We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverlodge Backpackers

Oude Molen Eco Village | Alexandra Road, Pinelands 8000, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverlodge Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Riverlodge Backpackers
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    22
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
5
14
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After four years leaving in hotels and guesthouse all over South Africa I was little bit skeptical about staying here. After a full explanation of what is backpackers and a full tour, I was able to relax and unwind in the lounge with fellow guests Showers and toilets where very clean, will definitely visit here again during my business trips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverlodge C, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Mahlomola L, Thank for you for your review it is greatly appreciated. Really great that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back with us shortly. Ricky More 

Karaganda, Kazakhstan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Doing review 6 month late.. but I promised them to make it! I've seen a LOT of Hostels, Hotels, B&Bs, but this one is unique. The neighbourhood is a bit shady, but people inside are awesome. The whole Eco Village looks more like a location from a video game. Staff is nice and helpful. Parking available. Internet enough for basic... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverlodge C, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Greetings Max C, Thank you for taking time out and reviewing your stay with us. We are happy that you had an awesome stay and would welcome you back anytime. Enjoy the rest of your stay in Cape Town, pop in for a entertaining chat with new guests. Regards Ricky More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Good, clean and a great opportunity to meet with other travellers as you share a kitchen and bathroom. Just make sure you lock your door at night - when we arrived we were first taken to a room that was occupied (systems were off) and during our stay the same happened, with somebody wanting to check into our room late... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petrus J V, Owner at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Greetings Gustav Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an pleasant review. I must apologise for the systems going down. Eskom our countries electricity provider has scheduled power load shedding. This sometimes happens according to their schedule but most times it just happens. This has caused severe problems with our computers, as you can imagine. I now... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Awesome experience living there, amazing colorful blend of characters from the other lodgers to the staff. Very welcoming and warm. Felt relaxed , refreshed and rejuvenated after my stay. Recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful and affordable place to stay while seeing the scenic places of the Mother City.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverlodge C, General Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Riverlodge Backpackers. It is always a pleasure having guests like yourself staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest should you return to Cape Town. The Riverlodge Team More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We spend ther 3 nights with our camper van. When we arrived ,the stuff did not know about our reservation ( including 100 euro deposit, witch I could not remember at that moment ! ) The camp ground was nearly full and I needed to move other poeple to park our van. The stuff was helpfull to clear the situation.We... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Petrus J V, Owner at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for your review. When I read this review I was appalled, that one of my staff members would STEAL any money. So I did a little investigation into all the correspondence that you had engaged in with us here at Riverlodge Backpackers. In all of our correspondence to you we have found that we sent you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pinelands hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I went there for NYE and I enjoyed my stay. Toilets are public but very clean. The price paid is good considering that security is provided. They have parking place They offer options for camping. The only thing I didnt enjoy is the timing for cleaning the rooms. They only clean 2 times a month for what I was told.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlotteVisagie, CEO at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Greetings Niede, Thank you for your beautiful response and review. It is heart warming to know that our guests did enjoy their stay and have left with found memories. I would like to mention something about the cleaning of rooms though. As an guest leaves and checks out we clean the room from top to bottom. We wash the walls... More 

Cowes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

This is safe, welcoming budget backpackers that is closest to the airport. I have been here 10 days for business and as a base for exploring Cape Town. I don't know about you, but for me, a good shower is essential. If the shower area is small, if there's no hot water when you need it and if the head... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ivor, thanks for the award and bragging rights, we are very proud! You'll be happy to know that we are adding 4 more showers, with good old fashioned taps and shower heads, to our ablutions! Come check it out! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Riverlodge Backpackers has the staff that has the hospitality any backpacker can take example from. The place is strategically located in such a way that users can buy from nearby shops and catch a train to various places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Riverlodge C, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Silas, Thank you for review of Riverlodge Backpackers. Really great that you enjoyed your stay, look forward to having you back with us in the future. Safe Travels Ricky More 

Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I booked for one night, but after spending a rather depressing hour there I left and found another place to stay. I travelled for 8 weeks through South Africa and I never ever felt unsafe. However, this place gave me the creeps! I would not recommend staying here if you are travelling on your own (especially as a woman). The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi MOxOx2014 On behalf of the management and staff of Riverlodge Backpackers I want to apologise for the bad experience you had at our lodge. Many of the complaints you mention have been identified and addressed already. We endeavour to ensure a pleasurable stay for all our guests, and regret that yours was less so. Regards Louise More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We really liked this place- it was unusual, quirky and different. The staff were friendly and laidback, which was nice. The building was so fascinating, being an old institution- I noticed on tripadvisor that some people complained about the building being run down...we thought it actually added to the character and unusualness of the place :) The eco village was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay