We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 506 Budapest accommodations

Home Plus Hostel

Balassi Balint Street 27 (bell 53) | Budapest 5th district, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Home Plus Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Home Plus Hostel to your Saves list
89%
Ranked #45 of 506 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Tiger_Gagnon Quebec, Canada
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    10
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
28
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is 1 min walk from downtown. I really enjoyed my stay there. You can meet very interresting people coming from all arounbd the globe in the comon room. Super clean, very cosy. I did the pub crawl the first night and it was crazy. I have nothing bad to say about this hostel, this is the best I've... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Owner at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Gagnon! Thanks and hope to see you soon :) H+H Team More

Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Double private bedroom does not have a toilet in bathroom only shower which would be nice that it was mentioned in facilities listing. The bed is very uncomfortable and squeaky, so we slept very bad. Breakfast is very poor, only bread, jam and fruits. Room walls are very thin so you can hear everything that's going on on the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Owner at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey there! Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate your words of honesty. We were a bit wondering while reading your criticts for the following reasons: 1.) You said we have uncomfy beds, well according to Gomio's ranking our beds are in the top 10 of the world :) We have even won a prize for that. 2.) You have booked... More

UK
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I traveled to Budapest with my partner the week before her birthday. We looked through several hostels before settling on Homeplus and we were definitely glad we chose this one! The staff are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area, culture and nightlife. The evening meals provide a fantastic opportunity to meet the whole team and the rest of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey there! Curtis and Anton just loved your words, thanks a lot for appreciating our work! Wait you back anytime!! Greetings from Homeplus Hostel! More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Budapest is an incredible place regardless, but staying at HomePlus elevated this leg of our trip above all others. Two of us stayed in a six person dorm - clean and comfy with reading lights, powerpoints and lockers (BYO lock) for each bed. Wifi is included and it's reliable. The Hungarian dinners a few times a week make it feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Big words :) Thanks a lot! More

Knokke, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Slept at the hostel for two nights. Great location close to Parliament. Not very expensive. Very cosy atmosphere and helpful but sometimes overworked staff. Room were allright for this kind of hostel. Bathroom facilities were bit small and not up to date. Overall great place to stay for couple of days when visiting Budapest as a (young) backpacker.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Nicholas! Thank you very much, come back to us anytime! HomePlus Team More

Doha, Qatar
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

All in all, the facilities are great and the Hungarian girls are very welcoming and wonderful. I would give this place full marks if they were the only ones working there. However, the British guys make an excellent experience less than. They don't understand Budapest's location and culture, and they don't want to try. As a 24 hour institution, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Anita! Thanks a lot for your honest opinion about us and about our staff, we appreciate you have chosen our hostel as your stay in Budapest. However, allow me to respond about your review in more words, because there are important informations missing in your review: I would first like to say that you have been checked in by... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely rooms, not a huge hostel so a real family feel I.e breakfast around a large family table.. Hostel workers run the bar crawl. Lovely company there, lovely social area, such a good location- right next to parliament building

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

That is just right Ellie, we don't have a huge hostel. The guests, community and our staff are what make this place huge! Cheers and welcome back anytime! H+H Team More

bicton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The huge positive for this hostel is the excellent friendly staff! Right from checking in they gave me great helpful information! They make a free dinner every second night for all the guests! Very clean hostel in a great location near the Danube and Margarit Bridge! Close to the station and public transport! Only negative is one toilet for males... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hope you enjoyed the dinner, Jackson! Thanks for the nice words! Homeplus Team More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

She was so friendly and helpful, even when we arrived late at night. She made this place great :). Nice chilled out hostel and good location near some great bars. Keep your eyes peeled for the front door as was a little tricky to find - we walked straight past it a few times!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Katie! Thanks a lot, your praise is forwarded to Lily, she was extremely happy about it. Wait you guys back sometimes, with Lily smiling behind the reception :) More

Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I've been traveling to almost all of Europe over the years and this is one of the best hostels I've come across. Excellent position, 2 minutes from the Danube by walk and close to most places of interest. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, hardly ever been welcomed better. Rooms in good shape, there are only two bathrooms and three showers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your praising words and see you back! :) Cheers, H+H Team More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Home Plus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Plus Hostel

Address: Balassi Balint Street 27 (bell 53) | Budapest 5th district, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Home Plus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay