We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Krisjanis & Gertrude

Krisjana Barona iela 39, Riga LV-1011, Latvia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Krisjanis & Gertrude
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Krisjanis & Gertrude
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
9
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I like this nice bed & breakfast hotel very much. It is centrally located in Riga and easy to get to by public transport. The room is nicely decorated with en-suite bathroom. There is free wifi and there is also a computer with a printer in the lounge. The staff of the hotel is very helpful and makes my stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santpoort, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I will NEVER book this B&B again! All rooms are on the street side. Tram (street car) passes by about every 5 minutes. Sounds like it's running straight through your room!!! And then I don't even want to mention the cobble road, where you can hear the cars and trucks roll over... We booked for 2 nights, but after the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It's confusing for me to see the positive reviews of K&G here and in Lonely Planet. The price was indeed good, but we stayed in an extremely small and noticeably dirty room with unbelievable traffic noise. I live in a downtown area anyway (and always travel with earplugs), but this really extreme. Keeping the windows closed did help a bit,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moscow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Friendly woman greeted me on the third floor, after I had a very hard time dragging my suitcase up the steep wooden stairs. Once I was able to catch my breath, I entered the wonderful spacious bright room, where we were to spend for 4 nights. The room was very comfortable, I liked the big window viewing the silent street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have found K&G hotel through tripadvisor and were not disappointed at all. In short - We spent three night at K&G. The place is an old manor house in the center of Riga, some 15 minutes walk from the old city. The building is well preserved, the room was spacious and comfortable, quiet despite facing two busy streets. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really would like to give this lovely B&B full points: the two ladies who provided the breakfasts and any answers(in English & German(ish for my part)) to the questions I asked were absolutely lovely! The interior and rooms were very clean indeed and charming in their old fashioned way but I must say that the house itself did show... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is close to the old city and city center. The staff is really friendly and the young girl who attended me spoke good English. The hotel was clean and the bed was quite good. It is a an old wooden house, refurbished, that shakes every time the tram passes by. The walls are thin so you can clearly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kg_info, Owner at Krisjanis & Gertrude, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize that you were disturbed by people in the next room, and we shall certainly look at the possibility of improving the sound insulation when we next refurbish. It is however not a general problem. The shaking sometimes when a tram passes is unfortunate, but is because the house, being an early 19th century construction does not have... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights, and am so glad I chose this place. It really is a home away from home. I was given a 3-person room,which was very comfortable. It was cleaned and serviced daily. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is great-an easy 15-minute stroll from the Old Town (or 2 tram stops). There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
kg_info, Owner at Krisjanis & Gertrude, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. To quote John Dowland "Come again!" More 

norwich
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This must be the best value for money in Riga. I come to Riga every 2 months and have stayed in lots of hotels which have been OK but nothing special. I tried this place last time and it is better than many hotels 3 times the price. I am wriitng this review from my second stay. The staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Pros: excellent price, very large room, computer for guests, good location, decent breakfast Cons: decor is dated and a little ragged. I don't care too much about the looks as long as it is clean and comfortable but things like torn and stained carpet are a negative. Place could be great with some new paint, flooring and textiles. Overall it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question