We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

London Rd, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    150
    212
    147
    79
    50
See reviews for
105
217
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (638)
  • Mar-May only
    (160)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (178)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (159)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived on 24th August for 4 nights. The room was comfortable and clean, the bathroom was quite big. Breakfast was served from 6.30 to 10.30 we usually went in between 8 and 8.30 the food was ok but not over hot, we had to wait for the tea and coffee the waitress served in jugs on one occasion I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is not a beautiful hotel and our room was facing the very busy main road which was noisy day and night. But it is comfortable, clean, car parking is easy, the food is fine and the staff genuinely nice and helpful. There's a decent pool and a wee health spa offering manicures and massages and the like. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk ish
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We've just returned from a lovely 5 day trip away around constable country staying at this hotel. Hotel is very nice, rooms are well appointed and food is very good. However, having stayed in many hotels with groups the service and standard of service appears to be very poor. As part of a group our meals were pre ordered in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Marks Tey hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel its self was great. The only problem was when we arrived, we were told our rooms wouldn't be ready till 4pm and check in was 2pm. We got checked in at 4pm and they said we could check out at 12pm. The receptionists were lovely and very helpful. The rooms were great and had a fantastic night at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here on a GB Tours 5 day holiday. Situated on a busy road but set well back so that road noise was not a problem. Our room was well appointed with tea making facilities and TV, the beds were comfortable plus 2 easy chairs and a table. The bathroom was very good and roomy. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I regularly stay in hotels on business, I can honestly say the staff at Marks Tey are polite, friendly and competent,,,, I highly recommended for business meetings. a genuinely friendly place to stay...Well done all

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great, there was a large selection and everything was good quality. The bar staff were very accommodating for some late night drinking after a wedding and bar food was available until late. The hotel location was great just off the main road. The only reason I haven't given a 5 star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sh, Thank you for your kind review. I am sorry that we were unable to find you a room before 2pm - we shall continue to try and make rooms available as early as possible, however at times it is impossible to meet everyone's requirements. Thank you again. Yours sincerely, Darren. More 

Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Commie and I required accommodation for a short stay in order to visit a sick.relative in Colchester hospital, we are both.in our dotage, Connie 93 and myself 80. The bus stop is.some distance from the hotel,and on leaving I requested the use of a wheel chair to help Connie to the bus stop. In the morning, Darren the manager.offered to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerry and Connie. Thank you for your kind message and I am delighted that Annabelle's card found its way to you. I hope that you had a most enjoyable birthday! it was indeed a pleasure to have met you both and I hope that all goes as well as can be with your son in hospital. We look forward... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived, firstly they asked me to pay for the room when I already had. They quickly backtracked. Then we got to the room which was only set up for two people, despite the confirmation at check in that the room was for three people. We complained, then went out. When we returned there were enough towels and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Dudley, It was lovely to have met you during your stay and thank you for further detailing the areas in which we let you down. Again I apologise and I am pleased that we could compensate you with the refund mentioned. Yours sincerely, Darren. More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hotel as went to a wedding at Layer Marney Tower, unfortunately booked quite last minute so was expensive. Staff on reception were very helpful and friendly, however the decor of the room was so old fashioned - it can't haven't be updated since the 1980s! Which is a shame as they are spacious but just very dated. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate, Thank you for your review. We are working on updating the rooms and have completed a fair number. Unfortunately a few remain with the old style decor and I apologise that the style did not meet with your satisfaction. Breakfast is a full cold and hot buffet with many products and inclusive of tea and coffee - we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marks Tey
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
3.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester Central
9.7 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay