We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Home Plus Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Balassi Balint Street 27 (bell 53) | Budapest 5th district, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Hotel amenities
Home Plus Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #92 of 525 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    18
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As i said this hostel is kinda two faced because there are two homeplus hostels tight next to each other and i think you cant really choose which one you want, at least not by booking via hostel.com or hostelbooker.com (just write an email to them, i think then you can choose) Right in the beginning choose the newer one!(i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 4 nights in February as quick and cheap getaway to Budapest. The location of the hostel ended up being a little bit further from where the main bars and restaurants were however it is on the tram line and isn't a far walk from the metro, so even though we weren't in the heart of Budapest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We got to the hostel really early and the guy who was in change let us had breakfast, we were really thank full. We left our staff and came back at night. Our 4 beded room was big and comfortable. The next day we left our staff all day also. The staff was always nice and helpfull. The hostel its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Maria! We wait you back anytime :) Cheers, H+H Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights during a quick trip to Budapest and it was perfect for what we needed. The hostel is more like a flat than any other hostel I've stayed in. There is a reception area with a common room and a dining area next to a small kitchen. The rooms all go off this area and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Marianne! Cheers for the nice words :) HH Team More 

Debrecen, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

The hostel is right at the waterfront of the Danube. The staff is very friendly, and they organize various programs such as free dinner, pub crawl. It also has spacious common areas, where you can hang around with interesting strangers from all over the World. Loved it, cool and relaxed :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot! Pub crawl was on heck of the night :) HH Team More 

Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

After reading the reviews all I can say is I was absolutely disappointed!!!! I went 3 nights without sleep and felt I was in a frat house. The first night, there was someone showering at 3 am, I figured maybe this person had a early flight???? WRONG! The next night it began again there were several people showering during the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline, We feel sorry about your experience but according to our reviews it might be a rare incident. Our staff try their best all the time thats why they closed the bathroom for your comfort. You know it is not possible to forbid people from partying and as you mentioned some of our guests have an early flight. We... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Really love this place. We were given a four-person bedroom although our booking was only for 3 in another building close to the hostel but also owned by the hostel. Security was good, and the place really felt like home. The common area was a nice place to hang out & breakfast was basic but adequate. Located really near the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Xyanna! Hope you could catch your plane :) See you back sometimes! HH Team More 

Trieste, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

The staff at this hostel were extremely helpful. The rooms were well set out and very comfortable. It was a wonderful place to stay because of the comfy beds, air conditioning and the television. The bathrooms were also immaculate and the kitchen well equipped.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot Matteo, it has been a great pleasure to welcome you, guys! HH Team More 

Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Excellent location by the river. Very friendly and helpful staff. Extremely clean, quiet, and comfortable hostel. They also offer free dinner every other day which is a great way to meet other travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

We apprecieate your kind words, feel free to join us again anytime :) Cheers, H+H Team More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

From free breakfast, free Hungarian dinners 3 times a week, free super fast WiFi, free towels, a cool music playlist, a colourful common room and awesome staff; you will thoroughly enjoy either a short or long stay at this hostel. It is located near the river, close to tram stops and walking distance to the city centre. It is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

That is a big high five, thanks a lot on behalf of our staff too :) H+H Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question