We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Heritage Killenard

Travelers' Choice award winner
Killenard, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Heritage Killenard
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As Joe and I pulled aways from the Heritage at midnight after a fabulous December wedding and all we could talk about was the manner in which the staff esp Averil and John who made our work and our visit exceptionally enjoyable. From the co-operation that we received when photographing our beautiful couple to the seafood which was fresh and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was lucky enough to spend a night in this beautiful hotel. From the time we entered to the time we left we felt pampered. The staff are extremely professional and all your services run smoothly and promptly. We had a 5 course dinner in the Arlington Room, I cannot remember the name of the woman who was serving us... More 

Helpful?
Thank L R
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Heating did not work, had to change rooms in middle of the night. Spa just ok, not as good as other Spas e.g. Kilronan Castle, not worth 50 Euro per couple. Pool was tiny, definitely not what I would expect for a 5 star hotel. Dinner was nothing special and both our main courses were not served hot enough. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Aisling M
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Aisling M, We are disappointed that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our property and regret that we were unable to deliver the Heritage Killenard Experience to you. We appreciate your comments and have conveyed them to our various department managers so we can improve our level of service. As you know, but did not mention in... More 

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner and I came here for a friends wedding but we will most definitely return. Amazing staff that are naturally friendly and professional. The hotel itself is beautiful and I appreciated small things that are often not done in other hotels such as a turn down service and our breakfast actually being brought to our room at the time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aideen G
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Aideen G, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit for your friends wedding reception. I am delighted to hear you had a most enjoyable stay and are planning your next visit. I will pass on your compliments to all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards,... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited and stayed for a large function and found this hotel top class. There were friendly and attentive staff throughout that couldn't do enough for you and the rooms and facilities were modern and excellent. The food was outstanding, particularly as they catered for over hundreds in one sitting.

Helpful?
Thank Vikki H
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Vikki H, Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay for the Annual ITBA awards night. I am delighted to hear you found the food outstanding and I will pass on your compliments to all the team. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Heritage Killenard in the near future. Kind regards,... More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for one night with friends , lovely hotel , big , clean and modern. There room was really nice , and there was a double shower and separate stand alone bath in the bathroom. The food was lovely , as were all the staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Looking forward to another visit in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emzy17
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Emzy17, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback following your recent stay. We appreciate your recommendation and your comments regarding the quality of food and service you received. We look forward to your return visit. Kind regards, Ciaran O'Neill More 

County Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A really beautiful place to spend a quiet night away from the business of life. Afternoon Tea really pleasant, in lovely non rushed surroundings. The 5km walk is perfect on a safe ,easy , clean track. The thermal suite is the ultimate way to round off an afternoon of pampering. Bar menu offers a lovely selection but I can really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olliedon
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Olliedon, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure looking after you. We are delighted to hear you found it relaxing and enjoyed so many of the facilities the Heritage has to offer. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future.... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a fabulous hotel - lovely surroundings, beautifully decorated. The guest rooms are so comfortable and cosy with large bathrooms. We stayed for an evening meal - really good food and wine. Breakfast is excellent, with the hot breakfast ordered from and served to you at your table. It's a far cry from the usual bog standard breakfast buffet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank JenCoDublin
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear JenCoDublin, Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing the Heritage for your night away. We are truly delighted to hear you enjoyed the experience. I will pass on your compliments to all the team. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future. Kind regards, Ciaran O'Neill More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having stayed in a lot of quality hotels in Ireland and abroad the superior room we stayed in recently was really impressive. Request one with a balcony overlooking the Golf Course. Excellent Staff... Hope to return.

Helpful?
Thank IrishRating
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear IrishRating, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you were impressed with the standard of your bedroom and service at the Heritage. Our rooms overlooking the golf course have lovely views of both the course and surrounding countryside and are well worth the small upgrade fee. We do hope you get... More 

Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Set around a huge golf course and lakes in the quaint village of Killinard, just a short drive up from Ballybrittas and Portlaoise, We come over to dine in the bar or we go into the golf club to Judge Roy Beans, or over to the Italian Restaurant on site ajjacient to a Thatch pub, so always something to do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita C
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Anita C, Thank you for your review and your continued support. The hotel lobby is indeed breath taking and it is great to see the expression on our guests' faces when they experience it for the first time. It is also a truly amazing venue for a wedding reception and our dedicated events team are always on hand to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

257 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (256)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killenard
24.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
9.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
10.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay