We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 84 Tallinn hotels

City Hotel Portus

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia
Hotel amenities
City Hotel Portus
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added City Hotel Portus to your Saves list
60%
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014
myliontiger Fredrikstad, Norway
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    78
    89
    10
    4
See reviews for
42
79
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (237)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Fredrikstad, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

This is a nice hotel in the passenger harbour of Tallinn, right across the street from the D terminal used by Tallink. It is a very conveniant hotel if you are coming or going with any of the Tallink ferries and even if you're using the A terminal 7-8 minutes walk away (Viking Line, Eckerö Line and St. Peter Line).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel as it is close to ferry port to Helsinki, it is the worst hotel ever. All night you hear the noise of the cars/ lorries boarding and off loading from the ferry. The rooms are like prison cells, although clean, basic and very uncomfortable. As you come out of lift onto your floor the doors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swieqi, Malta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Very Convenient as we had arrived from Helsinki at 00.30. We just had to Cross the road from Terminal D, We were very tired and happy to find the hotel just across the road. The rooms are a good size, There are a bit of things to complain about ... the smell in the bathroom, Being given one pillow each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review

Dear Lukezc, Thank you for your comments! I am happy to see you found City Hotel Portus convenient for you! We'll deffinately try to up the antes for the next time you visit us! Kind regards, Maiken More

Joensuu, Finland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel is located near D-terminal. Location is good for travellers from cruise ships. It is about 10min walk to old town. Bus nr 2 is going to airport. Taxis are available just outside - remember check rates (some might be quite high), in Tallinn prices are different depending on company (Tulika takso seems to be reasonable prices, it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review

Dear Mikko, Thank you for your post! I am sure your knowledge of the useful tips will be helpful for many others. We are looking forward to see you again! Kind regards, Maiken More

Rajamäki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This must be a very unfair review towards a decent hotel..but the experience was soo bad...it was a really hot day..and the room was on the sunny side..there was no air whatsoever and the room smelled bad..there was no airconditioning..only a dirty fan on the table..a bible at the desk made a sad but funny Kaurismäkian feeling to the room...the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review

Dear Mustikkainen, Thank you for your opinion! I am very sorry that you felt this way about your stay. All I can say is that we'll take your comment very seriously and improve from that. Best wishes, Maiken More

Hämeenlinna
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed for one night in a small room (225) just for two persons. Room was O.K. with bathroom, everything was clean. There was no AC and it happened to be one of those hot nights. You couldn't open the window due to the traffic to the ferries. You can fall a sleep by counting lambs but not lorries. Of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review

Dear Heikki, Thank you for your useful tips! I am glad that you were quite satisfied with your stay at City Hotel Portus. We are deffinately trying to reach better and better quality each day and for your next visit I am sure we can top this memory! Looking forward to have you back, Maiken More

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

If you are taking a morning ferry, it is perfect. But otherwise few options for food nearby, no ambience, and stuffy room. With early ferry schedule, it would be nice if breakfast started 30 min earlier, we were only able to grab hard boiled egg and roll as they were setting up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review

Dear Jill, Thank you for your comment! I am glad you found our location convenient for you! Hopefully we will improve for your next time here all-around! Kind regards, Maiken More

Rovaniemi, Finland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Basic good hotel at Tallinn harbor across the Tallink D terminal. The facilities are good. Clean room, big bathroom, rather large rooms with table, few beds and the smallest tv's I have ever seen in hotel, but your not in Tallinn to watch tv anyway :) The main problem however during this summers extremely hot weather was that there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review

Dear Juha-Matti R, Thank you for your suggestions! I am sure we can improve on your tips and the future guests can have a better experience thanks to you. Having you back for next time would be a pleasure, too! See you then! With kind regards, Maiken More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I booked this hotel for one night following a tour through Scandinavia. The staff were very helpful at my check in, and upgraded me to a larger room on the ground floor (very convenient as I was lugging a large backpack around!) The room itself was spacious, with a large comfortable bed, lots of room for luggage, and a decent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you for your comment! I am very happy to see that you had a great time at City Hotel Portus. We would be more than happy to have you back in the future. Greetings to Australia! With kind wishes, Maiken More

Detroit Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I booked to stay at the City Hotel Portus twice (my first two nights in Tallinn and then, my last 2). I went for a few days to Saaremaa Island in between. I selected this hotel based on the price and also it had received good reviews overall. The rooms are not bad and breakfast is included in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at City Hotel Portus, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, Thank you for your feedback! All I can say is that I am terribly sorry for your inconveniences during your trip to Tallinn and Saaremaa. I assure you that this is not our standard of quality and these misunderstandings, although unforgivable, were a series of misfortunate coincidents. We do take care of our guests' best interests and this... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to City Hotel Portus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Portus

Address: Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Portus 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your City Hotel Portus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Tallinn

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
3:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay