We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poljanska Cesta 26, Ljubljana 1001, Slovenia
Hotel amenities
Hostel DIC
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostel DIC to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Miguel F Ljubljana, Slovenia
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was always very helpful when i needed them. The place is quite close to the centre and the price is cheap. I stayed in a 12 beds room and it was very comfortable, warm and with a lot of space. There is a nice social area with tv and table tennis and the kitchen is equiped with everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Having spent the previous two days in an excellent hostel in Bled, I cannot describe how horrible this one was. I stayed one night at DIC with some friends and this hostel is actually a former student home situated in a run-down building. There is a parking lot, but the ramp cannot be operated remotely so whenever you want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matic K, Manager at Hostel DIC, responded to this review

Dear Eva, Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback, we value your opinion as it gives us a chance to improve. We are really sorry to read you had a poor experience in our hostel. Your remarks were considered and issues addressed. It is true, we were just in the phase of starting the renovation, and therefore... More 

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Stayed in the DIC hostel for two nights with my friends, we slept in the 12 bedded dorm. Based on images on the website we were quite optimistic, but in reality the hostel is a little bit less appealing. We did not sleep in the main building but in the building across the street, an old school. The dorm was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I stayed in Hostel DIC in August 2014 whilst traveling around Europe with my partner. The hostel is in a good location in the centre of Ljubljana. If you are on a budget then it is very good. The hostel is very clean. We had shared bathroom/ toilets but there were always some free whenever we needed them and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This Hostel is totally worth its price. I stayed for one night with my girlfriend in a double room. Beds are seperated, but the room was totally clean and huge with big windows. The shared bathrooms were also clean. The hostel is located 5min by foot to the city centre so you dont need any public transportation or car to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed in this hostel for 3 nights, very close to the centre (10 min walk) and also the train station (15 min walk) Staff were friendly - wifi was down one of the nights and when it did work the signal was not very good in the rooms. Breakfast was okay - at around 10am there is a massive queue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Been here in July, when the hostel was full. I understand it's a cheap accomodation and that's there a lot of young people, but the noise was just unacceptable. Any hour of the night there were people screaming and laughing, even just in the hall on the floor where the rooms are. There was 1 guard that once in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

The hostel was nice, it had breakfast included which was good. We had booked 5 beds in a 6 bed dorm room but they didn't have one available so they upgraded us to a 2 and 3 bed private room without paying anything else, which was nice. The rooms were also in great condition.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Firstly, let me say this was a good hostel to stay at in a group, however if I was travelling alone or looking to meet other travellers I would not stay here. Rooms: We were travelling as a group of four and got put in two three bed rooms which was not what we had booked. The rooms were small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great place to stay in this beautiful city. 10 minutes walk from the city center, not easy to find if you come with the car. But the staff was really nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet included in the basic price was very decent. No reason to complain at this very small price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostel DIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel DIC

Address: Poljanska Cesta 26, Ljubljana 1001, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel DIC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay