We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Heritage Killenard

Certificate of Excellence
, Killenard, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Heritage Killenard
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    867
    293
    117
    37
    31
See reviews for
301
568
16
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1345)
  • Mar-May only
    (370)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (481)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (279)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (215)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A very nice hotel with some growth opportunities. To be fair, this was truly a very nice property, but I suspect staff was frustrated with some power surges that may have hindered checking travelers in. We arrived about three hours early and were told we should be able to get into our room in approximately 30 minutes. We went ahead... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We bought a "package tour" of Ireland through Aer Lingus. This was our last hotel in Ireland - it was the best one that we stayed at! *****5 star is accurate. I have not uploaded pictures yet but this place is beautiful. The staff spectacular. We arrived early, our room was not ready but the receptionist and the concierge did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
239 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Heritage has a new owner and the hotel is looking better every time I visit. New carpets and now a beautiful fresh flower display in the lobby not as nice as the displays in George V in Paris but nice. The staff are exceptionally nice. We had bar food here yesterday and the quality is very good and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear motorcar1, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following on from your visit to our Slieve Bloom Bar. I was delighted to read your dining experience went so well and we were all very pleased to read that you noticed and admired some of our upgrades that we are applying throughout the hotel. I have passed... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and stayed in a beautiful room overlooking the golf course. Dinner in the Arlington restaurant was lovely and they added some lovely gestures to add to our celebrations in the restaurant and room. Proper five star luxury with great staff

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Aine E, Thank you for taking the time to post your review folowing on from your recent visit to us at The Heritage Killenard. I was thrilled to read your anniversary stay went so well and that you loved everything from the staff to the restaurant and bedroom. We are grateful that you choose our hotel to celebrate your... More 

ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here a few years ago, spending nearly a week in one of their golf houses (apartments) on a self catering deal. The place was well looked after, very clean and we had a good but wet holiday. We returned there this year just from one night following are stay in the Killarney Park Hotel and I must admit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear TheIrishTraveller, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following on from your recent visit to us at The Heritage Killenard. I see from your feedback that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we value your important return custom. I hope to welcome you back again in the future for another family getaway. Kind Regards... More 

County Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here and got a very reasonable deal to be honest! The room was out of this world, very tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. Fantastic view and we were very happy! Lovely cosy bar to visit...we also visited the spa which is huge! The spa area itself was excellent with an interested take on a jacuzzi. As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Trulyhonestcavan, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Heritage Killenard. I see from your feedback that you loved most aspects of your visit and in particular your room, The Slieve Bloom Bar and breakfast. I have passed your comments regarding the spa on to our spa manager to provide additional training where... More 

Co. Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The good: Friendly staff on reception with a nice welcome - encouraged us to upgrade our room for extra cost but when we declined there was no hard sell. Lovely big room. Nice decor. Beautiful spacious bathroom. Music in the bar (Tuesday night). Good food in bar and nice selection of food for breakfast with hot food cooked to order.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Bonniepippa, Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review following on from your stay with us at The Heritage Killenard. I happily read your feedback after your family's getaway for a few days and that you all so thoroughly enjoyed our offerings. We are truly grateful for your wonderful endorsement and we look forward to welcoming... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We played here during the Open week in a 4 man team. Even though we played off the forward tees (Greens) the course was still long enough. Two of our four hadn't played the course before and were really impressed with it and as soon as the round was finished they were on about visiting again. It's normally a long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear AJ&Keats, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I will pass your kind feedback onto the golf club owners whom I'm sure will appreciate your comments. Kind Regards Dougie Benson Guest Relations Manager More 

n. ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A proper 5 star hotel. Great food and drinks and the staff were very attentive. The rooms were large and had everything that you would need. Has a fantastic Spa and Golf course. Very impressed with the hotel with the location being the only down side.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear aidan171, Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review following on from your stay with us at The Heritage Killenard. I happily read your comments regarding our staff and amenities and we really value your lovely endorsement. We all look forward to welcoming you back again for another relaxing stay in the near future. Kind Regards... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived to be greeted by a lovely gentlemen and we got our keys and preceded to our room. However when we returned to reception we can across this very unprofessional, rude lady stating to be the manager when we had a query. She was quite rude and unpleasant ans left us feeling really uncomfortable. We changed rooms and she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear melissa r, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Heritage Killenard. Your feedback surprised, me so after i investigated the circumstances surrounding the issue you mentioned, I feel it’s important the published facts are accurate so the general public gets a fair synopsis. • You booked through a third party website and... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Star hotel(11)
  • Italian restaurant(8)
  • Sol Oriens(7)
  • Next morning(6)
  • Top class(6)
  • Very nice(3)
  • Would highly recommend(3)
  • Afternoon tea(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

246 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (245)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (64)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killenard
9.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
24.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
12.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
20.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay