We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Home Plus Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Balassi Balint Street 27 (bell 53) | Budapest 5th district, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Hotel amenities
Home Plus Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #92 of 541 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Nehemiah E
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    19
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I gotta say.. My first visit to budapest i didnt enjoy very much.. Probably because i didnt stay in home plus hostel! My 2nd time Around, i finally got it right. The staff here is very happy and helpful, and the volunteers they had workjng here were also great! The staff really helped establish a great atmosphere here, i stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Very very cool hostel! very spacious great designed rooms! Nice common room and kitchen! What I liked very much is super breakfast, very tasty local food! Staff was very friendly, kindly and helpful. The place good for sightseeing and walking around!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Oleg! Thank you very much, kind and true words. We always prepare our dinners out of local ingredients with heaps of Hungarian taste :) Cheers, HH Team More 

Medford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Spent 3 nights here and had a blast! Excellent staff, good rates, awesome location! Would totally recommend this place to anyone! Right near the tram line and right by the river and the Parliament building!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey there! Thanks a lot and hope to see you soon :) HH Team More 

Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

As i said this hostel is kinda two faced because there are two homeplus hostels tight next to each other and i think you cant really choose which one you want, at least not by booking via hostel.com or hostelbooker.com (just write an email to them, i think then you can choose) Right in the beginning choose the newer one!(i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Paul! Thanks a lot, great stay, great feedback which makes us extremely satisfied :) You just arrived after opening, come back sometimes when we will have all the design on the walls. Cheers, HH Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights in February as quick and cheap getaway to Budapest. The location of the hostel ended up being a little bit further from where the main bars and restaurants were however it is on the tram line and isn't a far walk from the metro, so even though we weren't in the heart of Budapest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Rose! Thanks a lot for staying at us and for your constructive critics. At check-in we indicated our facilities, which also says that we give earplug for free, to each and everyone who wants it. Cheers and hope to see you soon :) HH Team More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

We got to the hostel really early and the guy who was in change let us had breakfast, we were really thank full. We left our staff and came back at night. Our 4 beded room was big and comfortable. The next day we left our staff all day also. The staff was always nice and helpfull. The hostel its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Maria! We wait you back anytime :) Cheers, H+H Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights during a quick trip to Budapest and it was perfect for what we needed. The hostel is more like a flat than any other hostel I've stayed in. There is a reception area with a common room and a dining area next to a small kitchen. The rooms all go off this area and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Marianne! Cheers for the nice words :) HH Team More 

Debrecen, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

The hostel is right at the waterfront of the Danube. The staff is very friendly, and they organize various programs such as free dinner, pub crawl. It also has spacious common areas, where you can hang around with interesting strangers from all over the World. Loved it, cool and relaxed :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot! Pub crawl was on heck of the night :) HH Team More 

Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

After reading the reviews all I can say is I was absolutely disappointed!!!! I went 3 nights without sleep and felt I was in a frat house. The first night, there was someone showering at 3 am, I figured maybe this person had a early flight???? WRONG! The next night it began again there were several people showering during the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline, We feel sorry about your experience but according to our reviews it might be a rare incident. Our staff try their best all the time thats why they closed the bathroom for your comfort. You know it is not possible to forbid people from partying and as you mentioned some of our guests have an early flight. We... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Really love this place. We were given a four-person bedroom although our booking was only for 3 in another building close to the hostel but also owned by the hostel. Security was good, and the place really felt like home. The common area was a nice place to hang out & breakfast was basic but adequate. Located really near the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Viktor N, Tulajdonos at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Xyanna! Hope you could catch your plane :) See you back sometimes! HH Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay