We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Picton hotels

Park Regis Picton

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-25 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Mercure Picton Marlborough Sounds)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Park Regis Picton to your Saves list
Park Regis Picton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
38%
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Picton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Evangeline30 Melbourne, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (35)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (14)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in a Superior Ocean View room (we got an online deal but called up to see if they could spoil us a little more because of some not-so-good reviews - got upgraded from the basic room). The room was spacious, and the shower was nice but our experience would of been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Park Regis Picton, responded to this review

Dear Evangeline Thank you for your review following your stay with us. As part of our ongoing maintenance program we are in the process of organising the painting of rooms and other items such as window cleaning. There is a lift on the ground floor and I apologise you were not told of it. We have a number of packages... More

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before the ferry crossing the next day. Very welcoming staff. I turned up at 8.30pm after making a late booking and when checking in I got a free upgrade to a premium room. The room had all amenities you would expect in a hotel with a balcony for smoking and a wonderful view over the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Park Regis Picton, responded to this review

Dear Mark O, Thank you for very positive feedback, it is always a pleasure to receive such rewarding comments from our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our superior ocean view room and I agree the view from these rooms are just perfect! Once again on behalf of my team I would like to thank you for... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We just went on a trip for the weekend and arrived Saturday and left Monday. The room we booked was a standard room and was located on level 1 which is ground floor. These rooms have not been renovated and are overdue an update. We stayed in 102 opposite the laundry room and the first night was not a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Park Regis Picton, responded to this review

Dear stuartnapier, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Picton. There are so many great things to do here from spending the afternoon tasting the quality Marlborough wines to adventuring out into the Sounds for a luxurious long lunch and walk through the bush. I do hope you were able to enjoy some of these... More

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Although in a great position with nice friendly staff and good food, there it ends. I was glad to only be there one night. Our room was 203 - although the beds were lovely, the bathroom was very poor and the room main door rattled whenever anyone walked by and the balcony door was broken open so the room could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Park Regis Picton, responded to this review

Dear Steve M, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us back in February. I take it you have been doing a lot of travelling in the last couple of months and hope you have reached home refreshed. I must pass on my sincere apologies for the dissatisfaction you had with regards to your room. The balcony... More

Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Park Regis is located in the centre of Picton with views over the Sounds and the Ferry Port. The Staff are very helpful and the room costs are reasonable............The Hotel is quite old and certainly some of the bathrooms still need updating but for a one or two night stay it is comfortable and well the money......

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Park Regis Picton, responded to this review

Dear kiwiBLUEMOON, Thank you for posting a review about your stay with us, it is great you were able to benefit from our central location. I hope you had a pleasant time in Picton and a safe trip back to Nelson, we hope you visit us again soon. With warm regards, Ulhas Shetty General Manager – Park Regis Picton More

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Arrived early evening after crossing Cook Strait. Ideal location as it is so close to ferry terminal, just a few minutes away. Room was very nice.....but the bathroom was old, outdated, rough, and horrible. We went downstairs to the bar, very steep stairs...quite dangerous.... for dinner. Ordered drinks, barman got them wrong. It wasn't busy, only 1 other table of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Park Regis Picton, responded to this review

Dear Rxorus, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us in April. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced while dining. We appreciate all types of feedback and in this instance we would have loved to have had the opportunity to remedy the situation at the time. The team and I... More

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Lovely big room, fresh white walls. The bed and bedclothes were 'to die for', great mattress and the bed linen was crisp and clean - outstanding. Fantastic view out to the water. Great parking close to our room. Bathroom is outdated, vanity is peeling, bathroom vent needed cleaning. Friendly staff. Receptionist at checkout (Dana) was lovely. Downstairs bar and restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkRegisPicton, Manager at Park Regis Picton, responded to this review

Dear Judith777, Thank you for remembering to post a review, the weather has gotten a lot colder down here since April! I am so pleased you enjoyed the view of the harbour from your room and thank you for your great comments about the beds and cleanliness. We always like to hear that our guests slept well. I understand your... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Everything about this hotel was average - except the location which was excellent. Average rooms. Average service. Average staff. Nothing terrible, nothing wonderful. Take your chances I guess... I won't again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkRegisPicton, Manager at Park Regis Picton, responded to this review

Dear Matthew M, I am very disappointed to hear that the service you received from our staff during your stay was average. Although some of our rooms are older in style, we do pride ourselves in great customer service and so I will be passing your comments onto the team. We are looking forward to having a refurbishment this year... More

Fort Mohave, Arizona
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed one night here and we were very pleased with our 3rd. floor room, even had a balcony. Nice comfortable beds. Staff were very nice! Restaurant is a bit expensive, would advise going into town, pub or down near the harbor. Had a nice Happy Hour downstairs from the restaurant from 5-7 p.m. Very close to the railway station and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Park Regis Picton, responded to this review

Dear Bobby31225, I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I see you’ve made good use of the balcony by taking some great photos. We look forward to hosting you again in the future, next time hopefully with better weather! Thanks! Ulhas Shetty – General Manager Park Regis Picton More

Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I would not recommend this place. Staff are fine but our room had a weird bed that did not fit between the side tables (too small, queen bed when we paid for a king), fleas and a horrible buzzing noise that will keep you up if you are not completely zonked. 2/10 from me...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ParkRegisPicton, Manager at Park Regis Picton, responded to this review

Dear Andrew C, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us. We are due for a refurbishment this year that will give our rooms a newer, more modern look. We have received comments about a buzzing noise before and have found it to be coming from the ships in the harbour. In regards to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Park Regis Picton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Regis Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis Picton

Address: 17-25 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Mercure Picton Marlborough Sounds)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Regis Picton 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Park Regis Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Picton Marlborough Sounds Hotel Picton
The Yacht Hotel Picton

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting in a prime location with spectacular views of Marlborough Sound and wine region, Park Regis Picton is a perfect destination for either a holiday escape or business event. With 48 comfortable spacious rooms and contemporary apartments to choose from, Park Regis Picton has rooms to suit every guest's preference. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
48

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer