We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tallinn Seaport Hotel

Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia (Formerly City Hotel Portus)
Hotel amenities
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015
94542h The Bay Area, CA
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    57
    87
    96
    11
    4
See reviews for
45
86
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
The Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We came by car about 10 pm and the front desk administrator was alone and overwhelmed but did her best to find my booking thru Expedia. The room was on the 4th floor overlooking the Tallink Passenger Terminal (D ?). We could see couple of big ferries from our room window. We chose this hotel mostly for a free parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warsaw
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

It was a great experience staying in that hotel. All of the services, staff, catering was good. Staff was very very helpfull. I will definately recommend it. It was Perfect. The location was perfect specially to the port.

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexandroupoli, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

A simply hotel just right on the port of Tallinn that offers only few things and it's only for one or two nights standing. The rooms are very convenient and large , the beds are very very good.It's a little bit noisy especially from the rooms above and next to your's. The food is very very good for launch and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fredrikstad, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

This is a nice hotel in the passenger harbour of Tallinn, right across the street from the D terminal used by Tallink. It is a very conveniant hotel if you are coming or going with any of the Tallink ferries and even if you're using the A terminal 7-8 minutes walk away (Viking Line, Eckerö Line and St. Peter Line).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel as it is close to ferry port to Helsinki, it is the worst hotel ever. All night you hear the noise of the cars/ lorries boarding and off loading from the ferry. The rooms are like prison cells, although clean, basic and very uncomfortable. As you come out of lift onto your floor the doors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swieqi, Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Very Convenient as we had arrived from Helsinki at 00.30. We just had to Cross the road from Terminal D, We were very tired and happy to find the hotel just across the road. The rooms are a good size, There are a bit of things to complain about ... the smell in the bathroom, Being given one pillow each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lukezc, Thank you for your comments! I am happy to see you found City Hotel Portus convenient for you! We'll deffinately try to up the antes for the next time you visit us! Kind regards, Maiken More 

Joensuu, Finland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel is located near D-terminal. Location is good for travellers from cruise ships. It is about 10min walk to old town. Bus nr 2 is going to airport. Taxis are available just outside - remember check rates (some might be quite high), in Tallinn prices are different depending on company (Tulika takso seems to be reasonable prices, it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mikko, Thank you for your post! I am sure your knowledge of the useful tips will be helpful for many others. We are looking forward to see you again! Kind regards, Maiken More 

Rajamäki, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This must be a very unfair review towards a decent hotel..but the experience was soo bad...it was a really hot day..and the room was on the sunny side..there was no air whatsoever and the room smelled bad..there was no airconditioning..only a dirty fan on the table..a bible at the desk made a sad but funny Kaurismäkian feeling to the room...the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mustikkainen, Thank you for your opinion! I am very sorry that you felt this way about your stay. All I can say is that we'll take your comment very seriously and improve from that. Best wishes, Maiken More 

Hämeenlinna
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed for one night in a small room (225) just for two persons. Room was O.K. with bathroom, everything was clean. There was no AC and it happened to be one of those hot nights. You couldn't open the window due to the traffic to the ferries. You can fall a sleep by counting lambs but not lorries. Of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heikki, Thank you for your useful tips! I am glad that you were quite satisfied with your stay at City Hotel Portus. We are deffinately trying to reach better and better quality each day and for your next visit I am sure we can top this memory! Looking forward to have you back, Maiken More 

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

If you are taking a morning ferry, it is perfect. But otherwise few options for food nearby, no ambience, and stuffy room. With early ferry schedule, it would be nice if breakfast started 30 min earlier, we were only able to grab hard boiled egg and roll as they were setting up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill, Thank you for your comment! I am glad you found our location convenient for you! Hopefully we will improve for your next time here all-around! Kind regards, Maiken More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
3:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay