We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Union Business

Miklosiceva 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Hotel amenities
Grand Hotel Union Business
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
ArtsTravelerer Toronto, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    120
    122
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
32
78
25
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (283)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

One of the ugliest facades of any hotel in the world reveals a building with attractive rooms inside. My room was spacious and well-appointed. My major gripe was the terrible bathroom. There were no lights at the mirror itself, only spotlights in the ceiling. The bathroom was so dark that I found it almost impossible to shave. Worse was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel three times,and each time it has been excellent,the staff are courteous and friendly,the rooms are clean and well appointed,it is in best location,walking distance to shopping and the many attractions Ljubljana has to offer. Did I mention the breakfasts ....they have so much to offer for every taste ,a wide variety .very good value

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of Ljubljana and the room are clean, minimalistic and modern. That said the quality of service is mixed. Some of the staff are very courteous and helpful but others, particularly at the front desk, are extremely curt and unfriendly. They do not even greet you with a smile or hello and make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is perfectly located, and the staff makes your escape for even a short stay luxury. We booked a studio room, which had a lot of space own balkony viewing to the city, and everthing you can immagine. Hotel is very clean, beds almost like your own at home, ( well of course your own is the best in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The business part of the hotel is not attractive but don't let this put you off. The main part of the hotel is old and grand. Booked in here for four nights before leaving London . Stayed nine. (Part business and pleasure) All the rooms I stayed in were of a high standard and spacious. The first had great views... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We stayed here at 2 different times, a week or so apart, in October 2014. Hotel was nice enough. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Our main complaint was that there was NO WiFi connection available in either of the rooms we stayed in despite it being advertised by the hotel. Can't understand how it could be classified as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ceh_Tomo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Union Business, responded to this review

Dear Bilbo818, Thank you for the review of your stay at the Grand Hotel Union Business. We are thankful for your compliment for naming our hotel as excellent location for touring Ljubljana. I am very sorry for the problems you had with a WiFi connection. We also noticed the problems in October 2014 and already solved them, so WiFi works... More 

Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

The Hotel is located very center of the Ljubljana and have a nice city and castle view rooms . Beds are comfortable, bath and closets are fair enough to comfortable stay. I' ve spend 1 hour at the fitness and the pool, they are small for more than 4 people but clean and new. When it comes to the breakfast;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ceh_Tomo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Union Business, responded to this review

Dear Juneight A, I was really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in March at the Grand Hotel Union Business! We will be happy to host you again and show you our vine library in the ground floor. Kind regards from sunny Ljubljana, Tomislav Čeh General Manager More 

Aviano, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Stayed at the hotel on a second trip to Ljubljana because they helped us get a taxi on the first trip when we were out of the town. So we wanted to go back and stay downtown and this hotel is a great location to be close to sites and restaurants. Paid safe underground parking is available. The staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ceh_Tomo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Union Business, responded to this review

Dear SSakaPebbles, Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind words following your stay with us in September at Grand Hotel Union Business. I was very happy to read your feedback and that you enjoyed the location, hotel service, secured parking and breakfast service we provided you. By this time we also upgraded our breakfast selection. Please do... More 

Rotterdam
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Just checked out. The staff were all very friendly. The location great, but according to my experiences certainly NOT 4 stars. Reasons? - old dated room with cheap furniture; - walls damaged and obviously "repaired" by amateurs; - bed linnen damaged and not properly ironed. This was ok-ish for 2 nights but won't be back. I spend an average of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ceh_Tomo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Union Business, responded to this review

Dear Dimitry O, Thank you for the review of your stay at the Grand Hotel Union Business. Please accept our apologies for the linen situaction in your room. We are aware of this problem, an update has been already planned. Our rooms are spacious, furnished in modern style, many have a balcony and massage chair. Otherwise the hotel was completely... More 

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This is a good hotel and I have no complaints at all. Fantastic location, nice room, good free wifi, great breakfast, friendly staff. If I was being negative, I'd say room was a bit hot, gym facilities poor (but I went running round town which is lovely) and a bit soulless....but that's because it's a business hotel, but the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ceh_Tomo, Manager at Grand Hotel Union Business, responded to this review

Dear MrnMrsBales, It is my pleasure to read your kind review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the fantastic location, great room, good working free WiFi, friendly staff and that we were able to meet your needs. Our team here at the Grand Hotel Union Business consistently makes every... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

170 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay