We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Marks Tey hotels

BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Rd, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
56%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
bajjaj london
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    156
    112
    64
    41
See reviews for
64
170
24
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I only stayed for one night and did not use the leisure facilities, so cannot comment on them. When I arrived at the hotel there was a sign apologising that some TV stations were not working, but "engineers were working on it, No big problem. The room itself looked a little tired, the carpets in particular were threadbare, but again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

went with my mum and dad and hubby and would say they really looked after you the food was lovely and the pool and the staff really looked after you the hotel gave my mum and dad a ground floor room near the reception as my dad cant walk properley and he has copd so they looked after him would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As with a lot of hotels catering for coach parties, there were a lot of business travellers and workmen staying here, which is surprising given it's 4 star (?) rating. Every evening the bar was full of young men in dirty work clothes, shorts and vests, boots and trainers, which was a bit of a shock for a supposedly 4*.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
La Chapelle St Laurent, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel when we went to a wedding nearby. Hotel a bit tired and could do with modernisation but we enjoyed our visit. Room was ok but bed only double not king size. Why is there never adequate drawers in a hotel room? Dark furniture but comfortable sleep. We had an executive room which was away from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel made a mistake with our booking but quickly put that right. This is not a pretty hotel from the outside but the staff were very welcoming and the rooms are comfortable. We had a package that included dinner, and the service in the restaurant was excellent and we could not fault the food. Breakfast was busy but everyone... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself & my friend stay in a variety of hotels across the country, we have stayed in 3*'s - 5*'s hotel. Comfort, customer service and good food & facilities e.g. swimming pool. On arrival, the staff was outstanding, friendly & approachable. Unfortunately our room was a huge let down - very dated décor & without going into detail not 4*... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good hotel for commuting into Chelmsford or the City, as it's a very short walk to the train station - trains are very frequent! The rooms and corridors are slightly tired, but everything is very clean and comfortable - overall, a great base for a short stay. Staff are very polite and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darren H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on the hotel, we often have guest stay for commuting to Chelmsford due to the five minute walk to Marks Tey Train Station. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon Kind Regards Daniel Deputy General Manager More

London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding reception nearby. Initial observations from the outside were that the building looks tired and in need of some paint but the reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was spacious and had everything we expected. Breakfast again was good and covered a good selection. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darren H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chaderoonie, thank you very much for the lovely review ,everyone always comments on how friendly our Team is and I am happy that we was able to exceeded your expectations ,we hope on your next visit you will have the time to use our leisure facilities We look forward to welcoming you back again soon Best Wishes Daniel Deputy... More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well haven't eaten here for a while sent one of my friends there as it was her friends birthday she told me food was not great at all she did say something to a really nice guy Who brought them the food he said sorry to her . But poor guy he's not to blame .and like she says the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Needed to be near Colchester but didn't want to stay in the city, so this was a good location. Reception staff excellent, handled a couple of unusual requests well. Room and bathroom both good, mattress comfortable although chairs less so (room 252). Only real quibble was the TV was very small. Leisure facilities good. Breakfast excellent, great choice and quality... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darren H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the good review on the Hotel , I am please that you enjoyed your breakfast & that you had the time to use our leisure facilities ,we will also try and help in any requests and I am pleased that we was able to help you we look forward to welcoming you back again soon... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Address: London Rd, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (76)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)