We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Budapest Metropol

Rakoczi Utca 58, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Metropol
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Budapest Metropol
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    212
    166
    41
    25
See reviews for
61
224
60
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (531)
  • Mar-May only
    (125)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (167)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
Croydon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed 2 nights at the Metropol hotel on a group visit and had very little sleep throughout. Most of the group found their rooms to be exceedingly hot and no air conditioning. I was unfortunate in that my room overlooked the street so could not have the window open as the noise was excruciating. I don't blame the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry You were not satisfied with our services. Spring time is difficult regarding air-technic. It is not broke down or without supervision, only a period of time when the night is 6Celsius and during the day it goes up to 19 Celsius- hotel has a system that is working either heat or cool, but not both... More 

Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had a really bad experience at this hotel. My work implies a bit of travel and I have seen my fair share of good and bad hotels. Mercury Metropol falls pretty low under the second category. As objectively as possible, here are the pros and cons: Pros: - good and polite staff - close to metro and tram Cons:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were sorry to learn that you found our hotel to be in need of some renovation and that we were unable to accommodate you to your satisfaction. We were pleased to read that you appreciated other aspects of your stay. Best Regards, Maria Blaskovics More 

Bayside, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A good choice all around. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the City Centre with all its Meridians and Schmo Schmo's (my word !) ...The neighborhood is decidedly safe but a bit dicey for some folks' tastes. It was a quick walk from the big train station and similarly both Metro. bus and tram stops are all nearby.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your warm review and for having taken the time to write so many details. We were delighted that you enjoyed "a great experience" and that you recommend our hotel to others. Best Regards, Maria Blaskovics GM. More 

Mercer Island, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a large hotel in a central transportation hub of Budapest. The hotel has two large modern elevators. The room was quite large. I thought the breakfast was too expensive, but a hot water pot with coffee and tea was provided in the room. The instant coffee was not bad and was replaced every day. There are many grocery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for your valuable comments, will surely help other travellers. I am pleased You appreciated our central location, hope to see Yours again in our hotel if returned to Budapest. Best Regards, Maria Blaskovics GM. More 

Cardiff, Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 5 nights on a short city break. Good location 15 minute walk to the centre and the Danube. Comfy beds and decent continental breakfast. Perfect cheap hotel to rest your head after a busy day seeing the sights of the lovely city Budapest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for your comments. It’s a pleasure for me to read that you were satisfied with our location and services. I sincerely hope we have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Mercure Metropol, Maria Blaskovics General manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love the look of this hotel and the location is fantastic. 25 minute drive from the airport and 5 - 10 minute walk from the nightlife! I highly recommend visiting Szimpla Kert or the bar opposite the hotel for cheap drinks. Budapest is such a lovely, beautiful city and I can't wait to return and stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Roxii, Thank you for the review of your stay in April 2015 which we understand was a pleasant one. We hope, therefore, that should you return to Budapest in the near future you will choose to stay with us once more, Best Regards, Maria Blaskovics GM. More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel is relatively close to the city center. There is also a nearby metro stop.The room was small but cozy and everything was very clean. Staff was friendly. This Hotel is perfect for a stay of 3 or 4 days in Budapest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your warm review and for having taken the time to write one. We were delighted that you enjoyed "a great experience" and that you recommend our hotel to others. Best Regards, Maria Blaskovics GM. More 

Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came all the way from Chicago to Budapest and stayed at this hotel. The staff was super friendly and knowledgeable about everything. The room was small but cozy and everything was very clean. This exceeded my expectations being that we didn't pay a lot for it. I would stay here again without a question.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Tony, Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Metropol in Budapest. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Maria Blaskovics More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly, helpful staff, clean, comfortable rooms, good rates. Not sure why people give this hotel bad reviews. I don't care what colour the sink is, as long as it's clean! There are many high class hotels around, but you'll be paying 3 times as much! See you in October!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question