We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akaroa Waterfront Motels

56 - 64 Rue Jolie, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Hotel website
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
23
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were given a warm welcome and wonderful hospitality from Elise and Fraser and the staff! The motel is in a great location, next to the ocean and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. No traffic noise and the quiet ambience added to the enjoyment of the stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable with the housekeeping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilmslow Cheshire
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying our last six nights in NZ he read couldn't have chosen a better place. We had a 1st floor apartment overlooking the bay and it was pure bliss after 70 days on the road. The rooms were clean and well serviced, quality facilities in the kitchen and bathroom and we had the one bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last minute decision for a night in Akaroa booked 3 days out. Needed separate room for son. Plenty of space, but all a little dated. Shower height perfect to wash chest and belly, pressure minimal. No air con. Due for a refit? Nice team and great location. Rooms have plenty of space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at 12.30 and were able to get into room buy 1pm, this was great as the weather wasn't that warm. We have stayed here several times, if the high tide is at the right time, you can sit and have breakfast and little fish are jumping out of the water! Rooms have had an upgrade, was nice to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us, and even happier you have noticed the upgrade of the units, as we are the new owner and we will keep doing modifications over the year. Yes our garden and surrounding are great too: the fishes, the Tui has been singing a lot lately, the... More 

Perth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had not booked accomodation in Akaroa, and after driving around, found this motel near the water. We asked to see a room and as we were happy with the ground floor unit we stayed! The receptionist gave us an excellent reccomendation for dinner and local must sees. We received vouchers for WiFi and offers for more if it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, our service and our facilities. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a future. Regards, the Akaroa Waterfront Motels team More 

Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

After a busy few months our stay in Akaroa was great. We found the staff friendly and welcoming. The coffee plunger with coffee supplied was a special treat. The beds were very comfortable and the unit spotlessly clean. The location is very relaxing and quiet and and a short walk to restaurants and shops. We enjoyed the sea views and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Owner at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes the location is great and especially our waterfront units, right on the water edge. While on holiday, it is great to hear the birds and not the traffic, isn’t it? We hope to have a chance to welcome you again soon. Regards, Akaroa waterfront... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

After two weeks of travelling around NZ, Akaroa was our last night before heading home. I rang and booked the room over the phone, on our way from Christchurch. As we were late arriving the office was closed, but arrangements had been made to obtain the keys for access to the room. Upon opening the door we were disapointed at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Owner at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

We are really sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. You booked a 1 bedroom unit at the last minute, we do have stunning Waterfront 1 bedroom units but they are very very popular and often booked out on weekends. Many motels do not take late arrivers, but we do our best to allow this and try... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

I booked this accomodation over the Internet. On arrival we were met by a nice man, Asif who turned out to be very helpful. I had booked a 1 bedroom unit on the top floor. Our first disappointment was the one bedroom. It had 2 single beds in it and not much room for anything else. The main bed, a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Owner at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are BRAND NEW owners having taken over the motel only a few weeks ago, so our overall motel upgrade is underway, but by no means complete, as we have been sooo busy with the summer season starting early! We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. The one bedroom suite you booked... More 

Merseyside
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Everything about this motel is first class. Right next to the ocean. Very close to shops and restaurants. Reasonable rates. Lovely rooms and friendly staff on Reception. Akaroa is a beautiful charming little resort totally unspoilt. Like stepping back in time. Wonderful cafes and restaurants. Visit the Giants House which is actually a truly magnificent garden full of brightly coloured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed our motel and Akaroa, yes we are very lucky to have all these very good restaurants and cafes just few minutes walk from our location. We hope to welcome you again. Regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels team More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

It is on the water's edge! Very comfortable spacious unit with separate bedroom. We had 2 nights in a ground floor end room with a stream along side. Very relaxing. Easy walking distance to very good restaurants. Has to be the best place to stay in Akaroa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post this positive review. We are glad you enjoyed our relaxed environment just right on the water edge. Kind regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Akaroa Waterfront Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Address: 56 - 64 Rue Jolie, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Akaroa Waterfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Waterfront Hotel Akaroa
Driftwood Hotel Akaroa

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay