We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Picton accommodations

Sequoia Lodge

3a Nelson Square, Picton, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Sequoia Lodge

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HostelBookers.com Hostelworld.com Booking.com
and 1 more site!
89%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
kindof2014 Auckland Region, New Zealand
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    23
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
22
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stayed at this hostel for one night but I instantly liked it. The staff were really friendly, the rooms were clean and there are really nice areas to sit out side to eat or read/chat. Great to have unlimited internet. They also have free tea and coffee and a selection of oils/spices to use while you're cooking. It's only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My friend found Sequoia through HelpX. We got in touch with Tim and decided to WWOOF here. What a great experience! The hostel is clean, the kitchen well equipped, organized and they whip up hot chocolate pudding and ice cream every night. For a few hours of housekeeping work, you'll get a bed in the WWOOFer dorm (private), unlimited internet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Great welcome, just perfect ! A shuttle took us at the ferry, for free ! Then a man receive everyone really well. Bedrooms clean and warm, beds comfortable. Bathrooms cleans. Kitchen well equipped and clean. Great staff. The fireplace in the living room and the free wifi are a real plus !!! 5 min walk to the grocery shop. THE... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

A lovely stay from beginning to end. The hostel is clean, the kitchen well equipped and the rooms are pretty nice. Chocolate pudding and ice cream served every night which is free and delicious! Tea, coffee, sugar, spices and oil are all free as well as unlimited internet which is rare in New Zealand. Free pick up and/or drop off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SequoiaLodge, Manager at Sequoia Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. I am very sorry that you had a problem with the water pressure. We are happy to announce that since your visit we have had this looked into and we now have great water pressure throughout the hostel. Thank you... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The sequoia lodge has clean dorms with ensuite bathrooms which are kept very clean. I was lucky and had quiet room mates too. Nice big clean kitchen and the free chocolate pudding really hits the spot after a long hike! Free wifi is patchy and I could only access it in the communal areas but not in my dorm. Free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Picton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We arrived in Picton, not sure if we'd stay the week. There was only one room available at the Sequoia when we arrived, and booked it straight away. As our plans seem to change day by day, we only booked a few days at a time, each time we went to the reception asking for a few more nights they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have been travelling for over 4 months (Australia and New Zealand) and you won't believe just how rare it is for a hostel to provide both free wi-fi, and wi-fi that actually works and is good enough to stream YouTube (for example). Well, the Sequoia Lodge has it. Nicely located close to town (and yet still relatively quiet) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

hostel was full during our stay, and I can see why. quaint and quirky hostel - we loved it. chocolate pudding and ice cream went down a treat every night at 8pm. the spa pool was nice and my children enjoyed the hammocks and playing chess on the giant outdoor chess board.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Not happy at 6am when I want a hot shower before catching the ferry and the shower has only skin burning hot water for 2 minutes then continuous freezing cold. I specifically paid for an ensuite room so I could have my own bathroom but it appears it was a total waste of money. There is free WiFi which would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SequoiaLodge, Manager at Sequoia Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that your shower didn't work and we can understand your frustration especially at 6 am in the morning outside of office hours. We would have appreciated it if you had contacted us directly to let us know which room you had the problem with, as we... More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I've actually stayed here twice, the first time it was amazing. We were just out side of the busy season and the place felt just like home, the woman who runs the place with her husband was incredibly friendly and very helpful. The room I stayed in was clean, cosy and I liked how each bed had it's own shelf... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Address: 3a Nelson Square, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our friendly, relaxed, family owned hostel. The Spa pool’s bubbling hot, the fire’s roaring, it’s warm. Great music’s playing and the people are friendly & genuine. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Free all you can eat breakfast every morning, all year. Free wireless internet. Sky TV on the big screen. Free Bikes. Car Parking. Central location. Our sister hostel’s in Nelson, Tasman Bay Backpackers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list