We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Sopron hotels

Hotel Wollner

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Templom u. 20, Sopron 9400, Hungary
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Wollner to your Saves list
Hotel Wollner
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
94%
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Sopron
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Murray B Dunedin, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
28
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely hotel in a heritage building. Its located in the historic part of town so great for seeing the sights, but an easy (10min) walk from the railway station. Rooms are good size, very clean and tidy, with heritage furniture, and there is a lovely courtyard. And check out the courtyard gate - its impressively solid! Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Murray, First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel! It is always a pleasure to read reviews which reflect the effort given by all of our staff memebers to keep the standard of hospity that we have managed to reach. We thank you for your generous... More

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Wollner based on its location and TA reviews and we were not disappointed. The location is great close to Szechenyi ter with plenty of metered parking and it is right on the edge of the Belvaros (old town) which is closed to traffic. I believe you can drive in to drop off luggage but as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your very much for your much appreciated honest review! Your kind words and detailed review about our hotel make what we do worth it! We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and that your experiences in Sopron were nothing else but positive. It is a pleasure to read guest opinions such as... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in the hotel 2 nights. The rooms were clean and tidy, and the hotel has a great classical interior, with rustic furniture. The breakfast was o.k., nothing special though. A disappointing that they had no hot chocolate...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your writing your opinion after your stay with us! We are delighted to read positive feedback about the cleanliness and quality of our hotel. We also thank you for writing your honest opinion about breakfast. We are very sorry that you didn't mention you required hot chocolate, because we always serve whatever the... More

Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel has no air condition, so if the weather is hot consider twice if you want to stay here, as it`s gonna be too hot! We were here in May and weather was around 20 C and without air conditionjust it was just OK but humid!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear HappiestMother, Thank you very much for your honest review. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Our hotel's building is 600 years old with walls that are several meters thick- these walls react well to hot and cold weather. They keep the rooms cool during summer and warm during winter. When we rebuilt... More

Hertfordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Although still the premier, centrally located hotel in Sopron, I confess we were a little disappointed. The arrival, unloading and location of nearby parking is all fine. The hotel is located in one of the town’s splendid old Baroque houses complete with carriage entrance and garden (not obviously open during our stay). The room we occupied on the first floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Manager at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your opinion which is very much valued. Because our hotel isn't very large and can only accept a smaller capacity of people we always serve hot options at breakfast freshly which is why they are not part of our breakfast selection. It is very important that our staff show equal enthusiasm and comittment... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I could write a good bit about the many reasons we found this hotel so nice...but the offer of the owner to allow us to borrow her and her husband's coats because of the abnormally cold fall day was reflective of our entire stay. Staff was very friendly and rooms were clean and well organized...unless you are looking for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Recpetionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Ditto famiy, Thank you very much for your positive review! We much enjoyed having you here at our hotel. We try to make each and every guest feel at home and we hope that when they leave, they leave with a smile on their face and with positive experiences and good memories of their stay. We are very happy... More

india
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was with a group of 13 people cycling from Prague to Budapest and got here in the evening with the group. Its a small but quaint hotel in the center of town run by a husband and wife. Tr e property itself is very beautiful - they have a restaurant on the ground floor with a seating area on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Mitesh Gupta, Thank you very much for your valued review! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a review about our hotel! Our hotels staff work hard to provide such service and to maintain the standard that is required of a four star hotel. We are very glad to read positive feedback especially opinions such as... More

budapest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Hotel Wollner was a good choice to stay. The owners of the hotel were very kind and helpful. All the reasonable request will be accepted. The location was in an authentic baroque old town with its pros and cons. (Beautiful old houses, very good location but because of the narrow streets it was a little noisy.) The hotel itself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear a v, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Our hotel is built in an authentic style int the historical heart of Sopron to uphold the feeling Sopron has to provide those who decide to visit our lovely town! We thank you for your kind words and hope you had an... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

In an conflict with cab-drivers the rezeption endorsed not our guide (as a guest of the hotel) but the hungarian cab drivers. I had the bad impression, they tried to ripp us off. Dinner for the group in the evening was not, what yout might expect from a hotel of this category. I was glad to back to Austria, to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Studiosus J, Thank you very much for your reiew which we have taken into account and from which we have learned from. Since your stay there has been a change in reception staff. Please accept our sincere appology regarding the matter. We are very sorry for your unpleasant experience. Our aim is to help the guest with whatever she/he... More

Warsaw
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Wollner for one night. The room was large. Decoration was a bit old fashioned but both the room and the hotel were comfortable. Location is excellent. The hotel is located in the center of nice town of Sopron. If you driving, you can park in nearby streets. Service was very good too. We arrived pretty late... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review

Dear Tygrys, Thank you very much for your detailed review. Our hotel is built in a style that represents the historical essence that Sopron has to offer, which to some may be regarded as old-fashioned, however we continously try to maintain the balance between old/ historical and modern- with an elegant exterior and interior design in which our hotel was... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Wollner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Wollner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wollner

Address: Templom u. 20, Sopron 9400, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wollner 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wollner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wollner Hotel Sopron

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;