We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fagus

Ojtozi Fasor 3, Sopron 9400, Hungary
Hotel amenities
Fagus
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Sopron
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015
DB_Geert Lennik, Belgium
Add Photo

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    19
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
12
19
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Lennik, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

this hotel has modern rooms, however it doesn't have the best available beds in Sopron area. It's located outside the Sopron city centre but near to a green area. The bar in hotel is ok, if it's 'open' as it's often (early) closed. The restaurant has OK food, but is boring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus, responded to this review

Dear DB_Geert Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry your bad experience with our beds, as we changed most of the matracces a half year before. We do every time our bests for our customers, if they inform us about their current problem on spot. We keep the opening time of our bar, caffe and... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Running in the woods in the morning around the hotel with raindeers running around was an experience i will never forget. Hotel is located in a wonderful forest surrounding, city is 2-3m away which is good if you want to relax but not optimal for sightseeing. Room view is exceptional, staff is very friendly, lots of facilities. The only small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much your very kind review. We do all time our bests for our guests, even if the result (I mean hereunder the review of our guests) is not every time the best. Our attitude is allways the same, we try to provide the possible best services to our guests. Thank you for your stay, and... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel many times and we still come back every year. We love the location of the hotel and its neighbourhood. It has an atmosphere that I can't describe. It is located in Sopron, but it's like a remote place surrounded with forest. This is the main reason why we come here. The other reason is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus, responded to this review

Dear Olci83, Thank you very much for your exceptional correct review and proposals. We will accept more of them, hopefully you will see some changement by your next visit! We wish you a very happy New Year! p.s: Please note by your next visit, that you want a double room with real double bed! I guess you will get it... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights and in summary the hotel is very disappointing and we had only bad experiences. Generally, the quality is not for a 4 star hotel and the services and the niveau look like as an old company's recreational place from the late 80's (although the hotel was built after this period). The rooms are dirty,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus, responded to this review

Dear AZ, Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed that you found only negativ features, althought you are right in mostly. The carpets are realy dirty, we tried already more companies, there is a company for example who is coming with nanotechnology cleaning system on next Monday. The air-condition system is realy old one, (as the hotel is... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sopron hotels

Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

I stayed here with two large conferences in the summer of 2007 and 2008 and was very pleased overall with the hotel. Staff was great and helpful and the property is beautiful. The food was delicious and the amenities on the property were more than adequate, including the pool, spa, and the walking paths. Because we were with conferences, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus, responded to this review

Dear Tonytshen, Thank you very much for your great review. We are very pleased every time, when we get positiv feedback from our guests. Sopron is realy a wonderful place, where nature (Lövérek Hill) and history (downtown) are living in perfect harmony. Thank you again, and we wish you a lot of further joyful hotel stay! More 

Budapest, Hungary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

There were a young football team in the hotel, they were making a HUGE noise during the night (until 3am!!!) They were constantly shouting in the corridor and shutting the doors SEVERAL times every single night... We payed for a room with air conditioner, but the air conditioner didn't work in our room...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus, responded to this review

Dear KM, Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry, hearing you couldn't sleep well because the young football team. We offer you 50 % discount to your next stay with us let impact you with a relaxing quiet weekend in the Fagus. But please: if you have any complain anywhere, turn imidiately to the management in... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel is fantastic. Great location very nice area in the middle of a forest. The hotel its self modern very pleasant place with a spa where you can spend a relaxing evening. The restaurant is good. We had dinner and breakfast there. Great selection of food and very good quality. Staff is very friendly in the restaurant and at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus, responded to this review

Dear fourati89, Thank you very much for you fantastic review. We are very happy read it, and forward it to our staff. It helps us to develope our services in hospitality and keep our colleauges well motivated. We wish you a great summer holiday! Very kind regards, Miklos Kovacs More 

Sheffield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were staying here because of being involved with an event taking place at the Hotel and I was disappointed before even arriving that this was so far out of the beautiful town centre. It was necessary to get taxis to and from the town which used up more of our forints than eating out! The hotel is modern and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Garyw123, Thank you very much for your review. Refering to your opinion about the location, some people like it in the wonderful green area, others would be more happy in the historic city center. So we are different. Certainly we have website with description about the location of the hotel, where we are, how fare is the hotel... More 

Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent 5 amazing days in Hotel Fagus with my colleagues in the beginning of May 2014. We were all pleased with our rooms, the facilities of the hotel and the politeness of the stuff. The rooms were very clean and we had no problems with our beds (we had 4 different rooms). The view from the balcony was breathtaking.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus, responded to this review

Dear VeraFinland Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review, we realy appreciated it in every details. Your review has given us posititiv energy to do our job even better and better. Thank you again, and we wish you a wonderful summer! Miklos More 

Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a hotel between 3 and 4 stars. On the bright side: The location is amazing, by the forest, step out and you can run, bike or walk around. Rooms are okay, nothing special but good bathroom and beds. The place is children friendly. But: cleanliness is not great, floor carpet is a minus, and the TV is kinda... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Fagus, responded to this review

Dear Guest B G, Thank you your review, we are very pleased about it. Thank you for your positiv feedback as well, and we have to accept your negative experiance too. It is true, we have some part of the hotel, what we should have to renew, for example the floor carpets, the corridor"s illumination, and others. Unfortunately we are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay