We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akaroa Waterfront Motels

56 - 64 Rue Jolie, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Hotel website
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a busy few months our stay in Akaroa was great. We found the staff friendly and welcoming. The coffee plunger with coffee supplied was a special treat. The beds were very comfortable and the unit spotlessly clean. The location is very relaxing and quiet and and a short walk to restaurants and shops. We enjoyed the sea views and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Owner at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes the location is great and especially our waterfront units, right on the water edge. While on holiday, it is great to hear the birds and not the traffic, isn’t it? We hope to have a chance to welcome you again soon. Regards, Akaroa waterfront... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After two weeks of travelling around NZ, Akaroa was our last night before heading home. I rang and booked the room over the phone, on our way from Christchurch. As we were late arriving the office was closed, but arrangements had been made to obtain the keys for access to the room. Upon opening the door we were disapointed at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Owner at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

We are really sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. You booked a 1 bedroom unit at the last minute, we do have stunning Waterfront 1 bedroom units but they are very very popular and often booked out on weekends. Many motels do not take late arrivers, but we do our best to allow this and try... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked this accomodation over the Internet. On arrival we were met by a nice man, Asif who turned out to be very helpful. I had booked a 1 bedroom unit on the top floor. Our first disappointment was the one bedroom. It had 2 single beds in it and not much room for anything else. The main bed, a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Owner at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are BRAND NEW owners having taken over the motel only a few weeks ago, so our overall motel upgrade is underway, but by no means complete, as we have been sooo busy with the summer season starting early! We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. The one bedroom suite you booked... More 

Merseyside
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything about this motel is first class. Right next to the ocean. Very close to shops and restaurants. Reasonable rates. Lovely rooms and friendly staff on Reception. Akaroa is a beautiful charming little resort totally unspoilt. Like stepping back in time. Wonderful cafes and restaurants. Visit the Giants House which is actually a truly magnificent garden full of brightly coloured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed our motel and Akaroa, yes we are very lucky to have all these very good restaurants and cafes just few minutes walk from our location. We hope to welcome you again. Regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels team More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is on the water's edge! Very comfortable spacious unit with separate bedroom. We had 2 nights in a ground floor end room with a stream along side. Very relaxing. Easy walking distance to very good restaurants. Has to be the best place to stay in Akaroa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post this positive review. We are glad you enjoyed our relaxed environment just right on the water edge. Kind regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels team. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Right on the waterfront at the quieter end of Akaroa, but still within easy walking distance of all the amenities, this nicely refurbished motel was just what we wanted. Really friendly and helpful staff made the stay extra special, and we loved the spa with the big indoor plants and even a bird nesting in the branches! Even the units... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kapiti Coast, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this wonderful motel, the view from our unit was magnificiant, the unit was clean, roomy and very comfortable. The service was excellent, we are 4 senior Women and the owners went out of there way to help us and came and picked us up from the shops when we were to tired to walk back.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you "Ladies" for your lovely feedback. We hope you had a safe journey home. Service and Cleanliness are our top priority and we are happy to meet your expectations. Why not coming back again next year? Kind regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels Team More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

My wife and I decided we needed to getaway from the ratrace for a night so we packed a small bag and headed over to Akaroa, a favourite destination of ours. Booked one night at Akaroa Waterfront Motels in a unit overlooking the harbour. First impressions were great , very friendly owner checked us in with a minimal of fuss,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay with us in details.We are glad you like the amenities and the service.We will forward your lovely comments to all the team, especially housekeeping who is doing a great job to maintain high standard. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and hopefully for a bit longer... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I've stayed here on several occasions now and it's my pick of accommodation in Akaroa due to the views, and waking up to the dawn chorus of bellbirds. It's ideally located for a short walk to my favourite Akaroa restaurants and only a 10 minute walk into the main shopping section of Akaroa. Enjoyed a twilight game of Chess with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your really nice review, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The Giant chess game is new and we really appreciate your comment about it. It is part of our project to update the premises and more will come soon. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Akaroa Waterfront Motels team More 

Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Large room with kitchenette. Clean, comfortable with easy parking. 200 MB free Wifi, with option to buy 24 hours for NZ$20. Room we stayed in had poor shower pressure, and a small television. Location is excellent, with small supermarket a few minutes walk away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the location. We are actually starting a process to update the tvs in the units, and hopefully in your next visit you will see the difference. kind regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Akaroa Waterfront Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Address: 56 - 64 Rue Jolie, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Akaroa Waterfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Waterfront Hotel Akaroa
Driftwood Hotel Akaroa

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay