We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Cod Backpackers

9 Auckland St, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fat Cod Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Fat Cod Backpackers
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
2
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is conveniently located near the Interislander, railway and coach stops. I had a warm welcome at reception and allocated my room. The bed was warm and comfy. Although a friendly atmosphere during the day, the hostel was quiet for sleeping. Bathrooms were clean and showers were hot. Kitchen facilities were good and there was plenty of common space... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachelle M, Owner at The Fat Cod Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks you so much for your review. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand and take advantage of everything our wonderful country has to offer. We would love to see you back here at the Fat Cod Backpackers in the future Happy travel Rachelle More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We started in this hostel for one night, as we were getting the ferry in the morning. The positives is certainly the location, as it's a short walk from town, lots of available parking and the Interislander terminal. Plus they give a 100mb free WiFi access, which won't last long. But is a nice gesture. My issues with the hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachelle M, Owner at The Fat Cod Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review. I would like to touch on a couple of the points you have mentioned. Yes our showers do only give you 8 minutes of hot water! In the 2 and a half years we have been here we have had only 4 complaints about this, we have also had many positives comments, most of these... More 

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at the Fat Cod in the beautiful harbour town of Picton. It is a small but very cosy and the 'open plan' layout adds to the friendly atmosphere. It was a really nice bonus to find the hostel has freebies like bikes, fishing rods and other sport equipment for guests to borrow when the sun... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachelle M, Owner at The Fat Cod Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks so much for your positive honest review. We love having our guest leave happy and will continue keep this happening. We wish you all the best with your travel and hope to see you again soon at the Fat Cod Backpackers. Rachelle More 

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Positive aspects, short walk from the ferry terminal, town is around the corner, train station is meters away and there is free coffee but no scones as advertised on the web site. The atmosphere is friendly, young interesting travelers from around the world. Negative aspects, the train is meters away, pool table that is played at all hours as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachelle M, Owner at The Fat Cod Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Delilah, Thanks for your review. Considering you did not pay for your stay and were woofing I am a little surprised at your review however I am happy to reply. My staff are very good at making sure when 10.30pm comes around they go up stairs and put the pool que and guitar away so these are not played... More 

Port Dover, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Although they're really close to the ferry and iSite and my bed was clean and comfy, I can't rate it very high. The place is cute but very old, worn and sad. The kitchen gear was about as old as I've seen and I think I counted 6 coffee mugs. There were no power points in the bedrooms, they have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachelle M, Owner at The Fat Cod Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am surprised to hear you comments as you stayed one night and then you booked another. The kitchen pots maybe a little old but they still heat things as good as new,I counted and found over 20 coffee cups, there are plugs in all our rooms, some are behind beds and had you asked we... More 

London
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
72 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Well located, nice and helpful staff, and clean as you would expect. Beds were comfortable and there are enough toilets and showers so they were always available. Great location to start the Queen Charlotte Trail and they have lockers for you to keep your belongings in so you don't have to trek with them. The dormitory I stayed in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachelle M, Owner at The Fat Cod Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review. Yes we do have VHS videos but the are there for a bit of fun, you may have noticed we do have a DVD player also. Our TV is a very large flat screen that is only a couple of years old so I am puzzled to know why you think it needs updating, however... More 

Westport, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Awesome place to stay! Clean, tidy, pretty reasonable price and staff went above and beyond to help in any way they could. Thanks to Chris especially for all he did to make our stay as good as it was. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachelle M, Owner at The Fat Cod Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review we hope to see you again in the future. Happy travels Rachelle More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

First impression of the hostel upon walking in was that my soul was being sucked dry. On the whole the hostel was generally clean and the basics were there. Unfortunately it was littered with un-friendly signs of cameras watching you, almost like staying with 'Big Brother'. The staff we mostly friendly bar 1 who we found completely in-flexible and without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachelle M, Owner at The Fat Cod Backpackers, responded to this review

I am sorry you feel this way however we have rules and polices and we were not prepared to refund you because you changed your travel plans. Hopefully you will be better prepared next time and read the hostel cancellation policy before booking. Happy travels Rachelle More 

Silkeborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Hostel was nice and clean (porbably a result of the lack of guests and creepy notes of "we are watching you" concerning cleaning after oneself) Staff was friendly enough and 100mb wifi was appreciated. Good coupons for picton stuff Not worth 26$ though We were told in the morning when we were to take the bus at 12.45 that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rachelle M, Owner at The Fat Cod Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Laura, Thanks for taking the time to place a review. First of all let me just say that we have signs up in the kitchen to ask people to wash and clean up after themselves because some people do not! We have them in all different languages which most people find to be a bit of fun, and like... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Mouldy showers (private rooms dont have private bathroom), over priced for what you get back, needs an update from the 70s decor. And to get to my 200 words, blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachelle M, Owner at The Fat Cod Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for you review. Sorry you did not seem to enjoy your stay, as all our guests reviews before you seem to have had a great time. Yes we except that the place is getting a bit tired but had you looked around you would have seen that work is beginning on the bathrooms, by the way it is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question