We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fremantle Bed and Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
5 Mouat Street | Fremantle 6160 WA, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Fremantle Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 23 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
AndyKeir Forster, Australia
Rate this Hotel

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
42
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Forster, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fremantle B & B We chose Fremantle B & B mainly because we were going on a cruise and it’s located close to the cruise terminal. It’s an interesting looking building but spoiled somewhat by a huge and somewhat disconcerting “For Sale” sign outside. The reception/meet/greet consisted of ... well, nothing. On arrival we were greeted by a fortress-like locked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thank you for you comprehensive review. I would like to compare what we offer to our Guests to the large local Hotels nearby in Fremantle. We received $228 for providing you with the Evelyn room for two nights along with a substantial continental breakfast It seems you expected a Receptionist to be on hand during your stay ,... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took the down and under family suite and it was nice for the price. The location is very good, minutes away from all Fremantle attractions. The building is quite old but the room is OK. Luckily it's not on a main street because every car the passes during the night is heard loudly. The kitchen in equipped with your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review, we are certainly in a great location , Fremantle Bed and Breakfast is located in the amazing West End of Fremantle , this area is the best preserved Edwardian precinct in Australia. Our street is usually whisper quiet so I was surprised that you heard traffic , thanks again for your kind... More 

Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for several nights of our honeymoon over Christmas in the top room (Tarantella). I will say first that we really enjoyed our stay here (hence 4 stars) - the room was romantic, the bed was comfy and I loved being so high up, the building was charming and the location perfect. It was also really quiet, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Verity What a well written review , thank you for taking the time to review us and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our Honeymoon suite. We have submitted plans to the Heritage Councilmfor the renovation of the bathrooms and we hope to get the go ahead and complete the works in the near future. We would... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
102 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This B&B is only a couple of blocks from the beach and museums and scuba diving boat harbour. Being so close to the beach means the B&B is away from the noisy busy main road further inland and thus the nights are blessedly quiet for a good sleep. Rooms and bathrooms nice and clean (some of the bedding and towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you very much for reviewing us and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Fremantle Bed and Breakfast More 

Perth western Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We stayed in the Tarantella suite for one night last week. I had researched B&Bs in Fremantle through Tripadvisor and decided the price and location were both right. We wanted our own bathroom, hence the decision to have the room at the top of the building. First surprise was the mega large "For Sale" sign out the front. Bit of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review us I appreciate your feedback , the building itself is up for sale but this will not impact on the Bed and Breakfast business. The building is indeed Heritage listed it was Bavarian Embassy before WW1 and we were not allowed to include an elevator when the property was refurbished... More 

Sunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

I regret having to write this review, but feel this is EXACTLY why I refer to this website when making decisions about booking accommodation, & what I would like to know. My husband and I were in South West Western Australia and we were looking for somewhere a little indulgent to stay after a bit of 'roughing it'. I read... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

What a well written article :) You really have a talent for writing . I did investigate the incident and this is what happened, you booked the Tarantella Suite which is really romantic and very popular with honeymooners and guests celebrating anniversaries.The Guests that had occupied your suite before you were just married , upon checking out they left their... More 

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Beautiful old building in great location. The package we paid for included a bottle of wine and chocolates on arrival which we never received. The area set aside for refreshments on the first floor had dirty glasses and cups left for a couple of days. Water in the fridge etc was not replenished. The breakfast area was not big enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest I believe that you were disappointed more about not getting one of the luxury suites when you booked with your discount voucher and as a result you were unhappy and looked for details to criticise . The first floor on which you stayed has 4 bedrooms and they share two large bathrooms , one of which has a... More 

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Stayed in the family suite which offers privacy and a generous amount of space. A simple breakfast is included in the tariff. Lovely. Location is terrific too. Good value for money and looks good inside and outside. The only thing that slightly disappointed me was that the owner was not around which seems a bit unusual for a B &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Verity What a well written review , thank you for taking the time to review us and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our Honeymoon suite. We have submitted plans to the Heritage Councilmfor the renovation of the bathrooms and we hope to get the go ahead and complete the works in the near future. We would... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Starting by the positives: the location is great and the place clean. We had the Tarentella room on the last floor, the room is nice & cozy, although the window lock is broken which made it to open when the wind blows. No big deal. There is a code to access the door, but the owner sent it to us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest The building is for sale but this does not effect the Bed and Breakfast :) We advertise that on booking each guest will get a code to the front door , this allows guests the freedom to arrive at any time of the day or very late at night. I suppose the difference between a Hotel and a... More 

Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We stayed two nights at this heritage listed building, which has been restored to an old world charm, but if you have a serious heart condition do not stay here. There are 26 steps to the first level then another 15 or so to the top room. Also there is only a staff member there part of the day. To... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question