We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Tavira hotels

Tavira Garden

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio Cara de Pau, Estrada Nacional 125, Tavira 8800-221, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tavira Garden to your Saves list
Tavira Garden
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Katja A Hvidovre, Denmark
  • Overview
  • Reviews (53)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • More
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hvidovre, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we booked appartment 16a directly with the owner, Mr. Ted Mooney, and we had a fabolous week in Tavira! Mr. Mooney is very helpful and answered all our questions before the trip. We loved the apartment, the complex and the city. The walk to the city was for us just perfect - it allowed a little dessert every day without... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortuGolf, Owner at Tavira Garden, responded to this review

I guess we in PortuGolf must be doing something right! I'm glad that Katja enjoyed her stay and her compliments on her accommodations are much appreciated. Ted Mooney. More

Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Tavira Garden is a mix of recidense and holiday apartments. The apartment was ok. The complex is very close to the road and a long walk to the city center. Its close to a big mall and the nearest supermarket is just 2 minutes away. Our apartment was ok and clean. We were diassapointed with the pool. When you bring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortuGolf, Owner at Tavira Garden, responded to this review

I'm sorry that the reviewer was not completely satisfied with Tavira Garden but I am puzzled by the reference to a problem with the pool. It's true that the two adult pools have depths of approx 120cm at the shallow end. However, there are kids pools beside each of the adult pools -- these are designed to provide a suitable... More

London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a week in Tavira Garden booked direct with owner. Complex is not really a holiday resort per se, more a managed estate which has a mixture of permanent residents and holiday lets, which makes for a different feel (and clearly some of the apartments are empty at this time of year). We had a large apartment spread... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortuGolf, Owner at Tavira Garden, responded to this review

I guess the old saying holds true, "You can't please all of the people all of the time"! But the review, while critical, is objective. We typically manage at least four stars out of five and we try to do better. Ted Mooney. More

Burnley
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Met by Victoria, she was lovely. Entered the apartment to find that it was massive, two large bedrooms, huge lounge\diner, large fully equipped kitchen, balcony off the lounge and master bedroom and finally a lovely solarium with tables, chairs and a gas BBQ. I truly could not believe it. We had a problem with the TV and Ted the owner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortuGolf, Owner at Tavira Garden, responded to this review

We aim to please and it looks like we may have succeeded in this case. The review is much appreciated. The client is right about the furniture looking a little tired. We redecorated the apartment (Tavira Garden 16A) in early May, we meant to change the furniture but we ran out of time. The furniture was fine until everything else... More

Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Beautiful place for a very low price! Appartment (kitchen, tv, ...) with access to two swimming pool. Restaurant on place. Grocery near the hotel (5 minutes walk). At 5 minutes by car from the center of Tavira. Peurfect!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortuGolf, Owner at Tavira Garden, responded to this review

Hi Annie Glad you liked Tavira Garden. We aim to please and it's always good to hear that we have succeeded. Ted Mooney More

LONDON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Took a 2 bed apartment with what looked like a lovely roof terrace and was going to stay 10 weeks. The apartment was so damp we had to have heating on all the time and it just didn't improve. There was no T.V as the satellite couldn't get signal so just didn't work, every time we put oven on it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortuGolf, Owner at Tavira Garden, responded to this review

There are several different people offering apartments in Tavira Garden. Generally speaking, the apartments are of a high standard and the owners take care to ensure that clients are not disappointed in what they receive. However, there is always the exception which proves the rule and it would appear that this particular couple were unfortunate in their selection. As to... More

London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We went back as we found tavira gardens ticked most of our boxes. We were 2 family groups with 10-17 yr old kids. We had a car for the 2 weeks and wouldn't recommend a stay without one. Both apartments , a two bed and a three bed booked direct with the owners were fine. The free wifi in reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kernow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor I guess we should have been better prepared for the drawbacks of staying here. We had been to Tavira for a day visit and wanted to go back to stay longer. We chose Tavira Garden because it was very reasonably priced and assumed from the reviews that there would be a frequent bus service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PortuGolf, Owner at Tavira Garden, responded to this review

I can only sympathise with the disappointment of this reviewer. The reality is that Tavira Garden is a condominium where the apartments are individually owned and the condominium management takes care (and very good care!) of the public areas and of the communal facilities. The equipment, facilities and standards of individual apartments are NOT monitored or managed by the condominium... More

Glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Apartment was nice enough and place is pretty clean. Never used the pool as it was always very busy and no free beds that we could find. However the location wasn't so good. To go to tavira old town one has to walk up the N125 - note there is no pavement or verge so you are actually walking on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PortuGolf, Owner at Tavira Garden, responded to this review

Perhaps I walk on a different road to that used by the client. The road directly outside the complex may be busy but it has very wide hard shoulders which most people seem to be comfortable on -- and there are zebra crossings at the roundabout mentioned. As to loungers and umbrellas, it can sometimes be difficult to cater for... More

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had a lovely time in Tavira Gardens, lovely friendly staff, lovely apartment. It's a small walk into town across a busy road but once your in town is very pretty and lots of places to eat and shop, if you don't fancy the walk taxis are very quick and cheap under €5 .... Lovely beaches which are a cheap taxi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PortuGolf, Owner at Tavira Garden, responded to this review

I'm glad that the guest had an overall good experience in Tavira Garden but I'm quite surprised at the problems experienced in the pool. The main pool area is supervised and anti-social behaviour in any of the pools would be unusual in the extreme. Normally also, the "locals" are typically very much in the minority and friction between nationalities simply... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tavira Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tavira Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira Garden

Address: Sitio Cara de Pau, Estrada Nacional 125, Tavira 8800-221, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavira Garden 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tavira Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavira Garden Hotel Tavira
Garden Hotel Tavira

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tavira Garden, Algarve, is a modern holiday rental apartment complex. Set on a low hill looking out to sea over Tavira town, it is an expressionist rendition of the medieval Moorish style. The lush, mature gardens boast an impressive array of palm, carob and ancient olive trees, set off by lovingly tended shrubs and flowers. The family-friendly complex is ideal for those seeking a relaxing location from which to enjoy the sun, sand and sights of the Algarve or the magnificent golf courses, hills and countryside! Disco bars and lager louts are in short supply in Tavira but two night clubs are to be found! The complex has main pool 20mx10m, second pool 15mx6m (plus 2 kids pools), full gym (with personal trainer), tennis, boules, 2 kids play areas. On-site bar, restaurant (off-season opening limited) ensures convenient wining and dining. Large supermarket 300m. Car rental on site (airport drop-off OK) but many visitors walk (10-15 min) or taxi (4 Euros) to town centre. Free WiFi internet on site in Tavira Garden main reception area (guaranteed during office hours). ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer