We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Pinelands accommodations

Riverlodge Backpackers

4.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Oude Molen Eco Village | Alexandra Road, Pinelands 8000, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Riverlodge Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riverlodge Backpackers to your Saves list
69%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
jonathanhappy Cape Town Central, South Africa
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    7
    2
    10
See reviews for
3
15
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great for camping close to Cape Town city center only twenty minutes away with Pinelands Metrorail train station virtually at front door. Rural feel with chickens and horses as neighbours. High ceilings and cosy warm wood-fueled fireplace. All required facilities. Of the very best in Cape Town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cowes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is safe, welcoming budget backpackers that is closest to the airport. I have been here 10 days for business and as a base for exploring Cape Town. I don't know about you, but for me, a good shower is essential. If the shower area is small, if there's no hot water when you need it and if the head... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Riverlodge Backpackers has the staff that has the hospitality any backpacker can take example from. The place is strategically located in such a way that users can buy from nearby shops and catch a train to various places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We really liked this place- it was unusual, quirky and different. The staff were friendly and laidback, which was nice. The building was so fascinating, being an old institution- I noticed on tripadvisor that some people complained about the building being run down...we thought it actually added to the character and unusualness of the place :) The eco village was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, thanks so much for your comments, interesting is why we like Riverlodge so much. You may be glad to know that some improvements have been made to the kitchen, including: - we have aquired more cutlery and crockery - drawer and fridge space is now allocated to guests upon arrival and marked - guests who do not wash their... More

Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I booked for one night, but after spending a rather depressing hour there I left and found another place to stay. I travelled for 8 weeks through South Africa and I never ever felt unsafe. However, this place gave me the creeps! I would not recommend staying here if you are travelling on your own (especially as a woman). The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi MOxOx2014 On behalf of the management and staff of Riverlodge Backpackers I want to apologise for the bad experience you had at our lodge. Many of the complaints you mention have been identified and addressed already. We endeavour to ensure a pleasurable stay for all our guests, and regret that yours was less so. Regards Louise More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We really liked this place- it was unusual, quirky and different. The staff were friendly and laidback, which was nice. The building was so fascinating, being an old institution- I noticed on tripadvisor that some people complained about the building being run down...we thought it actually added to the character and unusualness of the place :) The eco village was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

staying at Riverlodge was a great experience. the staff were so helpful with all my inquiries, it is nice and close to the airport, also very easy to get the train to and from the city here. Thanks for making my stay so comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi NicolaS Thanks for the comments, and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Warm Regards Louise More

Bowen Island, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was the most depressing, disgusting accommodation I have ever had the displeasure of staying in. If moving had been an option, I would have left immediately. Unfortunately, our rather large group was booked in for 6 hellish nights. The staff was quite indifferent to complaints. The management, however, did move us to another room for one night when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Mona H Thank you for your comments. On behalf of all staff and management at Riverlodge Backpackers, I would like to extend our apologies for the bad experience you had at our lodge. I would like to assure you that we take all complaints very seriously. We have addressed the issues of cleanliness in a strict manner and will... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Disgusting. We arrived late and had no choice but to stay here. We were first checked into a room that hadn't been made up yet so were moved into one that was. These rooms are obviously not cleaned properly or often enough because we could immediately smell something rotten. After brief inspection I was horrified to find FAECES on under... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RiverlodgeCapeTown, General Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lucy B Thank you for your comments. The unfortunate incident was brought under my attention and on behalf of all staff and management at Riverlodge I would like to extend my apologies for the bad experience you had. I assure you that we take all complaints very seriously. In response to your comments I would like to mention that... More

Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This place was unfriendly, not very well organised, the bathroom facilities where poor and really a backpackers only place. We choose because of cost only but really worth paying a little extra if you can afford it !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear feedcafe Thank you for your comments. Your constructive criticism has been taken under advisement, and we would like to assure you of friendlier staff and more, cleaner and better facilities in the future, still at an affordable rate. Warm regards Louise More

Do you own or manage Riverlodge Backpackers?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Riverlodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverlodge Backpackers

Address: Oude Molen Eco Village | Alexandra Road, Pinelands 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Pinelands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riverlodge Backpackers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riverlodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Riverlodge Backpackers

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby