We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection

Certificate of Excellence
6888 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Banks Penninsula, Akaroa, New Zealand (Formerly Loch-Hill Country Cottages)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    52
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
105
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Bristol
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had high expectations of our stay at Akaroa Cottages, but there were a few niggles which made our stay slightly disappointing. On arrival, we had quick check in and we were shown where our cottage was on a map. We were allocated the Bushside cottage, right at the top of site. There is a very steep gravel road which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at Akaroa Cottages and we were surprised that our cottage was a shared cottage with an adjoining wall. The gas heater was turned off and the electric replacement was unstable and eventually stopped working on our last evening. There was a very unpleasant smell in the bathroom, which when we complained the comment was "is that still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Hello Mr Gordon, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay, We advertise on all 3rd party websites that our Seaview studio which was the room type you had selected is an interconnecting room. It is almost always the lower rate for this reason. The gas fire was only turned off at the wall... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights in a 'bush view' cottage. The cottage was in the corner of the property, and the view was somewhat limited. But we were very positive about the accommodation and the experience. The bedding was very comfortable and features were the spa bath and a wide range of TV channels. We enjoyed a warm welcome from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Hello Travistock507 Thank you for taking the time to review the property, We are grateful that you have shared your stay on the property and it is good the hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Bushview cottages don't have a view they are tucked away from the rest of the property and offer the "Peace and private... More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a truly wonderful two night stay here which then turned into three nights as we were so reluctant to leave! We stayed in two different cottages both of which were divine. Spacious with everything you needed plus beautiful views over the bay. So peaceful and quiet, never saw any of the other cottage guests, really secluded and private.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Hello Suzy D Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is always great to have such positive remarks about the property and staff. We really do try to provide a service like no other. Unfortunately we have no way of knowing whether the spa baths are used regularly, This is an area i will look... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I recenlty stayed for 2 nights in a cottage - lovely peaceful setting with easy access to Akaroa. The facilities were lovely and whilst not new were all very clean and very well maintained. We enjoyed our time and would highly recommend to others looking for a beautiful location to stay in the region.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in 'rowan' a studio cottage and we were blown away by the view. Great service from reception, the night we arrived was a little late so the kind gentleman called to book us a restaurant. Clean room with comfy bed, just that little bit out of town to feel relaxed. Rate it highly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a lovely welcome - we settled into our private retreat in "Woodside" Cottage. Our first thought as we walked in the door was 'wish they'd top that big tree from right in the middle of our view over the harbour!' The next thing we were very aware of was the birdsong - an absolute treat. We would recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We stayed in 'Rowan' which must have the very best views of the harbour. The accommodation was spacious with a great outside area where we could sit and relax. Rick was very welcoming and helpful, we ate where he suggested and had a fantastic meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed there for 3 nights. We had a studio suite, which was fine but next time I might book a different cottage. It was very clean and quiet. Lovely view. Could use a bit more closet space - for clothing and for groceries. Washer and dryer was useful. Bed very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nsw
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Absolutely gorgeous , we had a fully self contained 2 bedroom cottage with amazing views of lake & mountains . Huge ,beautifully maintained grounds . Only 5 mins from town.Charming,clean,comfortable & management went out of their way to be helpful . Highly recommend these cottages .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question