We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Krisjanis & Gertrude

Krisjana Barona iela 39, Riga LV-1011, Latvia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Krisjanis & Gertrude
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Krisjanis & Gertrude
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
10
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Roma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpul (except for the lady that greeted us on arrival, who barely spoke English). The room was ok, equipped with all amenities you should expect from a B&B, like TV set, boiler, etc (We could watch the Djokovic Murray semifinal @ Roland Garros). I just have to say that the room was a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I like this nice bed & breakfast hotel very much. It is centrally located in Riga and easy to get to by public transport. The room is nicely decorated with en-suite bathroom. There is free wifi and there is also a computer with a printer in the lounge. The staff of the hotel is very helpful and makes my stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santpoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I will NEVER book this B&B again! All rooms are on the street side. Tram (street car) passes by about every 5 minutes. Sounds like it's running straight through your room!!! And then I don't even want to mention the cobble road, where you can hear the cars and trucks roll over... We booked for 2 nights, but after the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It's confusing for me to see the positive reviews of K&G here and in Lonely Planet. The price was indeed good, but we stayed in an extremely small and noticeably dirty room with unbelievable traffic noise. I live in a downtown area anyway (and always travel with earplugs), but this really extreme. Keeping the windows closed did help a bit,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moscow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Friendly woman greeted me on the third floor, after I had a very hard time dragging my suitcase up the steep wooden stairs. Once I was able to catch my breath, I entered the wonderful spacious bright room, where we were to spend for 4 nights. The room was very comfortable, I liked the big window viewing the silent street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have found K&G hotel through tripadvisor and were not disappointed at all. In short - We spent three night at K&G. The place is an old manor house in the center of Riga, some 15 minutes walk from the old city. The building is well preserved, the room was spacious and comfortable, quiet despite facing two busy streets. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Helsinki
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really would like to give this lovely B&B full points: the two ladies who provided the breakfasts and any answers(in English & German(ish for my part)) to the questions I asked were absolutely lovely! The interior and rooms were very clean indeed and charming in their old fashioned way but I must say that the house itself did show... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is close to the old city and city center. The staff is really friendly and the young girl who attended me spoke good English. The hotel was clean and the bed was quite good. It is a an old wooden house, refurbished, that shakes every time the tram passes by. The walls are thin so you can clearly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kg_info, Owner at Krisjanis & Gertrude, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize that you were disturbed by people in the next room, and we shall certainly look at the possibility of improving the sound insulation when we next refurbish. It is however not a general problem. The shaking sometimes when a tram passes is unfortunate, but is because the house, being an early 19th century construction does not have... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights, and am so glad I chose this place. It really is a home away from home. I was given a 3-person room,which was very comfortable. It was cleaned and serviced daily. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is great-an easy 15-minute stroll from the Old Town (or 2 tram stops). There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
kg_info, Owner at Krisjanis & Gertrude, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. To quote John Dowland "Come again!" More 

norwich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This must be the best value for money in Riga. I come to Riga every 2 months and have stayed in lots of hotels which have been OK but nothing special. I tried this place last time and it is better than many hotels 3 times the price. I am wriitng this review from my second stay. The staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay