We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection

Certificate of Excellence
6888 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Banks Penninsula, Akaroa, New Zealand (Formerly Loch-Hill Country Cottages)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    53
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
108
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (157)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Auckland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had one of the studio cottages with a huge spa bath and fireplace.The weather was miserable whilst we were in Akaroa so used both of these lots. The cottage had views of the sea, was well kitted out with a kitchenette- even provided oil, salt and pepper, plenty of towels comfy lounge seats.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amlwch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our journey to Akaroa was a long one, we had travelled down from Omarama and the last few miles down to Akaroa were very twisty and frustrating after a long drive. However, the journey was well worth it. On the approach into the town of Akaroa we saw the sign post for "Akaroa Cottages", and made the decision to investigate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cambridge
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The cottages are tucked away along a long gravel track from the main road and our bush cottage was set at the back of the site and very private, which was lovely. We enjoyed eating breakfast on the verandah with our own private lawn and shrubs, the car parked to one side of the cottage. The cottage was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had high expectations of our stay at Akaroa Cottages, but there were a few niggles which made our stay slightly disappointing. On arrival, we had quick check in and we were shown where our cottage was on a map. We were allocated the Bushside cottage, right at the top of site. There is a very steep gravel road which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We recently stayed at Akaroa Cottages and we were surprised that our cottage was a shared cottage with an adjoining wall. The gas heater was turned off and the electric replacement was unstable and eventually stopped working on our last evening. There was a very unpleasant smell in the bathroom, which when we complained the comment was "is that still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Hello Mr Gordon, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay, We advertise on all 3rd party websites that our Seaview studio which was the room type you had selected is an interconnecting room. It is almost always the lower rate for this reason. The gas fire was only turned off at the wall... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in a 'bush view' cottage. The cottage was in the corner of the property, and the view was somewhat limited. But we were very positive about the accommodation and the experience. The bedding was very comfortable and features were the spa bath and a wide range of TV channels. We enjoyed a warm welcome from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Hello Travistock507 Thank you for taking the time to review the property, We are grateful that you have shared your stay on the property and it is good the hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Bushview cottages don't have a view they are tucked away from the rest of the property and offer the "Peace and private... More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We had a truly wonderful two night stay here which then turned into three nights as we were so reluctant to leave! We stayed in two different cottages both of which were divine. Spacious with everything you needed plus beautiful views over the bay. So peaceful and quiet, never saw any of the other cottage guests, really secluded and private.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Hello Suzy D Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is always great to have such positive remarks about the property and staff. We really do try to provide a service like no other. Unfortunately we have no way of knowing whether the spa baths are used regularly, This is an area i will look... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

My husband and I recenlty stayed for 2 nights in a cottage - lovely peaceful setting with easy access to Akaroa. The facilities were lovely and whilst not new were all very clean and very well maintained. We enjoyed our time and would highly recommend to others looking for a beautiful location to stay in the region.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Stayed in 'rowan' a studio cottage and we were blown away by the view. Great service from reception, the night we arrived was a little late so the kind gentleman called to book us a restaurant. Clean room with comfy bed, just that little bit out of town to feel relaxed. Rate it highly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

After a lovely welcome - we settled into our private retreat in "Woodside" Cottage. Our first thought as we walked in the door was 'wish they'd top that big tree from right in the middle of our view over the harbour!' The next thing we were very aware of was the birdsong - an absolute treat. We would recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay