We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    93
    47
    25
    13
See reviews for
48
48
9
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This Westin has a modern, high ceiling lobby. The rooms are fairly standard, nothing too modern in the furniture, though. The bedding, mattress, and pillows are very comfortable per standard Westin hotels. The room was very quiet for the area. The concierge/check-in staff and valet were friendly and helpful. Parking is valet or garage (though I could not figure out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sean H, Front Office Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review

Dear Emily W, Thank you for recognizing the recent renovation of the hotel and the efforts of our staff to help you enjoy your experience. To avoid any confusion we only have valet parking on property (cost of $55.46 total per night) although there are a few garages in the area as well as very limited parking on the street.... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'll start off by saying our actual stay was good. Decent hotel, friendly staff, good location. That said, we'll never stay there again because of a sneaky charge that appeared on our credit card statement after our stay. We're Canadian, and went out of our way to settle our incidentals in cash to avoid the very unfavourable exchange rate. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean H, Front Office Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review

Dear Travel_Tips_AB Very sorry to hear that your calls to have your situation resolved have gone unanswered. I can assure you that we have no desire to charge anyone inaccurately and we take our billing accuracy very seriously as we understand how vitally important all of our personal finances are to all of us. Please take the time to e-mail... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at the westin with a couple of buddies and this place was very sneaking. They charged me $80 for a bathrobe without even saying it was gonna cost me money they just sat it out and said free to take. They also had an awful breakfast bar with cold food and never refilled they're drink containers. Not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean H, Front Office Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review

Dear Jinnm, Very sorry to hear of your experience here at the Westin. There must have been a miscommunication regarding the charge of the bathrobe so please reach out to me directly at your earliest convenience so we can resolve this for you. Live Well, Sean Holcombe Front Office Manager More 

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This gracious hotel is befitting of the SPG brand. Great heavenly beds and bedding, nice coffee/tea station, bathroom amenities, and good service. Attractive lobby, bar, and restaurant on the entrance floor. I especially appreciated the kind and personal assistance I received from Nazee on reception. Concierge Mesfin was also very good to deal with. I was given an upgraded room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sean H, Front Office Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review

Dear Ingle, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor with fellow travelers. As a Westin hotel we take pride in the features our rooms have to offer; the famous Westin Heavenly Bed, Heavenly Shower (includes a very popular shower wand) to name a few, but is our staff including Nazee and Mesfin that you so graciously mentioned, that brings... More 

Portola Valley, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was very well located, there was a CVS close by, a couple of Starbucks, a Peet's and several restaurants very close by. The front desk also had an assortment of Delivery menus which came in very handy. I was traveling with an 11 and a 12 years old so two nights after hours of walking and visiting sites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sean H, Front Office Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review

Dear Delmar, Thank you very much for going out of your way to share your positive experience with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. Our staff is well aware how much effort is needed to accommodate the aspirations of 2 young kids so we do our best to ensure all of our guests have an experience as enjoyable and stress-free as possible.... More 

Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel, great customer service, convenient location right on the city center, comfortable bed... what more can you ask. This hotel is within walking distance to major attractions and lots of restaurants near by. The hotel staff are very accommodating, helpful, welcoming and willing to guide with whatever activities you have in mind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean H, Front Office Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review

Dear Durango, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Nation's Capital. Thank your for recognizing the efforts of our great staff who really do everything they can to make sure you are able to take advantage of everything our great city has to offer. Thanks again for coming and we hope to see... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Westin so we could see the Cherry Blossom. The hotel is about a mile from the Tidal Basin in a great location. There are lots of Resturant and bars in the area or within a 10 minute walk. Overnight parking is very expensive at the Westin so it's better to shop around. The Westin wanted $47... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean H, Front Office Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review

Dear Toure88, We are very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the very popular Cherry Blossom Festival like so many of our guests over recent weeks and weeks to come. We do have a great location as we are right in the center of the city, just a short walk away from great restaurants and bars and... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

By far one of the best hotel experiences that I've ever had! The hospitality and level or professionalism of the employees were excellent! We had a minor mishap with valet, but the manager, Bobby went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of properly. Will definitely be booking this place again, if I'm in town!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean H, Front Office Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review

Dear Norman, Thank you for your kind words about our staff as I truly believe our greatest resource here at the Westin DC is our people. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay! Be Well, Sean Holcombe Front Office Manager More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed on the first floor (which is really the 3rd floor) of this hotel in an accessible room. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the sites, convenient to the White House. The room was clean, but they do use down. If you have allergies they will change out the bedding. The room faced an atrium and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean H, Front Office Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review

Dear Irritant, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. What you witnessed during your stay was actually a photo shoot of the hotel. Unfortunately there is sometimes outside noise which we do our best to control as much as possible. Please do not hesitate to reach out to Service Express if you do experience any noise in the future... More 

San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decided to stay here for my 30th Birthday with my girlfriends. Booked the rooms over the phone with the Central reservations system and they totally messed up my dates. I must take blame in some of this because after they sent me the confirmation letter I never checked to verify. So when I checked into the hotel on Friday, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean H, Front Office Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review

Dear Monique, It makes us very happy to hear that you so enjoyed your birthday weekend. As you so graciously noted our staff consistently goes out of their way to ensure that all of our guests are enjoying their time at the Westin DC, whether you are here for business or pleasure we strive to provide a great experience. Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (1)
Viewed
The Hotel (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question