We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 84 Tallinn hotels

Taanilinna Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Taanilinna Hotel to your Saves list
Taanilinna Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
84%
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
A recent review
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    90
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
89
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (202)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed for a night, and although the room were quite small - they were very clean and fresh. The location was wonderful - we walked everywhere without having to take a taxi to any sights. Loved the antique, classic decor inside. A real "Tallinn" feeling to it. Our flight was early so we had to get up at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Thank you for your kind words! I am very glad you had such a good experience here at Taanilinna Hotell! We are eager to have you return to Taanilinna and Tallinn! Kind wishes, Terje Taal More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is situated just inside the old town. We were amazed how quiet it was considering we were sleeping with open windows in a courtyard setting. The room was attractive and clean. Breakfast was basic. Boiled eggs, Kefir, bread, ham and cheese, tomatoes and cucumber slices etc....The staff at the reception were very nice and helpful. It was good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment! Surely it will be helpful for many other users, too! We would be more than happy to have you back on and off season! :) Best wishes, Terje Taal More

Kilrush
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very old building successfully converted into a hotel. Don't expect lifts and straight walls. Our room was small but perfectly formed and equipped. It was hot but the room fan sorted that. It was very clean and everything worked. It was quiet and it oozed character. Breakfast was basic but substantial enough to make a packed lunch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise, Thank you for your pointers! I am sure it'll help many others to figure out a good place to stay in Tallinn. Looking forward to your next visit, With kind regards, Terje Taal More

Netanya, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The hotel is located in a quiet section of the old town, a short walk to the center of the lovely old town and even a shorter walk to the malls of modern Tallinn. The staff is very helpful and friendly, speaking well enough English, it was a heat wave and they gave us the fan from the reception to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Boazta, Thank you for your kind words! I am very happy to see you were satisfied with your stay at Taanilinna Hotell. We are already looking forward to your next visit! Kind wishes, Terje Taal More

Helsinki, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Deluxe room was great. The hotel had no service of any kind. Felt like a hostel, but the room was so nice, it didn't matter much. Romantic feeling. Smaller rooms seemed a bit dark. No A/C. Breakfast was a basic cold breakfast. Price is a bit high considering it was basically a nice room in a good place, no minibar,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kari, Thank you for your post! I am sure your suggestions will help us on improving. By the next time you are here I hope we can provide you with something totally remarkable! Kind wishes, Terje Taal More

West Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We read such nice reviews of the Taanilinna that we were dismayed when we actually arrived. There was no way we two senior adults could manage to get up to the third floor for our prepaid room......carrying luggage no less. So we settled for a ground floor with a stained glass window of sorts. The room was like a dungeon.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rojersey, Thank you for your opinion! It is difficult to agree with everything you said because we work hard to have things almost the opposite you described your feelings were. But nevertheless I feel we can learn from your suggestions and try to improve more and more each day. Thank you for reminding us that it is never good... More

Poole
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I only stayed here one night, so that may account for the room. The hotel is in the centre of the old town and looks lovely. I only paid slightly less for this hotel than I did for My City Tallinn, which was a 4 star, but was in a completely different league. The room was horrible! Dingy, dark and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robinsonm008, Thank you for your opinion! I am sorry that you did not find Taanilinna Hotell to be what you had expected. Some of the concerns you had are very good suggestions and we will surely try to improve on what we can but on the other hand we still are not a 4* hotel which might have caused... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Pros: - location is within walking distance to all the major sites - bathroom and room is extremely clean Cons: - small room - no air con which means it was hot in July - attititude of front desk staff - "Your room is on the third floor and no, there is no elevator which means you have to carry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear scho31, Thank you for writing this review! I am sorry that you felt somewhat uncomfortable when you first arrived to Taanilinna Hotell. I really want to stress, though, that our staff is nearly never inpolite intentionally. I am very sorry that you felt this way but I do believe that the misunderstandings could have begun from the language barrier.... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of Tallinn Old Town - Views from our room were superb. However our room was a tiny attic room with barely enough room to move. Maybe ask for a larger room. Breakfasts were ok, limited variety compared to other hotels we have stayed. Location excellent- so close to restaurants and souvenir shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda, Thank you for your post! I am glad you were pleased with our location. Hopefully you will have a good memory of us as well as Tallinn and maybe we can top it the next time you visit. With best wishes, Terje Taal More

San Diego
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, my room was sparkling clean and modern (on the 3rd floor and there was no elevator but I enjoyed the exercise), and the wifi worked well. They even had a computer!!!. My room was very quiet. The location is convenient to the old town and also the central city. The breakfast was basic,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MsEnergy, Thank you for the post! It will surely be useful for other users, too. I am very happy to see that you had an experience as enjoyable as we have always imagined our guests should have. You could not have put it in better words! Looking forward to have you back! Sincerely, Terje Taal More

Do you own or manage Taanilinna Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Taanilinna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotel

Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Taanilinna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Taanilinna Hotel

Enlarge Map