We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverlodge Backpackers

Oude Molen Eco Village | Alexandra Road, Pinelands 8000, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Riverlodge Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was good to stay there. Sleep quality was not good but other surroundings were satisfactory specially kitchen ambiance. The accommodation was very near to waterfront which was the plus point for us. So we enjoyed staying there

Helpful?
Thank Abhijit D
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

This backpacker is truly amazing. I've already lived and travelled one year in SA and I did not expect to find such a backpacker here. The Oude Molen Eco Village used to be quite a hippie community, and altough things have changed, some of that atmosphere you can still find here... The bosses and staff are extremely friendly, helpful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luci Lou F
Pj v, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Luci Lou, Thank you for your review. Your new home welcomes you and your friends back here anytime. Safe travels and hope to see you all soon. Regards Ricky Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

I recently stayed at Riverlodge Backpackers for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. I felt safe and welcome and enjoyed painting in the gardens in RB and strolling around the Eco-village itself, down by the river and amongst the horses. The room, bathrooms, kitchen and general areas were clean. There is clearly a lot of work going on there to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 834caitw
Pj v, Owner at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for your candid, beautiful and heartfelt review. We love hearing from our guests, good or bad so that we can see where we are doing right and where we should improve. We would love to have you here again and then you can show us your progress with your art work. Happy and safe travels. Compliments of... More 

Lesotho
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

the rooms were very dirty, i dont know when last they were swept. the showers were also not clean. major improvements have to be made on that place. 2ndly the receptionist did not understand that we wrongfully went to your lodge instead of Riverview.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank moliehic
Pj v, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

We thank you for your response. I am sorry that you did not have a good experience. The matter has been addressed. Regards Ricky More 

Travelers are raving about these Pinelands hotels

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

Although we booked for a month, and were aware we had to move rooms on 2 dates, there seemed to be a lot of moving around. Unfortunately for us there were several large groups that were booked in around the Christmas period and they were quite unruly. I think management could have had a word with them to keep their... More 

Helpful?
Thank JaimsArt
Pj v, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to review our hostel. We apologise for the moving about over your dates. This is now a thing of the past as we have extended our hostel to accommodate an additional 60 guests with group bookings moving upstairs. Regards Ricky More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 via mobile

After four years leaving in hotels and guesthouse all over South Africa I was little bit skeptical about staying here. After a full explanation of what is backpackers and a full tour, I was able to relax and unwind in the lounge with fellow guests Showers and toilets where very clean, will definitely visit here again during my business trips... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mahlomola L
Riverlodge C, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Mahlomola L, Thank for you for your review it is greatly appreciated. Really great that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back with us shortly. Ricky More 

Karaganda, Kazakhstan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Doing review 6 month late.. but I promised them to make it! I've seen a LOT of Hostels, Hotels, B&Bs, but this one is unique. The neighbourhood is a bit shady, but people inside are awesome. The whole Eco Village looks more like a location from a video game. Staff is nice and helpful. Parking available. Internet enough for basic... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Max C
Riverlodge C, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Greetings Max C, Thank you for taking time out and reviewing your stay with us. We are happy that you had an awesome stay and would welcome you back anytime. Enjoy the rest of your stay in Cape Town, pop in for a entertaining chat with new guests. Regards Ricky More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Good, clean and a great opportunity to meet with other travellers as you share a kitchen and bathroom. Just make sure you lock your door at night - when we arrived we were first taken to a room that was occupied (systems were off) and during our stay the same happened, with somebody wanting to check into our room late... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gustav_13
Petrus J V, Owner at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Greetings Gustav Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an pleasant review. I must apologise for the systems going down. Eskom our countries electricity provider has scheduled power load shedding. This sometimes happens according to their schedule but most times it just happens. This has caused severe problems with our computers, as you can imagine. I now... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Awesome experience living there, amazing colorful blend of characters from the other lodgers to the staff. Very welcoming and warm. Felt relaxed , refreshed and rejuvenated after my stay. Recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful and affordable place to stay while seeing the scenic places of the Mother City.

Helpful?
Thank Masikati
Riverlodge C, General Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Riverlodge Backpackers. It is always a pleasure having guests like yourself staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest should you return to Cape Town. The Riverlodge Team More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We spend ther 3 nights with our camper van. When we arrived ,the stuff did not know about our reservation ( including 100 euro deposit, witch I could not remember at that moment ! ) The camp ground was nearly full and I needed to move other poeple to park our van. The stuff was helpfull to clear the situation.We... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank pauldanny
Petrus J V, Owner at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for your review. When I read this review I was appalled, that one of my staff members would STEAL any money. So I did a little investigation into all the correspondence that you had engaged in with us here at Riverlodge Backpackers. In all of our correspondence to you we have found that we sent you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinelands
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
#1 of 1 in Pinelands
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
5.4 mi away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
1.4 mi away
Green Elephant
Green Elephant
#1 of 11 in Observatory
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#18 of 128 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
1.1 mi away
33 South Boutique Backpackers
33 South Boutique Backpackers
#2 of 11 in Observatory
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
4.9 mi away
Big Blue Backpackers
Big Blue Backpackers
#62 of 128 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay