We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Echo Lodge

5 Rutland Street | Picton, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Hotel website
Special Deal
Cooked eggs included.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Echo Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Echo Lodge
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
41
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Our stay was welcomed warmly by the hosts Sharon and Russell who made you feel welcome and made you feel like you were at home, helpful with travel tips in the area and a wonderful breakfast to set you up for the day, lovely clean and tidy room, beautiful setting , would definitely recommend staying here, Linda - Christchurch

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We only were only able to stay 1 night, but it was exceptional. When we changed plans to hike longer, Sharon went out of her way to adjust the arrangements, even though that meant moving us to another accommodation. It's comfortable & very clean. The gardens are beautiful & the place is very quiet. I would stay there often &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our group of 4 stayed here before walking the Queen Charlotte track in early October. Sharon and Russell were wonderful hosts making us feel very welcome. Russell picked us up from the ferry and took us to the water taxi the next day. Accommodation was very clean and comfortable and an easy walk to the town centre. The breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My adult daughter and I stayed for one night in September and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. The owners Sharon and Russell were so friendly and helpful, collecting us from the bus terminal and leaving the next day to the ferry terminal. Sharon even waited while we picked up a sandwich from a bakery! Lovely warm welcoming house with good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Lodge, it means a lot to us. I don't know if you got to eat much of your lunch that day before you were whisked off on a wine tour, but it was no problem to stop at the bakery. So glad you visited our part of... More

Gladstone, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Spent two nights here as a birthday gift from our daughter to my husband. Had a fabulous time, Sharon and Russell are fantastic hosts who couldn't do enough for us, even did our washing, dried it and returned to our room while we did a fantastic wine tour for the day. Sharon even provided an iron and board for my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Echo Lodge and your positive comments it mean a lot to us. It was lovely to have you stay and have some good chats to you both, hearing about your life in Australia and your plans on coming back to NZ (Home) Hope it wasn't too wet on the... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon and thought it was a very nice B&B. Russ and Sharon are great owners and keep the place immaculately clean. The house is beautiful. Breakfast was very good. They have a house cat so be aware if you have allergies. Our only disappointment (if you can call it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
newzealnder1, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Annie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our lodge and the positive comments you have made, However we are concerned that we disappointed you in regards to the free transport we offer. Had we known you were on an early ferry when we first received your booking we would have contacted you immediately to... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Our stay with Sharon and Russell at Echo lodge was excellent. They were so welcoming hosts. Their Character home was spotless with comfortable bed with en-suite. It was in walking distant to the shops and ferry. Unfortunate we had only one night with them, but we will be back to stay .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I spent 2 nights here over easter. Very close to the town center. Beautiful home with large clean rooms, friendly people, delicious breakfast with homemade .... everything! complementary wifi is excellent!

Was this review helpful? Yes
australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

a lovely B&B with great hosts, nothing is too much trouble, very comfortable room and bed, fantastic breakfast, even fresh walnuts off their tree that Russell had cracked. Very easy walking distance to everything, totally recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a really nice place to stay in Picton. The hosts, Sharon and Russell, go out of their way to make sure that everything is right for you. They obviously enjoy what they do and are great hosts. Very clean, comfortable and spotless throughout, very comfortable beds and couches, yummy breakfast including, when we were there, freshly shelled walnuts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Echo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Lodge

Address: 5 Rutland Street | Picton, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Echo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay