We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

5.0 of 5 Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    76
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
36
156
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
There are newer reviews for Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
sussex
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

After a less than satisfactory experience at the Pousada Sagres , we decided to give this Pousada a chance. The Plus Points: In the centre of Tavira , but an Oasis of calm Great swimming pool Historic suroundings , wonderful cloisters Good choice of breakfast Helpful & happy staff Minus points Basic rooms are small & require Aircon if warm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post this thoughtful review and for your nice comments on the location, swimming pool, historical ambiance, breakfast service and, especially, the staff performance. We are very sorry Pousadas de Sagres and Tavira haven’t met your expectations. It is unfortunate your evening meal didn’t match the Pousadas standard. The Carte elaborated tries... More

Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We organised a seminar for 30+ people in the Pousada de Tavira end of June 2011 and we simply loved it. The staff was extremly friendly and supportive, helped with every single request in no time and made everybody feel welcome. The rooms are spacious, our quite complicated room allocation was handled smoothly and we didn't have any complaints from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to know you enjoyed the services provided by Pousada de Tavira. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on the staff, the rooms and the restaurant. Most Pousadas are result of the restoration of ancient buildings and, though it makes them unique places, it can also mean some acoustic issues on some areas but... More

Nottingham England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Just returned 22nd June 2011 from the Pousada De Tavira. Great location 5 minute walk to the beautiful village centre. The hotel was fabulous-went half board and you could choose from the A La Carte Menu at no extra charge- Scallops-Huge Prawns-Rack Of Lamb-Fillet Steak etc. Gorgeous swimming pool-really nice rooms-really gracious staff. Booked through Alpharooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Pousada de Tavira. We are delighted to read that you have had a really great time on your stay and can only hope to welcome you again in Pousadas de Portugal, Kind Regards More

New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Our three night stay in late May was excellent. We were warmly greeted at the pousada’s reception desk by Annabel, who walked with me to the room on the second floor to ensure it met my reservation requests: quiet, non-smoking and a view from the balcony. Perfect. Double bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. Annabel also gave us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were delighted to read your positive feedback and we are very happy to know you had a pleasant stay. Thank you very much for your thoughtful comments on the staff performance, the room you stayed, the breakfast service, the common areas and for giving your recommendation. Your helpful review will certainly be useful to people deciding whether... More

Manningtree, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Public and private (bedrooms) excellent quality furnishings and fittings. Lovely pool setting, which we were fortunate enough to have almost to ourselves. Breakfast buffet style, but good choice (I prefer to be waited on!). We ate in the restaurant just once (three night stay) and the food and staff were superb. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are glad Pousada de Tavira has matched your expectations and we would like to thank you for your recommendation. It’s true the pool area won’t always be that peaceful but the areas in the Pousada are generally very peaceful which makes Pousada de Tavira a very relaxing place to be and stay. Thank you also for your... More

LONDON
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This Pousada is a disgrace to the State owned chain of quality hotels. The service is dire and the food indifferent or downright bad. Having suffered food poisoning after eating breakfast you would expect a report of the event to Reception staff would have produced a reaction - WRONG. Dinner was the worst meal I have experienced in a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are terribly sorry your stay didn’t meet your expectations. Food poisoning is a very serious accusation and a very unfortunate matter. Pousada de Tavira follows the HACCP (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point) program and, until now, no client has had gastric indisposition due to a meal eaten on the Pousada. The reception staff has mentioned you reported... More

London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in April in a suite with a separate room for the kids to sleep in. The building is beautiful. It was actually being painted in the main courtyard whilst we were staying which was a bit annoying from an aesthetic point of view but did not actually disturb our stay at all. The pool was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pousadas de Portugal and for sharing such nice and helpful comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your family vacations, even though you have stayed during the improvement works, which we apologize for the inconvenience. Did you know Graça Convent in Tavira was once the Convent of the Cloistered Augustinian Nuns, which was founded... More

Tyne & Wear UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at the Pousada for 3 nights at the end of May and had a really lovely time. We thought the service and accomodation were of a very high standard and the overall ambience of the hotel was incredibly relaxing. We booked a few days beforehand after emailing the hotel directly and were quoted a special rate. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was wonderful to read the comments on your stay at Pousada de Tavira. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the ambiance and service of the Pousada, as well as, the staff performance and the food and wine from the restaurant. We would like to apologize for the disappointment on the toiletries from the bedroom. We... More

Lagos, Portugal
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Having read the positive reviews of the Pousada Convento da Graca on this and other sites, I took my partner there for a two day birthday treat. We hadn't been to Tavira for over 5 years, when we were scouting potential areas to buy an apartment, and then we stayed at the 4 star Vila Gale Tavira. The abiding memory... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is with great disappointment also that we read about your stay not being great, as expected by the standard Pousadas de Portugal provide. We truly apologize for the errors that were made on the process and the Regional Manager has been reported on the situations mentioned. We will strive to improve the matters you have emphasized and... More

Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

This pousada is a converted convent well designed and laid out. The room we had was fine with a small balcony. The breakfast is amazing with great variety and plenty for all. The pool area is nice, perfect for relaxing in the sun. The hotel is a short walk from the centre of town, adjacent to the castle. The staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, it's wonderful to hear you've enjoyed your stay at the historical Pousada de Tavira. Thank you for your sincere comments on the general services of the hotel. We're glad we've met your expectatios and hope to welcome you again! Best wishes. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Address: Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento Da Graca Tavira

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay