We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverlodge Backpackers

Oude Molen Eco Village | Alexandra Road, Pinelands 8000, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverlodge Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Riverlodge Backpackers
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
5
14
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Karaganda, Kazakhstan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Doing review 6 month late.. but I promised them to make it! I've seen a LOT of Hostels, Hotels, B&Bs, but this one is unique. The neighbourhood is a bit shady, but people inside are awesome. The whole Eco Village looks more like a location from a video game. Staff is nice and helpful. Parking available. Internet enough for basic... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverlodge C, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Greetings Max C, Thank you for taking time out and reviewing your stay with us. We are happy that you had an awesome stay and would welcome you back anytime. Enjoy the rest of your stay in Cape Town, pop in for a entertaining chat with new guests. Regards Ricky More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Good, clean and a great opportunity to meet with other travellers as you share a kitchen and bathroom. Just make sure you lock your door at night - when we arrived we were first taken to a room that was occupied (systems were off) and during our stay the same happened, with somebody wanting to check into our room late... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petrus J V, Owner at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Greetings Gustav Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an pleasant review. I must apologise for the systems going down. Eskom our countries electricity provider has scheduled power load shedding. This sometimes happens according to their schedule but most times it just happens. This has caused severe problems with our computers, as you can imagine. I now... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Awesome experience living there, amazing colorful blend of characters from the other lodgers to the staff. Very welcoming and warm. Felt relaxed , refreshed and rejuvenated after my stay. Recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful and affordable place to stay while seeing the scenic places of the Mother City.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverlodge C, General Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Riverlodge Backpackers. It is always a pleasure having guests like yourself staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest should you return to Cape Town. The Riverlodge Team More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We spend ther 3 nights with our camper van. When we arrived ,the stuff did not know about our reservation ( including 100 euro deposit, witch I could not remember at that moment ! ) The camp ground was nearly full and I needed to move other poeple to park our van. The stuff was helpfull to clear the situation.We... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Petrus J V, Owner at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for your review. When I read this review I was appalled, that one of my staff members would STEAL any money. So I did a little investigation into all the correspondence that you had engaged in with us here at Riverlodge Backpackers. In all of our correspondence to you we have found that we sent you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pinelands hotels

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I went there for NYE and I enjoyed my stay. Toilets are public but very clean. The price paid is good considering that security is provided. They have parking place They offer options for camping. The only thing I didnt enjoy is the timing for cleaning the rooms. They only clean 2 times a month for what I was told.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlotteVisagie, CEO at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Greetings Niede, Thank you for your beautiful response and review. It is heart warming to know that our guests did enjoy their stay and have left with found memories. I would like to mention something about the cleaning of rooms though. As an guest leaves and checks out we clean the room from top to bottom. We wash the walls... More 

Cowes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

This is safe, welcoming budget backpackers that is closest to the airport. I have been here 10 days for business and as a base for exploring Cape Town. I don't know about you, but for me, a good shower is essential. If the shower area is small, if there's no hot water when you need it and if the head... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ivor, thanks for the award and bragging rights, we are very proud! You'll be happy to know that we are adding 4 more showers, with good old fashioned taps and shower heads, to our ablutions! Come check it out! More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Riverlodge Backpackers has the staff that has the hospitality any backpacker can take example from. The place is strategically located in such a way that users can buy from nearby shops and catch a train to various places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I booked for one night, but after spending a rather depressing hour there I left and found another place to stay. I travelled for 8 weeks through South Africa and I never ever felt unsafe. However, this place gave me the creeps! I would not recommend staying here if you are travelling on your own (especially as a woman). The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi MOxOx2014 On behalf of the management and staff of Riverlodge Backpackers I want to apologise for the bad experience you had at our lodge. Many of the complaints you mention have been identified and addressed already. We endeavour to ensure a pleasurable stay for all our guests, and regret that yours was less so. Regards Louise More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We really liked this place- it was unusual, quirky and different. The staff were friendly and laidback, which was nice. The building was so fascinating, being an old institution- I noticed on tripadvisor that some people complained about the building being run down...we thought it actually added to the character and unusualness of the place :) The eco village was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

staying at Riverlodge was a great experience. the staff were so helpful with all my inquiries, it is nice and close to the airport, also very easy to get the train to and from the city here. Thanks for making my stay so comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi NicolaS Thanks for the comments, and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Warm Regards Louise More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay