We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Marks Tey hotels

BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Rd, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
56%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Marks Tey
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
lindypindydbwoods hampshire
  • Overview
  • Reviews (463)
  • Photos (141)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (84)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    149
    107
    61
    40
See reviews for
62
165
23
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

As other reviewers have said, first outside impressions of this hotel are horrible - a two storey block - however, once inside it improves enormously. The reception are is quite impressive, to the left is an excellent bar and the reception rooms generally are more than acceptable. Our large bedroom was admitedly a little noisy if the windows were left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After staying at a best Western in Tonbridge and having an awful stay I was not expecting much. However I enjoyed my stay here. Yes the place isn’t much to look at from outside and agree with other reviewers it resembles an old peoples home but the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was adequate and it’s a close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Admittedly the weather was unseasonably hot, but unless you pay for an Executive Room, there is no air conditioning and the window is on a catch to prevent it opening wide (you can bypass this by pressing a release button, but the air flow is still not great). Rooms by the A12 are very noisy - the traffic is loud... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights and both nights the restaurant was fully booked with coach parties. We could not eat until well after 8 if we didn't want to eat around 6. The food is good but why can't a few tables be available to other guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glynis, Thank you for your kind review commenting on the quality of our food. This is good to hear with the introduction of our new summer menu. I am sorry that a table in the restaurant was not available until later in the evening and will look at options to improve on this. Thank you again. Yours sincerely, Darren. More

Essex, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is like an old people's complex, stayed in executive suite was outdated,fridge didn't work, just plain horrible. Receptionist was rude we checked out early after being bitten by fleas have stayed in Best Western hotels several times in different locations this was the worst one ever save your money and go somewhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KYS, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We do not accommodate pets and have a strict cleanliness regime so do not expect any concerns with fleas. Refrigeration has struggled in the hot weather and we are continually repairing and upgrading where necessary. Please do email me with further details of... More

Travelers are raving about these Marks Tey hotels

Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel to go to a friend's wedding that was local to here. There is little choice of Hotels in the area, so this one was picked. Externally not very pretty, internally the Bar area is fine, the rooms a little tired, but reasonable size and clean etc. The rooms are a little short on facilities - ours... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for your kind review. Our breakfasts do certainly offer a great variety and receive good feedback. Thank you for your comments. Best wishes, Darren. More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As mentioned by others ... a clean hotel, but the rooms were soooooo hot !!! We asked at reception if they had any fans and were one of the lucky ones ... or so we thought !! They did indeed have one last fan available and it was bought to our room - however, the stand was broken so it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob, Thank you for your review. We are certainly feeling the heat with this great summer and are placing fans where we can. The public areas are all air conditioned as are our executive bedrooms. We do not, however, have air conditioning throughout and it is certainly true that we struggle to keep the rooms cool. Thank you for... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is definitely not the kind of hotel you'd book for a romantic weekend but if you want a clean room and comfy bed for the night then it fits the bill. The hotel itself is located in a rather unlovely 70s style building and the decor is very dated (though rooms on the ground floor are apparently being modified),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pieman, Thank you for your review. Best wishes, Darren. More

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The overall impression is that the hotel needs a good redecoration. It's clean but needs sprucing up. The room was adequate but unbearably hot with no air conditioning and no fan provided My friend who had a different room on the other hand found it reasonably comfortable; so avoid a West facing room! The restaurant meal was excellent although they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we delayed your dinner service but I am pleased that the team looked after you with complimentary drinks! Best wishes, Darren. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice clean simple hotel.if you stay on the top floor"only a two storey building" please note it has a flat roof. So on hot sunny days the roof turns into a giant heater.even with a fan in your room with a window open its WARM.....to say the least. Im sure the ground floor would be cooler, but couldn't get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony, Thank you for your review. The flat roof has certainly presented its problems this summer, however the pool remains cool and is proving popular! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Darren. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Address: London Rd, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful, modern 4 star hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer