We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1917 Bladensburg Road NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #100 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Suezc
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    78
    30
    19
    8
See reviews for
78
50
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (200)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I read the many reviews before choosing Holiday Inn Express. Most of them said great hotel for money and convenient location, but it was everything but that! The hotel is dirty with many broken or damaged pieces of furnace that make up the sub par room. The area felt so dangerous that we ordered in every night so not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review

Dear Sarah - Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Guest comfort, and safety are our top priorities. We are sorry to see you had a disappointing stay as what you experienced is not typical for our hotel. We hope you can accept our sincerest apologies for the unpleasant experience you had. Rest assured these... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was amazing! Everyone was incredibly friendly! The room was clean. Room had a fridge, microwave, and sink. Delicious free breakfast. The neighborhood was a little rough but the hotel offers a free shuttle to Union Station. Felt very safe and comfortable in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review

Dear Suezc; Thank you for the very kind review and wonderful feedback for us. I am delighted to see that the hotel was a great fit for your travel needs and you had a wonderful experience. We strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction and will gladly share your comments with the team to let them know we exceeded your expectations.... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love this hotel, the staff and the rooms are always amazing. I stayed one night with a group of friends and we thought we could have multiple parking passes, but unfortunately we could only obtain 2 due to an event in the area which left one of our friends frantically looking for a place to park his car. While... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review

Dear Mari_international; Thank you for the wonderful review and for sharing your trip with us. I am so pleased to see that you and your friends had a great time at our hotel and appreciate you selecting the Holiday Inn Express as your place to stay while attending an event at Echo Stage. I'll share your feedback with the team... More 

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is good if you want to see the sites but don't want the expense of staying in a hotel downtown. Driving from the hotel to downtown was a pretty easy 10-minute drive, or the hotel offers a shuttle several times a day to/from Union Station. The included breakfast included a wide variety of options. The room was typical,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review

Dear Siusanne; Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Customer satisfaction is very important us and we'd like to apologize that you were faced with less than exemplary service and your stay was not up the professional standards we adhere to everyday. We appreciate your feedback and bringing this to our... More 

Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We stayed for a night just to feel the washington atmosphere. In overall, the hotel provides all you need as a traveler: Good bed, Calm place, breakfast, free shuttle to station, next to bus stop and its located next to Tacobell/KFC.... If you travel by car, the hotel is next to gas station. This Hotel offers a cash+point package. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review

Dear Wishtrav; Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast was a great fit for your travel needs. Our goal is to provide a great value with clean, comfortable guestrooms and a friendly guest experience, I am delighted... More 

Whitby, Ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Outrunning a Canadian snowstorm, we made it to the the north end of DC by nightfall. This hotel was minutes from the parkway and offered us shelter and a wonderful breakfast. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was large and well-stocked. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review

Dear Carol; Thank you for your review and feedback. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your night with us and found the hotel was conveniently located, the accommodations clean and comfortable, and the hot breakfast a great way to start your day. Thank you for your business, should your travels bring you through the DC area again, we... More 

Lexington Park, Maryland, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

My husband & I stayed here while I under went pre-op tests and heart surgery at MEDSTAR Washington Hospital Center. The hotel offers a scheduled free shuttle back & forth to the hospital. My surgery was scheduled before the normal shuttle, but management graciously got a driver to deliver us to the hospital, plus a driver for a unscheduled run... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review

Dear Phyllis; Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.  It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We understand when a loved one is in the hospital and it is our pleasure to assist you and your family during your stay. I... More 

Toano, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I am currently staying at this property with two 12-year-olds. This is not our first trip to Washington DC, but this is by far the worst hotel that we have stayed at. First let me start with the pros: 1. There is good variety at the breakfast and the staff at breakfast was wonderful. 2. The shower drains well and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review

Dear Ellyn; I’d like to thank you for taking the time to reach out to me and express your concerns regarding your stay. We care deeply for our customers and guest comfort and satisfaction is very important to us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you had as our guest. I appreciate you bringing these items to... More 

Mahopac, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We stayed in a double queen suite, a slight price increase over a standard double queen room, but comes with a couch, second TV, small kitchen prep area with microwave, fridge and sink, and a table with two chairs in addition to the typical room amenities. We traveled with two kids, so the indoor pool was a huge bonus. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review

Dear Marty: Thank for taking the time to share your trip with us. I am so pleased to see that you had a great stay and found the hotel, staff, and services were just what you needed for a perfect stay. I appreciate the extra tips for area restaurants for our future guests. Thank you again for being our guests,... More 

Miami
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Family visit to DC and I did a very confuse reservation, Michaela was extremely nice and solve all the issues. They have a shuttle that can be used even will be much better to have a car due the distance to the city landmark aren't in the corner. Look for a room that don't face the avenue, noise!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review

Dear OCZ; Thank you for selecting our hotel as your place to stay while visiting Washington DC. As a valued guests, we are very pleased to see that the staff and service provided made for a pleasant experience. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city. Thank you again for your business, Sarah e-Commerce Manager... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

307 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (264)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
King Suite (65)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question