We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

L'Abri

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
7 Takamatua Bay Road | RD1, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Abri
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
L'Abri
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
103
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
There are newer reviews for L'Abri
See the most recent reviews
Zhuhai, China
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The cottage looks like horse barn from outside, and no WIFI signal in the cottage! The heater isn't warm enough for deep autumn 7 dc. The cooking facility is poor, the most useful tools are not working at all!! The hot water went out when I was bathing in a bathroom that without heater!! Not to mention there is no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
takamatua, Owner at L'Abri, responded to this review

As the manager/ owner of L'abri I would like to express my deep dissappointment of this review. The reasons being that most points written are completely incorrect. The cottage is small but very well appointed and very warm with ample hot water. A few days prior to the visit by these guests I had just finished painting the inside, replacing... More 

Wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing stay at L'abri. Our room was beautiful with a great view over the Akaroa inlet. L'abri is about 5 minutes drive from Akaroa township and set in a beautiful garden. Our room was very clean and warm (we stayed in early June), as well as tea and coffee there were home-made biscuits and chocolates in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Loved every minute of our all too short stay at L'abri. Jane was most welcoming and provided excellent information about Akaroa. Views from the bedroom were stunning. The only one tiny downside was that guests could not change the TV channels. The breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

In early February, my wife and I [both recently retired] drove from Christchurch, NZ to Akaroa, NZ. It’s a pleasant enough drive the first two-thirds of the trip to Little River—where you should stop for a snack or a meal at the phenomenal Little River Café and Store. But once we were about two or three miles outside of Little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pompei
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently visited New Zealand and travelled from end to end. One of the best B&Bs we stayed at was L'Abri. The bedroom was stunning with amazing views and Jane made us feel very welcome indeed. Our only regret was not staying longer. If ever I return I shall make sure my stay at L'Abri is for at least a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Nice spot, modern and friendly with lovely breakfast. Only one niggle - thought they could have got our names right upon welcoming us or perhaps adjusted them on the welcome blackboard after our arrival. Minor - but all part of feeling welcomed. Loved the crooks and friendly cat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Akaroa is a delight: the harbour, the cruise ships, the cafes and we would add L'Abris made our Akaroa experience even better. With fellow L'Abris guests from Switzerland and Australia we experienced an international breakfast, an enriching experience. We thank our thoughtful and knowledgeable hostess.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay, stunning views, warm welcome, there is nothing you could ask for better than this gorgeous setting. We absolutely loved spending a night here, the owner Jane was just the best and made us feel so welcome it was incredible.Cooked breakfast was fantastic and the cookies in your room were to die for, wow ate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The ambiance of this B&B is top notch and Akaroa is a delightful town to visit. L'Abri has a view that I never tired of and it was lovely to walk around the garden. So peaceful and relaxing. Jane directed us to a top notch restaurant , The Little Bistro, for dinner. Although Jane was not able to be there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were not made to feel particularly welcome, even allowing for an apparent 'miscommunication' through owner's friend. Poor quality finish on the cottage build including no fly screens (despite several complaints in the guest book), made it unpleasant having to close doors and windows on hot evening to avoid mosquitos. Self serve breakfast food - rated as average only. Felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question