We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Marks Tey hotels

BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Rd, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
56%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Marks Tey
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Paul P Stevenage, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (479)
  • Photos (141)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (90)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    156
    110
    63
    41
See reviews for
63
169
24
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (479)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (136)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel made a mistake with our booking but quickly put that right. This is not a pretty hotel from the outside but the staff were very welcoming and the rooms are comfortable. We had a package that included dinner, and the service in the restaurant was excellent and we could not fault the food. Breakfast was busy but everyone... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Myself & my friend stay in a variety of hotels across the country, we have stayed in 3*'s - 5*'s hotel. Comfort, customer service and good food & facilities e.g. swimming pool. On arrival, the staff was outstanding, friendly & approachable. Unfortunately our room was a huge let down - very dated décor & without going into detail not 4*... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very good hotel for commuting into Chelmsford or the City, as it's a very short walk to the train station - trains are very frequent! The rooms and corridors are slightly tired, but everything is very clean and comfortable - overall, a great base for a short stay. Staff are very polite and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darren H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on the hotel, we often have guest stay for commuting to Chelmsford due to the five minute walk to Marks Tey Train Station. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon Kind Regards Daniel Deputy General Manager More

London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding reception nearby. Initial observations from the outside were that the building looks tired and in need of some paint but the reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was spacious and had everything we expected. Breakfast again was good and covered a good selection. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darren H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chaderoonie, thank you very much for the lovely review ,everyone always comments on how friendly our Team is and I am happy that we was able to exceeded your expectations ,we hope on your next visit you will have the time to use our leisure facilities We look forward to welcoming you back again soon Best Wishes Daniel Deputy... More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well haven't eaten here for a while sent one of my friends there as it was her friends birthday she told me food was not great at all she did say something to a really nice guy Who brought them the food he said sorry to her . But poor guy he's not to blame .and like she says the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Needed to be near Colchester but didn't want to stay in the city, so this was a good location. Reception staff excellent, handled a couple of unusual requests well. Room and bathroom both good, mattress comfortable although chairs less so (room 252). Only real quibble was the TV was very small. Leisure facilities good. Breakfast excellent, great choice and quality... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darren H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the good review on the Hotel , I am please that you enjoyed your breakfast & that you had the time to use our leisure facilities ,we will also try and help in any requests and I am pleased that we was able to help you we look forward to welcoming you back again soon... More

Lajes do Pico, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed for a weekend (from Newcastle). The bar was open til 3am on Friday night, which was great as chatted with my friends from all over. On Saturday night, came back to hotel after wedding finished, about 12.30. The bar was closed! Found hair in breakfast food, sausages were from frozen, not what you would expect from 4 star... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darren H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The majority of our guests are pleased with the service we provide and I am sorry that we let you down on this occassion.I will pass on your comments to my team Kind Regards Daniel Deputy General Manager More

Travelers are raving about these Marks Tey hotels

Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights I was apprehensive after reading other reviews! To my surprise a really nice hotel with pleasant staff. Tv didn't work but was soon fixed. Good prices lovely bar only had breakfast on the last morning £8 and better quality to cheaper hotel chains. Will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darren H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karis, Thank you for the good review on the Hotel , I am please that you enjoyed your breakfast & that we was quick in fixing your T.V we look forward to welcoming you back again soon Best Wishes Daniel Deputy General Manager More

Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
85 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night 13th August in an executive room. Checked in fine and went to room which was fine. Had a desk and air con. Also had a fridge. Was quite a warm evening so kept window open and used aircon too. Bed was very comfy and had a good nights sleep. Food I had on my DBB rate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darren H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Brizz, I would like to thank you for the lovely review on the hotel, I hope you get the opportunity to use our leisure club and other facilities on your next stay, I will pass on your kind feedback to the rest of my team & we all look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon... More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Best Western Marks Tey Hotel is in a prime location for southern Essex. Alas the Hotel has become neglected. A good coat of paint would be welcome as indeed the wallpaper stuck to the walls instead of hanging off. Waiting at the bar with others for twenty minutes whilst the bartender was away was a bit much. The restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darren H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The majority of our guests are pleased with the service we provide and I am sorry that we let you down on this occassion.I will pass on your comments to my team Yours sincerely, Daniel Deputy General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Address: London Rd, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (76)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful, modern 4 star hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer