. And our team is the best around. OK, I'm completely biased on that one... We do have a few remaining bunk... More

Been to Hostelling International - Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Washington, DC

Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Hostelling International - Washington, Dc Hotel
Address: 1009 11th Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-DC is the best value in DC! Our dorm-style and private rooms bring together international and domestic budget travelers in a safe, clean, and fun environment. We have a long list of FREE amenities and an unbeatable location - just 8 blocks to The White House and The National Mall (home to world-famous monuments, museums, and galleries), 4 blocks to China Town, and 3 blocks to the Metro. It's the only Energy Star Certified hostel anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International - Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - Washington, DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.