We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Sopron hotels

Hotel Wollner

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Templom u. 20, Sopron 9400, Hungary
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Wollner to your Saves list
Hotel Wollner
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
94%
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Sopron
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
TracyHoppy North Yorkshire
  • Overview
  • Reviews (75)
  • Photos (24)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
32
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, triple room. Very clean, spacious and friendly. Clean towels each morning! Nice bathroom with a great shower. The staff were very helpful. Central location and easy to find. The breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear TracyHoppy! We would like to thank you for your really nice review about our hotel! It is always a pleasure to read opinions by guests who appreciate the hard work we put into making guests feel happy and comfortable in different surroundings. We hope you will visit us again in the future! We wish you all the best! Kind... More

Birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for five nights in early August and were delighted with the location - a historic location in the pedestrianised old town - and the welcome we experienced. There are enough English speakers on the staff so we had no problems. The hotel was busier at the weekend but still quiet and comfortable. An excellent big cool room, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uberaba, MG
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located in a historical building, the Wollner was quite a lovely surprise. Located just off the main square, the hotel is small but very cozy, rooms are of very good size, clean and tidy. Staff is corteous and discreet. Be aware that the hotel has no lift, so if you are carrying heavy luggage or has any mobility issues, this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Hueb, We would like to thank you for your honest opinion! We appreciate your kind words and evaluation of our hotel. We are very proud of our historical soundings and were very pleased to read that you mentioned this in your review. Our hotel is quite small with total of 18 rooms, and our highest floor is the... More

Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a heritage building. Its located in the historic part of town so great for seeing the sights, but an easy (10min) walk from the railway station. Rooms are good size, very clean and tidy, with heritage furniture, and there is a lovely courtyard. And check out the courtyard gate - its impressively solid! Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Murray, First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel! It is always a pleasure to read reviews which reflect the effort given by all of our staff memebers to keep the standard of hospity that we have managed to reach. We thank you for your generous... More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Wollner based on its location and TA reviews and we were not disappointed. The location is great close to Szechenyi ter with plenty of metered parking and it is right on the edge of the Belvaros (old town) which is closed to traffic. I believe you can drive in to drop off luggage but as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your very much for your much appreciated honest review! Your kind words and detailed review about our hotel make what we do worth it! We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and that your experiences in Sopron were nothing else but positive. It is a pleasure to read guest opinions such as... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in the hotel 2 nights. The rooms were clean and tidy, and the hotel has a great classical interior, with rustic furniture. The breakfast was o.k., nothing special though. A disappointing that they had no hot chocolate...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your writing your opinion after your stay with us! We are delighted to read positive feedback about the cleanliness and quality of our hotel. We also thank you for writing your honest opinion about breakfast. We are very sorry that you didn't mention you required hot chocolate, because we always serve whatever the... More

Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel has no air condition, so if the weather is hot consider twice if you want to stay here, as it`s gonna be too hot! We were here in May and weather was around 20 C and without air conditionjust it was just OK but humid!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear HappiestMother, Thank you very much for your honest review. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Our hotel's building is 600 years old with walls that are several meters thick- these walls react well to hot and cold weather. They keep the rooms cool during summer and warm during winter. When we rebuilt... More

Hertfordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Although still the premier, centrally located hotel in Sopron, I confess we were a little disappointed. The arrival, unloading and location of nearby parking is all fine. The hotel is located in one of the town’s splendid old Baroque houses complete with carriage entrance and garden (not obviously open during our stay). The room we occupied on the first floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Manager at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your opinion which is very much valued. Because our hotel isn't very large and can only accept a smaller capacity of people we always serve hot options at breakfast freshly which is why they are not part of our breakfast selection. It is very important that our staff show equal enthusiasm and comittment... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I could write a good bit about the many reasons we found this hotel so nice...but the offer of the owner to allow us to borrow her and her husband's coats because of the abnormally cold fall day was reflective of our entire stay. Staff was very friendly and rooms were clean and well organized...unless you are looking for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Recpetionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Ditto famiy, Thank you very much for your positive review! We much enjoyed having you here at our hotel. We try to make each and every guest feel at home and we hope that when they leave, they leave with a smile on their face and with positive experiences and good memories of their stay. We are very happy... More

india
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was with a group of 13 people cycling from Prague to Budapest and got here in the evening with the group. Its a small but quaint hotel in the center of town run by a husband and wife. Tr e property itself is very beautiful - they have a restaurant on the ground floor with a seating area on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Mitesh Gupta, Thank you very much for your valued review! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a review about our hotel! Our hotels staff work hard to provide such service and to maintain the standard that is required of a four star hotel. We are very glad to read positive feedback especially opinions such as... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Wollner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Wollner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wollner

Address: Templom u. 20, Sopron 9400, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wollner 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wollner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wollner Hotel Sopron

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sopron with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Wollner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer